We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed three nights to attend my son's wedding. The hotel is gorgeous. We had a room (as large as some apartments!) with a luxurious king-sized bed with mattress & pillows to die for. We were on the sixth floor & it was very quiet. The rooms are spotless; you could hold a party in the large shower; and the front desk & housekeeping were very gracious. Breakfast was good in the restaurant, but the waiter was a little slow bringing cream, coffee & our toast. The wedding reception was held in the Wedgewood room. Food & staff were fabulous. The crab cakes were pure meat with hardly any filler. What can I add? I would definitely recommend this resort!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a king-sized bed. Rooms are huge with sitting areas, microwave, refrigerator, small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonihoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    81
    43
    28
    25
See reviews for
65
55
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was a comfortable stay in a 2 bedroom suite, which was reasonably priced. It was a little dated, but overall it was a good hotel. I would rate it a 6.5 with 10 being the highest. Excellent golf course views. The hotel is conveniently located off of a major roadway with all types of stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06484
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed there on business..After checking in, my key would not work three times...had to return to the desk two time to finally get it right. The young front desk crew appeared more interested in their reading material (lloked like college course work) then making the customer happy.

The rooms were spacious, and clean.

The restaruant needs to take a customer service class..after checking in after a long flight, I went to eat dinner....I was told I needed a reservation....this inspite of the restaurant was 3/4's empty. I mentioned that I was a guest in the hotel and that it was Father's day...the response was like "so what".

I mentioned to the front desk and their response was the same....one would think that some tables would be set aside for hotel guests...particularly when the restaurant was nearly empty! I think their man focus is on the golf course and its' patrons....NOT the hotel guest.....will not return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abushtv, Manager at Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi, Andrew -

I'm glad you enjoyed your room and I thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the service you received during your stay. We are always striving to improve and I have shared your feedback with the appropriate team members in an effort to do so.

Please don't hesitate to contact us at visitus@turfvalley.com if you have any further questions or concerns, or if we can assist you in any way.

Thank you,
Andrea Bush
eCommerce Manager
Turf Valley
visitus@turfvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night since we were attending a party in the hotel for an anniversary. Since there were 3 adults sharing a room, I was encouraged to get a "suite" so the two twin beds of the other room wouldn't be too cramped. What a mistake.
Front desk staff was cordial at best, and were wearing outfits reminscient of a 1990's Blockbuster Video store. The hotel looked like it hadn't been updated since the 80's. The "suite" we were promised was barely larger than a single room. The bathroom light could only be turned on in conjunction with a light in the hallway which made a loud noise and lit up an entire area. The pull out couch had a mattress about an inch thick with a blanket much like a Kleenex. The bed itself was on a slant. The actual bed was supposed to be a queen sized bed, but I would doubt that. The bathroom shower didn't drain properly and the water temperature actually began scalding and had to be cooled down.
I foolishly made an appointment at the "spa" which was not relaxing at all. I arrived to a "relaxation room" that had people speaking loudly. I was offered no robe to change into, and I was greeted 5 minutes late by a woman who greeted me like she was in a rush. I was taken to a room that smelled vaguely of fish and was asked "so what do you want?" I'm not sure what that meant and had never been asked that at the start of a spa treatment. To be fair, the massage was very good, but I definitely could have gotten the same at a local day spa. Not at all what I was expecting from a "resort." The food at the party was SALTY and no coffee or tea was offered with dessert. We actually had to ask.
The only reason I gave it three stars was that it was clean and the gold course looked very nice. Other than that, definitely not worth $200 per night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abushtv, Manager at Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay; that is certainly not the Turf Valley experience we strive for. I have shared your comments with our team so that we may continue to improve.

Please don't hesitate to contact us at visitus@turfvalley.com if you have any further questions or concerns, or if we can assist you in any way.

Thank you,
Andrea Bush
eCommerce Manager
Turf Valley
visitus@turfvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I live 5 minutes from Turf Valley -- needed a place to stay last night around 11 due to house guests staying an extra night at my place. I've lived close by for almost 20 years and never stayed at Turf Valley, or even seen the rooms. What a pleasant surprise! We had an executive king room for an excellent price. The room was quite large, with a comfortable sitting area, bathroom with huge shower and separate toilet room; microwave and fridge. The bed was very comfortable, and the heavy curtains kept the room pretty dark in the morning. The decor is only slightly dated. I thought it was extremely clean and well kept. Four Seasons it's not -- i.e. not super luxe. That said, I was very very impressed with this local gem. Incredible value. I will definitely send friends and relative there when visiting when my place is over-filled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erdocmdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abushtv, Manager at Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi -

Thank you for your review - we're always thrilled when our neighbors discover that Turf Valley is a great getaway right in their backyard. I hope you'll come by and try out our restaurant and spa!

Hope to see you soon - thank you,
Andrea Bush
eCommerce Manager
Turf Valley
visitus@turfvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

For a "resort" this accommodation falls far short of expectations and is just average. When checking in the desk clerk was short and disinterested. The room keys were placed in a photocopied sheet of paper that was folded and stapled with information that was just barely readable. It is odd that we received a coupon for one gratis breakfast as the room was occupied by two people; why not some percentage of the entire bill, to encourage patronage as the restaurant was just about empty during dinner and breakfast while we were there?
As to the room, the sink had rust in it and the bathtub was stained and dirty. The best part of the room, was you did not need a night light. The door has about a 1/2" spacing all around so you have plenty of light from the hallway. However, kudos for the bed as it was comfortable. The lack of consideration for our stay was again found during checkout. We were not even asked how our stay was, and we received our bill on letterhead that was photocopied from an original that was not even aligned with the columns.
Recommendation, there are better valued and higher quality places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank We_have_seen_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abushtv, Manager at Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi -

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay at Turf Valley. I have passed your remarks on to the appropriate team members so we may continue to improve.

Please don't hesitate to contact us at visitus@turfvalley.com if you have any further questions or concerns, or if we can assist you in any way.

Thank you,
Andrea Bush
eCommerce Manager
Turf Valley
visitus@turfvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been to many hotels and for the price...this by far the best kept secret in md. The accommodations where excellent. I little elbow grease might be in order, but overall great We opted for the executive suite was greatly surprised We definitely will go again. Near everything and easy to find.

Room Tip: opt for room with king size bed and suite worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Hampton Inn Columbia
#3 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#2 of 61 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Property: Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center
Address: 2700 Turf Valley Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-2047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing