We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A multi-use park in a beautiful forest

There are two sections to this park along the Pataspco R. One near Ellicott City has fishing and... read more

Reviewed August 6, 2019
Ron B
,
Ellicott City, Maryland
via mobile
Hike in a Well-Used Park

We decided upon a 5-6 mile hike on a warm Saturday in July. The park was busy but once we found a... read more

Reviewed July 20, 2019
NXTTRP
,
St. Petersburg, Florida
via mobile
Read all 230 reviews
  
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
135
69
18
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
135
69
18
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails great hiking different areas train tracks close to home horseback riding great place to hike rv camping get away picnic area few times howard county avalon hilton woods sites nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 230 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

There are two sections to this park along the Pataspco R. One near Ellicott City has fishing and hiking while the McKeldin area off Marriotsville Road just across the Howard County line has picnic areas, fishing, horseback riding and many trails of varying levels.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

$2 to get in, and plenty of parking. Scarce information meant the only trail we could find to get us to the river probably wasn’t intended for nonagenarians like us. When we eventually got to the river we felt like we were intruding on the many teenagers who were playing in the water. The views are nice but somewhat tainted by the amount of rubbish left, from soiled nappies to bags of trash.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank mansosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019 via mobile

We decided upon a 5-6 mile hike on a warm Saturday in July. The park was busy but once we found a place to park and got over the first hill, the crowd was behind us. I was surprised how busy the playgrounds and picnic areas were. It’s a well used park. If you are interested in the facilities, check if reservations are available for the picnic area of your choice.

The trails are well marked with paint slashes and some signs. But pull up a map on your phone, just for the redundancy. Another good idea is to take a picture of a trail map to reduce the chance of getting lost.

The park had a nominal cost on this busy Saturday. There were a number of rangers directing traffic; but I can’t image that is needed every day.

This is a very pretty park with good facilities.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank NXTTRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019

whats not to love? nature!!

too bad there are humans roaming about every once and a while

they want 100 characters for a review, so thats it

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Water G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

Got to say this is my favorite place to hike. Even better during the autumn seasons. Love the scenery and trail hope it never gets tainted

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank goldemanjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews