We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage House Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emmitsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Emmitsburg B&B and Inns
usa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Carriage House is a wonderful old restaurant tucked away in the small town of Emmitsburg. It is located in a lovely historic building. Decor is basic, but the food is delicious. We had the crab imperial which did not disappoint. Service was quick and pleasant also. And if you are visiting Gettysburg, this place is only a dozen miles away and got us away from the tourist crowds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxrrttyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mpls., MN
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were there for a family dinner, part of a group of a dozen. The wait staff was very good at handling a lively group, not always paying attention. The food was excellent. We have been to the Carriage House before on such occasions and they have never disappointed with the skill of wait staff or the quality food. Crab is the specialty and always the best choice, but we have sampled other items on the menu and it was all very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6554321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife, children and I were spending the night in nearby Thurmont and found the Carriage House on Tripadvisor. We had my wife's birthday dinner there on Saturday, and it could not have been better. The service was absolutely perfect. The waiter overheard us talking about the birthday and surprised us with a dessert with a birthday candle. The food was excellent. Among the five of us we had the stuffed shrimp, the filet, the crabcake and two salmon dishes. All were very well done - cooked just right and very ample portions. They ended the evening with a rose for each of the ladies, which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MD3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I were traveling back from New Hampshire to VIrginia. Needed to find a nice dinner after a weary day. Through google search found the Carriage House Inn. Enjoyed a wonderful meal. The crabcakes were as advertised - all crabmeat and no filler. The dressing on the Caesar Salad was delicious. I would return here again. The rose at the end of the meal was a lovely touch. Thank you.

Room Tip: Was just here for dinner - cannot evaluate the lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TuckerCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

I am so sorry to tell you that this restaurant might possibly be the worse restaurant I have ever been to. The atmosphere was nice enough (well, except for the two obnoxious drunks at the table next to ours) but the food was just horrible and expensive to boot! Some of the entrees were not even as advertised. The "Rockfish" was some thin sad generic fillet covered in jarred pesto sauce, the "fillet tips" were chopped stew meat in brown sauce over penne and the scallop dish was so salty with it's overbearing inclusion of Virginia Ham (not pancetta) to make it unfortunately, inedible. The side dishes were straight out of the freezer, warmed over in the steam pan and, the lame attempt at garnish (a chunky slab of red pepper on top of an apple slice given the kiss of death with a spear of rosemary) made the whole meal sad sad sad. The lone decent dish was the crab cake which is their specialty. I had the sense it was the only item that was actually prepared from scratch in the kitchen. Everything else? frozen, jarred, canned yuck. Made a reservation as I thought it would be a busy night; we were one of 3 other tables there all evening. More sadness.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAsokrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biglerville, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Carriage House Inn catered my son's wedding on 1 August, 2009 at the Hauser Estate Winery. The catering service was exceptional. They are professional, efficient, and will do whatever it takes to make your event a success. They went beyond the requirements of their catering service to coordinate with the florist and the Hauser Estate Winery to ensure the dinner meal would be spectacular. They were very attentive to all needs. Their service to the guests was perfect. Everything was prepared on site so the meal was fresh. They compensated for the shortfalls of others to ensure the presentation of the meal was on time and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weddingplanner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

Carriage House Inn was recommended by B&B as nice place for dinner. Food was excellent and well presented. Staff was attentive. The custom of giving each female guest a rose is a nice touch. Menu selection was varied and good value for the amount.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emmitsburg
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
21.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick
10.9 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel and Suites Waynesboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#20 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.3 mi away
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: 200 S Seton Ave, Emmitsburg, MD 21727-9215
Location: United States > Maryland > Emmitsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Emmitsburg
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Emmitsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing