We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I am so surprised to read such a bad review. My youngest son was married at Turf 6 years ago and my middle son was married there this past July! We booked over 50 rooms and believe you me my daughter in laws mom and I check out many rooms when booking the wedding. We are very picky and would have died if our guest had bad nasty rooms or stinky towels. I am quite shocked to read such negative comments. We dined at all of the restaurants during our weekend wedding stay and had great meals. We had a rehearal dinner, wedding and Sunday brunch for our guests.Our friends and family enjoyed the pool. The wedding Gazebo was beautifully landscaped and well maintained. We worked with Carol in the booking department and she was top notch. ALWAYS there for our every question and need. Truly a great experience. I hope that the people who had a bad experience will give TV another try.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiem17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    79
    42
    27
    25
See reviews for
63
52
19
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Came here for work, and this 3 star property has a lot going for it, convenient to Baltimore or Columbia, not far from Montgomery County or Annapolis, and a golf course too (though I didn't play). But the rooms need an overhaul, plus the beds are a bit soft. While some common areas had been renovated, many were not. The staff were very pleasant, and the food was okay for a conference, but not great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRSvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have been a guest at this hotel for over six years. For several reasons:

1)They treat me like family and everyone knows my name. And over the years the service of the front desk which was always friendly is now competent and professional. Best team to date. (Kudos to all of them and their fearless leader - true class act - so glad he returned)
2) The rooms are great. I watched this property improve the past six years. The new product meets industry standards. Amazing views and good amenities (excellent idea to getting rid of coffee pots and providing Krueig machines)
3)They dont nickle and dime. Parking is free, so is internet. I got two pools, a fitness center and the driving range.
4)The new bar is also a favorite of mine. WOW what a transformation of a restaurant. (Always enjoy a drink as I converse with Kevin or Todd) (Diane's warm welcome is a better start to my morning than OJ) (and the chef - so glad he returned too)
5) And finally the VIP Lounge is gone (which was way below industry standards). Now I get real breakfast included. (real juice and coffee)

Still room for improvement in some areas - elevators, curb appeal and room service.

However, the efforts and passion of the ownership and senior management team deserves recognition and as a result will always get my loyalty.

Thank You for making me feel at home.

Room Tip: Seventh Floor - feels like a VIP Level. Only a couple suites. Most with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madscientist1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was back in my hometown of Maryland. We stayed for three nights. The Spa was Great. They have an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, dry sauna and gym that's included with the stay.
The restaurant was Excellent/try the Seafood salad.
They had a High School Band play Christmas Music at the Fairway Lounge.
Make sure you take the Nature Trail!!
Nicely Decorated!!
November 28th thru December1, 2012.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaBethel_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

They are nice at the front desk but are too busy on their cell phones they never charged my credit card correctly.

The first night we stayed and the only night! We found stains (redish brown). So we called the front desk and housekeeping was closed for the night. Not much customer service in that department. Finally a security guard brings us sheets and just hands them to me.

I am not paying $140 a night for a king suite to have to change my own sheets!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank concernedclient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here the first weekend in November for a wedding (not at Turf). The hotel itself was very nice, the people very friendly, and facilities also nice. We used the gym while there - the cardio equipment was great (TVs on all ). The free wts needed a little help (updating and dirty). The stationary machines were good. The pool and hot tub were also nice and warm, but the ceilings needed to be re-done. Didn't use the spa, but the menu looked awesome (resort prices). The spa bathrooms were really nice.
The regular queen size rooms were OK. I don't think they renovated these yet, hopefully they will soon. The suites w/ a mini kitchen, bedroom and bathroom were really nice (got to check one out) and for the extra $10 per night next time I would upgrade to that room even if i didn't need the extra room.
Overall will stay here again when need be and a great experience!!!
*Try the MD crabcake salad from the "quick lunch" menu at the downstairs bar. GOOOOOOD!

Room Tip: grab a suite- but not all have a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I visited for my birthday in November. I went primarily to experience the spa. The staff and the spa facility was very pleasant. The hotel has plenty of free parking and a plentiful Sunday brunch. I didn't have the brunch, but my husband did (while I was at the spa). He is pretty hard to please, he said the food was "ok".
The facility is a little dated and the hotel room was like visiting your grandmother and staying in the guest room that she remodeled in the early 90's. I like to think of it as retro, but it really could use an update. I can tell that there have been a few updates like the tile in the bathroom but the fixtures, carpet, sink, tub, etc. looks to have been in place for a few decades.
The grounds were well groomed, even though it was fall and just about everything had browned over, you can tell they took great pride in the appearance of the facility.
The spa, however, was very nice and serene. I had three treatments - each done by a different technician. They were all very professional and pleasant. The spa facility, connected to the hotel, is also very clean. My only down side to the spa is that it shares a locker room with the pool. After spending the afternoon relaxing, I opened the once tidy, quiet locker room to about half dozen unaccompanied little girls, squealing and giggling and leaving puddles and dirty towels on every inch of the floor. An adult did finally come in to retrieve the girls but by that time, I was dressed and ready to leave. I wanted to take advantage of the sauna and the showers but it was way too busy.
Overall, I had a great time. It is worth driving there. For my husband and me, Turf Valley is less than an hour away. I am thinking about treating my parents to Sunday brunch one day. I think they will like it, there were several senior citizens at brunch Sunday. Oh, and the dining room overlooks the golf course and there is live music as well.
I can see why someone might want to have their wedding at Turf Valley - it is easy to get to and the facility, while old and outdated, is pretty.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor with a view of the outside pool. I hope it was just our room and not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karentl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
5.9 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
6.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center

Property: Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center
Address: 2700 Turf Valley Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-2047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing