We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems closed”

Howard County Welcome Center
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Signs made it unclear but I think the visitor's center is closed for asbestos removal. Too bad, because I really needed the public restroom.

The posted hours indicated it should be open, but low on the door there was an asbestos sign and the door seemed locked. Asking people on the street if it was open resulted in a of shrugs.

Thank DCsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon C, Web and Social Media Specialist at Howard County Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi there, I'm sorry we were closed when you came to visit. I hope I can shed some light on the matter.

We are currently undergoing renovations of our lower levels to host our administrative offices, have new public restrooms, and to even be home to a new Police Museum! Unfortunately, because of the age of our building, some of the original building materials had asbestos. The building was closed for a few days while it was being removed for the safety of our staff and our guests.

I'm sorry our facilities were unavailable at a time when you needed them. We are back in business and open 363 days a year (closed on Christmas and Thanksgiving), so we hope you'll stop in and say hello in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is amazing how great this area is and there are very poor signs posted out there in columbia md near the mall everything is tucked away. For people who come to visit this area needs to have an updated GPS or know where your going if not your lost and please dont let it be dark outside if so you will be in big trouble. Lights are very poor....

Thank LAM371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon C, Web and Social Media Specialist at Howard County Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello, I'm glad you like Columbia and Howard County! I'm sorry that you had trouble with the signs though. Unfortunately, we don't have control over street signs or lights. The Columbia Association is a great organization you can contact with your concerns and recommendations, you can find their contact page here: http://www.columbiaassociation.org/content/contact_us.html

I do hope you'll be back to visit us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

When we stopped, a lovely friendly older gentleman helped us. He began telling the whole town history and was delightful.

we will be back to this charming town next summer.

Thank joy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon C, Web and Social Media Specialist at Howard County Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

You must be talking about our Office Manager Ed! He is a wealth of knowledge and we're happy to have him.

Thank you for your kind words, I will pass them on to Ed. I'm glad you enjoyed Ellicott City, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2015
Google Translation

Thank 새끼손가락
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howard County Welcome Center also viewed

 

Been to Howard County Welcome Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing