We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Local History Based on Railroading” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&O Railroad Museum

B&O Railroad Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A holiday exhibit of model trains is found at this rail museum in Ellicott City
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Local History Based on Railroading”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The oldest railroad station in America lives up to its name. If you love trains or just want a little better understanding of how they impacted American history, this is the place to visit. Well-versed staff tell you all about early the B&O days in Maryland, and the changing exhibits relate to various time periods. Of special interest are those involved with the Civil War. Not to be missed: the train layouts put up for the Christmas season. I always enjoy talking to the folks who work there, and have met many guest from other countries who have heard about this little gem of a museum. There are few interactive displays, but the kids will still enjoy the HO model train layout depicting the first 13 miles of the B&O. Note that the hours and days are limited, so check out the schedule before visiting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
clovis CA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“On the Tracks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lots of information of the early commerce of this area. wwe found it very interesting as we were on a self-guided tour and driving around the town to check it all out.
It was a lovely day to learn and explore...highly recommend!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro Area
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The B&O...All You Need to Know is There...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have sons that grew up playing with Thomas the Tank Engine. So we really enjoyed spending time in the museum. I was even more facinated by the history and the role of Charles Carroll in the museum. So much so that as Boy Scouts my son did the RailRoad merit badge and the Museum helped him complete the requirements.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must See for Railroad Buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is where the famous race between the Tom Thumb locomotive and the horse ended. The tracks are still active with freight cars. The station has been restored to period condition, and includes memorabilia, maps, and history.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HospitalitySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Nicely preserved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nicely preserved bu there's not much to do here. Not worth a stop unless you have something else to do in the area.

Helpful?
Thank NotYourBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B&O Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to B&O Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing