We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast spot”
Review of Eggspectation

Eggspectation
Ranked #5 of 168 Restaurants in Ellicott City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast spot”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Atmosphere: Neat, French decor; noisy; open-floor plan with mostly tables (few booths)

Price: Very expensive

Service: Friendly, attentive

Food (selection): Definitely one of the most expansive breakfast menus in the area. There is something for everyone: benedicts (a list of more than a dozen), pancakes, french toast, omelettes, and even some rare European specialties (I had the "Pagé special").

Food (quality): Everything was delicious and flavorful. A few of the people in my party ordered the benedicts and loved them, especially the hollandaise sauce (my wife and mother claimed it was the best they had ever tired). My Pagé Special was wonderful, with tons of fresh fruit and sweet English Cream.

I would come here more often if it weren't so expensive...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SrP100111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    169
    57
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant for brunch”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Good selection for brunch and different foods. Prices were reasonable. We had a toddler with us and the place was fine for her too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Eggspectation”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great salads - especially the chicken avocado. Staff is busy and sometimes hard to find. Eggspectation also hosts Happy Hour Monday thru Friday - often with live music.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not the place for lobster!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Their prices aren't cheap but you are paying for the upscale reputation, and seeing their desserts on display when you walk into the restaurant. The service was good, and I ordered the Tues. night lobster special for $19.99. The deal is soup or salad, a one and a quarter lb. lobster, potatoes, and corn on the cob. The lobster is split and cracked for you. The salad was good, but it was the worst lobster I ever tasted. It was bland even with the melted butter. I had to ask for regular butter for the corn and the waitress told me there already was melted butter (for the lobster) but I told her regular butter goes on the corn. She was a good server, all in all, and checked back frequently with us. I was hoping I didn't get sick from the lobster not being fresh, because it was just not sweet or tasty like lobster usually tastes. I would definitely not order that again, and will go back only for breakfast or a sandwich if the rest of my friends or family want to, otherwise I'll skip Eggspectations.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgteacher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great menu”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have been to this breakfast/brunch restaurant before and enjoyed it again. I had a crab omelette and it was very good. Coffee was good and it is close to the BWI airport fro travelers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripPhotographer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eggspectation also viewed

 

Been to Eggspectation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing