We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beware of Manager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Columbia
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of Manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beware of the manager that has no knowledge of the difference between a service animal and an emotional support animal. This man kept insisting that I needed to show him a ADA "card" for my little dog, that is an emotional support dog, NOT a service animal (and was actually quite rude about it) I have all of the required documentation required for this, and have NEVER had a problem in the 7, yes SEVEN, years that I have had her. We have been all across the country... sometimes flying and sometimes driving... but have never had a problem until now, and we have stayed at more Marriotts than I can count! On the other hand, the front desk staff was really nice, and even went so far as to go into another room and get me some extra feather-free pillows since I only had one (out of five) to begin with. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xrayuinhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
15
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I checked inn at this Residence inn and only stayed for one night. The room was larger then other Residence inn I have been in all over US. It's so perfect to fit the whole family. It comes with fully equiped kitchen, nice clean bathroom and breakfast is also included. The hotel is clean and up to date. There are restaurants within walking distance that shares the same parking lot, Bob Evans or something like that. The hotel is 20 mins from Baltimore and we picked this one over the Rennaisance because they charge too much for parking. I Loved it and I will come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SillygirlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a great place to stay. We went on line, and since we could not find our Marriott rewards number, called Marriott and got an even better deal, one on one.
We had a funeral in Baltimore, and chose to stay on the fringe where we hoped for a quiet spot that turned out to be situated in lovely surroundings as well. Our accommodations were comparable to a large studio apartment...sleeping area, full kitchen, and study/living area.; nicely decorated and comfortable. We requested a quiet location and were given one. Unfortunately, the "guests" above us came in during the early hours of morning, and were very loud and inconsiderate. Being a light sleeper, this was unpleasant. The full breakfast was more than expected. Service on all levels was up to the usual Marriott standards. Staying here was well worth the few miles out of Baltimore...We tried to reserve again for this week, but in this price range ,we were offered accommodations at Marriott's Spring Hill Suites, which I expect to be equally as good.

Room Tip: Tell them what you need....be specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank her_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
240 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with young children. One bedroom suite was decent price for booking well in advance. Conveniently located close to BWI, and not a far drive from downtown Baltimore. Room was nice sized and having a stocked kitchen and fridge as well as 2 tvs was nice. The free breakfast was nicer than what these hotels usually have. All in all a fine stay with more amenities than usually seen at this price point.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joshdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms and pleasant staff, but ask for a room away from the adjacent highway as the traffic noise is loud and never seemed to stop. The entrance (lobby area/check-in) is not easily identifiable from the road and it is easy to drive past. Some of the internal signage showing which rooms are down each of the hallways could be improved.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and were very pleased. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the full kitchen was great. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet. Everything was fresh and had quite a variety of items. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend to our friends and family!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyandDallas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent about 8 days here on a business trip - working nights whilst I did so. They did a great job making up the room when I wasn't sleeping and took care to be quiet when I was. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was the usual Residence Inn food for breakfast, but my hours prevented me from partaking this time. I'll stay here again if I need to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a one-bedroom suite. I smidge nicer than the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmateurAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Columbia Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbia

Property: Residence Inn Columbia
Address: 4950 Beaver Run Ct, Ellicott City, MD 21043-7917
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Columbia Maryland hotel is located 12 miles from the Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI) and only thirty minutes to downtown Baltimore. This suburban Baltimore Maryland hotel allows easy access to Baltimore city's many attractions, including the Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Orioles baseball at Camden Yards, Baltimore Ravens football and the National Aquarium. Designed for a stay of more than just a few nights, Residence Inn Columbia hotel guests can stretch out and relax in a suite that offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbia Hotel Ellicott City
Residence Inn Ellicott City
Ellicott City Residence Inn
Columbia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing