We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stick to the very basics and you'll be ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Diamondback Tavern - CLOSED

The Diamondback Tavern
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stick to the very basics and you'll be ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

This restaurant opened several years ago with great promise. The building was a gorgeous, prize winning restoration and the original menu and food quality were very, very good. Over the years things began to change, but on the chance they had rescued themselves, we bought two groupons which we used in March, 2012. On both occasions we were seated in the bar area and had excellent service, warm, welcoming, and accommodating. On our first visit, however, the food was poor. The bangers and mash(the mashed potatoes were good) came with a huge splash of a terrible, overly sweet apple cider gravy making it hard to avoid and the shepherd's pie was just inedible. Presented in a shallow ceramic boat, the "pie" it was not even an inch thick with almost no meat and just a skimming of off-tasting, dry, potatoes. The pathetic topping of few sprinkles of cheese and broken potato sticks only accentuated this disaster. Our shared dessert, apple pie, seemed to have been steamed as the crust was totally limp and wet. How one does this to a pie is a mystery. Armed with experience now, on our second visit, we stuck to the burgers and onion rings and had a very good and enjoyable meal. I would even go back for this option. We were really full, but our kind waitress insisted that we take the chocolate fudge cake home as a dessert was part of the groupon offer. The huge slice of fudge cake was way more gooey frosting than cake, so it ended up being thrown out which is a big statement because it is really hard to dislike anything chocolate that much. So the lesson is stick to the basics here and enjoy yourself in charming, lovely, not-to-be- missed Ellicott City.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judiefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    14
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Like the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Like the food. The waitstaff is accomodating and polite. The atmosphere could be better. We were seated next to the bar room and it was plenty loud, difficult especially when you have young children with you.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank debrameg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What you would expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We received a gift certificate to this restaurant. It is definitely casual dining, and can get noisy. The menu is typical american fare with a few Maryland specialties. The food was fine but not memorable.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Steph9732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We used a groupon for this restaurant becaue we otherwise would not have noticed it. When we got there, we were seated within 5 minutes on a Friday night. We were brought to a booth in the main dining room and the first thing we noticed was the annoying bright overhead light, it was shining directly in both of our faces and was very uncomfortable because of the glare. We asked the waited if he could turn it down and he said yes, but the control only worked for the other side of the dining room. Also, there was not any music, only other diners talking. Our waiter was excellent and the food he recommended was very good. We had the crab dollop which was just an average crab dip, the ceasar salads were very tasty, the bangers and mash were very good also. By this point we were full and took home the cuban burger with onion rings and the chocolate fudge cake for lunch the next day. Overall, the food was good but the decor and ambiance were lacking so we would not go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marylandusacpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mixed bag of food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

I used a groupon at this resteraunt. The first impression is a bit rundown - not what i was expecting for what claimed to be dinner for two originating at $50.
We started with some AMAZING garlic teryaki wings. The rest of the food, unfortunately, was mediocre. My shepherds pie was very greasy and i only ate a frw bites. I was offered a replacement but declined. Service was good though so - i can only recommend this place for a beer and wings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k8infl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diamondback Tavern also viewed

Ellicott City, MD
Ellicott City, MD
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing