We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Palapa Grill & Cantina

La Palapa Grill & Cantina
Ranked #31 of 162 Restaurants in Ellicott City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Starke, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and very aware! My meal was served quickly and was tasty.
This is a good Mexican restaurant if you find yourself in Ellicott City.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPalapaGrill, General Manager at La Palapa Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. By the looks of the picture you had the "Enchiladas Verde". Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    16
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been here to dine about five times. I have been meaning to rate our last experience for months but have just been too upset to do so. Here is what I would like to say about the staff and management we have encountered at La Palapa Grill & Cantina. They just so not know what good service is. The main manager I can't even remember his name right now needs to take classes in being a team leader. He speaks so poorly to his staff and customers that it is not surprising that everyone seems to be in a foul mood.

Our last experience was so horrific that all 10 people in our party voted to leave after ordering drinks.

For the record I should mention that there is one time that we did dine here and had great service.

There is a HUGE management issue going on here and the owners need to address it.
Will NEVER return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audreykri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mexican Steak and Cheese!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I have been eating at La Palapa's since 2004 and it just keeps getting better so I figured lets give them a review! Had lunch the other day with my wife and ordered the Mexican Steak and Cheese outta nowhere and it's da bomb baby. Must try it... A ton of fajita steak like a pound and sautéed onions and peepers served inside a warm grilled tortilla served with the best potato wedge fries in EC it's huge be ready!!! Simply mouthwatering goodness all for $8.95

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPalapaGrill, General Manager at La Palapa Grill & Cantina, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for the nice review. Next time you stop by please ask for the general manager I would like to thank you in person. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ruined Holiday Party”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a terrible experience at La Palapa restaurant friday night in Ellicott City. Manager promised us a section for our holiday party and then they backed out saying that "sorry you misunderstood us." We made a quick change and ended up at Eggspectations also in Ellicott City. They were great at Eggspectations and even gave us a private room due to a last minute cancellation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Salsa Night on Thursday!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I can't attest to the food here yet- I'm sure I will soon and I will be impressed by that as well. Good drinks, great dancing- some of the best Salsa in the area I would think. The play Salsa, Meringue, Bachata and Regitone. Great place to meet new friends and get your dance on!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPeteVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to La Palapa Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing