We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great neighborhood place!”
Review of Howard House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Howard House
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great neighborhood place!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Certainly not fancy, but very comfortable. We often stop here on our way down to the Eastern Shore. The staff is very friendly and the food is consistently good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindas6665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meh. (Formerly a 5-star)”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I wrote a glowing review of this place on TA several years ago, gushing about the Maryland-steamed crabs. We just ate there again a couple weeks ago, and our experience was very unlike previous visits.

Yes, the crabs are still cooked perfectly, even this early in the season. The problem is, well, the wait staff on a Sunday afternoon might not be qualified as busboys at a competent restaurant.

Crabs should steam for 20-25 minutes, so we were prepared for that wait. But when the order's done, it needs to go to the table PRONTO. So if your waiter is trying to shmooze up the girl at the table next to you, your food is dying in the kitchen. (Eventually a kitchen worker brought our crabs out -- and the "waiter" kept yakking to the girl.)

A couple drink orders were completely missed, and the waiter didn't come by often enough to make a timely fix.

The killer was at dessert time. We'd had just enough of the crabs, and my wife surprised me asking for two dishes of apple pies ala mode. "Warm, please!" The waiter was gone 20 minutes -- no exaggeration. When he returned to our table, he only had one dish. "Sorry this is all that was left," he shrugged. He carried the flatware by the bowl, not the handles. And in a second, he was gone again.

We laugh when we talk about this waiter -- repeatedly. He's by far the worst we've seen in perhaps the last 500 restaurant outings. Clearly over his head (and couldn't care, either). But it means we'll skip our usual 2-3 visits to Howard House this summer, and hope they've solved the wait staff problem when we try back there in 2013.

If you're going, and if you're making any sort of drive to get there (ours was 2.5 hours), make SURE the proprietor is going to be present when you're there, in order to show the staff the basics of serving. The kitchen's still OK, but they need desperately to pay attention to the front room.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jginnane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't know what has happen///”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

to the Howard House. use to be a great place to eat. Have not been there in 5 or 6 yrs. went the other night and can honestly say it might have been the worst restaurant I have ever eaten at. Place is dirty ,food was over cooked and the service was slow. Flies on your food, silverware not washed. I hate to say all this because this place was great years ago. We loved going there,so its hard for me to say ,DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. (Sorry Howard House hope this helps to get you back to what you use to be , we miss you.)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
719 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Good luck getting service”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have been several times and usually disappointed in the service....Slow to take an order, refill water or get drinks and the wait time from order to served is unusually long. Its a shame because the food is usually good and when in season the crabs are very good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Casual place with great food.”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This place is known for its crab--you have to try the crab bisque--and its laid-back atmosphere. The food is great, and the restaurant is located right off Main St. in Elkton. It is not fancy at all; the servers make you feel like you are right at home, and it is a very comfortable environment. This is not the place for an extravagant celebration!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing