We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“much better choices!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbia
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Villa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“much better choices!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks for business and was very disappointed. Seriously, they served the breakfast sausages for dinner and called them Italian sausages!! The whirlpool was broken the whole stay and they kept telling us it would be fixed tomorrow. Much better choice is the Homewood suites in Columbia. Nice hotel, good food and much better than the residence inn for the same price. Usually like the resicendce inn, but not this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, Manager at Residence Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Allison,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I do apologize about the inconvenience with the Spa. We are doing our best to have the Spa repaired, but do not have a completion date yet established. We will continue to strive to improve our complementary food offerings and service that we provide to our guests to exceed your expectations. Safe travels and hopefully one day you can give us another chance if you come back into the area.

Best regards,

Joel Shasteen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
15
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
246 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

After 12 hours of driving on 95 and more waiting in traffic than we care to remember, decided to stay overnight 'nearby' while waiting for another accident to clear. Had a marriott reward for a cat 1-4 hotel and this was a category 3 so stopped in at 8pm and asked about availability.
Charles at the front desk was so patient and nice. Took 15 minutes for a marriott customer service rep to get the reservation done and he took it from there and had us settled in a few minutes.
Room was exceedingly clean.... Property nicely taken care of. There is a Bob Evans that shares a parking lot and otherwise seems like a very quiet area. The hotel was bustling for a sat night but room was quiet and the perfect comfy bed to recharge for another 4 hours of driving the next day.
Checkout took less than a minute and we were on our way. Happy with our choice and would absolutely stay here again when passing through!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here on a work outing and the room was perfect for what I needed it for. It had a bed, a desk, a bathroom, a window, a TV, and free breakfast and WiFi!

I always stay at Marriott locations. I feel that they offer the best promotions and have more locations where I need them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFalcon926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, Manager at Residence Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank for takig the time to review our hotel. Please come back if you are ever back in the area.

Best regards,

Joel Shasteen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Make sure you don't use the telephone in the room. The charge of the phone calls you make is horrendously high. They should have put a big sign on the phone warning hotel guests what the costs are of a phone call. The lady at the front desk, wasn't helpful either when I asked her about it. Not very customer oriented. Unbelievable that hotel makes such a large profit on the use of the phone. I can't believe that Marriot and Residence Inn accept this.

For the rest hotel is ok. Nothing special. Didn't have a curtain in the bedroom when we checked in with two cranky tired little kids after an 8 hour flight. It took the staff over an hour to get a curtain hung up. They didn't provide us with another room.

Breakfast was good, light dinners were very disappointing and not good value. Won't stay here again, too expensive for waht you get.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aaa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel S, Manager at Residence Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I hope your travels in the Northeast went well. I do apologize for the lack of communication that you experienced while utilizing our telephone system in regards to the Marriott policies with Long Distance Phone Charges. Please accept our apologies for any other customer service failures that you had, we will continue to work with our staff to improve consistence and quality. If you have any question please feel free to reach out to us again.

Best regards,

Joel Shasteen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was my first experience with a Residence Inn. This property is located about 20 minutes outside of Baltimore. I went with my family and found this was really a pleasant stay. It was ideal for us, because, we were in the area for a quick trip to Baltimore, but we didn't want to pay city rates. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was enough room for us. The room was clean and well kept. The front staff was incredibly helpful and was able to answer our numerous questions. There is a pool, tennis courts and outside sitting area for those who want to be outside.This would definitely be an ideal location for someone who has a car and wants to explore the greater Baltimore area. Otherwise, you probably need somewhere closer if you are in town to do the tourist thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

New and well kept Marriott Residence Inn. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful on check in. As it seems to have had a recent remodel everything seemed and smelled new. Rooms seemed well cleaned and not dusty. Enjoyed the free upgrade as a Marriott rewards user.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NewPoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
247 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The beds in this hotel were so comfortable, a great nights sleep. The hotel is very well kept. There is a Bob Evans in the same parking lot and a breakfast at the hotel. The hotel location is a little confusing so just make sure to keep your eye out for hidden turns. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhare54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbia

Property: Residence Inn Columbia
Address: 4950 Beaver Run Ct, Ellicott City, MD 21043-7917
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbia Maryland hotel is located 12 miles from the Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI) and only thirty minutes to downtown Baltimore. This suburban Baltimore Maryland hotel allows easy access to Baltimore city's many attractions, including the Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Orioles baseball at Camden Yards, Baltimore Ravens football and the National Aquarium. Designed for a stay of more than just a few nights, Residence Inn Columbia hotel guests can stretch out and relax in a suite that offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbia Hotel Ellicott City
Residence Inn Ellicott City
Ellicott City Residence Inn
Columbia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing