We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Elkton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time on our weekend getaway at Elk Forge! It was our first bed & breakfast experience and it exceeded our expectations! We loved the atmosphere, very welcoming and warm yet we were given our own space. My husband said, "It was like staying at a relatives house, without the relatives!" Ha! The fancy food was a treat (especially eating with silver utensils and china), the service was awesome...a 'jack of all trades' kinda family, our room was clean and the maids were very discrete and efficient! We loved all of the character inside the Inn and out on the landscape, bet it's beautiful in the Spring! For us one of the best parts was the fact that in this 'family business' the family was still there; serving and smiling! It was a pleasure being able to stay at such a hidden gem! We have recommended it to all our friends and family! We will be back, but for now I have my Elk Forge mug to sip hot tea from!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oramja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    64
    32
    21
    6
See reviews for
16
187
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I read the reviews before staying so I had an idea of what to expect. We stayed for 2 nights and had a nice time - but nothing too memorable. The property is very nice, but close to a road & quarry (which we woke up to the noise from one of the mornings). Our room was spacious, but needed updating (the linens were awesome - sheets & towels were first class). The breakfasts left a lot to be desired. One morning we had yogurt, some breads and two different types of scambled eggs. One with cheese - one with hot dogs??? Definitely not what I was expecting from the pictures on the web. The price was a high for the establishment. Might stay again if we had a groupon/living social coupon - but I don't think I would pay that price for a regular night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loves-to-spa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in the Brandywine room & it needs some work... Broken blinds, unfinished drywall patch work in both the bedroom & the sitting room. It could be a great room - with some work. The bed was comfy, but the "shower" in the bathroom is underwhelming. My advice: while charming, get rid of that claw foot tub & put in a real shower; there's already an enormous jetted tub in the sitting room. The buffet breakfast was also average - the second day was a breakfast scramble consisting of eggs + hotdogs, but did have a tasty banana bread pudding. The whirlpool tub next to the fireplace is quite nice, but the tv could use an upgrade. With a little TLC it could be a great place, but for now, it's average.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithtwointow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing stay at the Elk Forge B&B and Retreat. Our room was cozy and we enjoyed soaking in the Jacuzzi while watching television!!! The breakfast buffet was outstanding.

The dining room and living room were so beautifully decorated, but above all, the warmth of the inn keepers was memorable.

P.S. Please give Dubbs (a dog) a KISS for us!!!

Room Tip: Country Club was a beautiful spacious suite. The view was breathtaking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loppy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved our time at Elk Forge! It was a wonderful environment and the food was fantastic. It was a quick drive through beautiful country roads to get to Longwood Gardens, which was simply gorgeous. Really enjoyed the peace and quiet at Elk Forge. Thanks for such a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here one night with a smartbox gift card. The grounds are beautiful and there is a lot of charm in the large, open, scenic-view dining area and upstairs sitting area. The "Baltimore" room, in which we stayed, however, was small. Though quaintly decorated, the canopy queen size bed (we're used to a king) was quite high off the ground. I used the stool provided to climb aboard. The bathroom was also quite small with just a small shower, no bath. The room did have a charming electric fireplace. We're pretty active and athletic, so the "nature" trail, though pretty, was not enough exercise for us. So between the small room and the desire to "do" something (it was only 3pm) we opted to drive to find a walk along the Chesapeake Bay. We drove about 10 miles to a retreat area called Sandy Cove with a gorgeous view of the bay and a little more walking area. I don't believe we had as many breakfast choices that other reviewers had. I had granola and fresh fruit. My husband made a waffle. I didn't see any eggs or other hot items, but when we first sat down there was no staff, so maybe we missed them. In short it's a good place to go to get away and spend some quiet and/or romantic time. I also think it would be a good place for a reception, which they advertise doing.

Room Tip: If you prefer tubs to showers make sure to ask if your room will have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejwo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We enjoyed our quick get away to Elk Forge very much. We were able to get a Living Social certificate, which gave us a fairly risk free opportunity to try this nice looking place. There were lots of really good things and lots of little not so good things. Luckily there was only one big not so good thing.

Very nice, accommodating, friendly owners and staff. Attractive building with pleasant grounds abutting a nearly pristine stream/river (really liked that part). Great, sunny breakfast room and interesting atmosphere in the main building. Maybe a little dated, some miss matched things here and there. Breakfast was over the top in terms of variety and abundance of food.

Regrets: we wish that we had seen some of the rooms in the main building, because our room was the one really not so good thing. More on that later. We wish that the woman who served breakfast on the first morning (we were there for two) would have introduced herself. I introduced myself to her; and although this woman was very friendly as well as service oriented, she never shared her name with us. The beds were comfortable, and the sheets very soft.

Draw backs. Each morning, the available coffee was not hot. Each morning, we asked for coffee, and received a very positive, friendly response; however, it did not come. Our only hot coffee was when I took the time on both mornings to retrieve the coffee fresh from the pot on the burner near the kitchen. All milk service containers were sour smelling and needed to be cleaned. This was not appealing. The cream on the first day was horribly sour and effected the flavor of the coffee until the nice woman, who did not provide her name, changed it out for us.

With dozens of years traveling with B&B's, we realize that each B&B operator makes his or her own decision with regard to the products that they use. When eggs are available, it has been our experience that they will be whole eggs. This B&B chooses not to use whole eggs and it is their choice. This detracted from our otherwise very positive breakfast review.

We did not have the opportunity to see any of the rooms that were located within the Inn. After reading some of the other reviews, it does not seem that they may be any better. But our guest room view can only be based on our experience in the "apartment" turned Surrey Carriage Suite.

Starting with the door key that requires patients and difficult manipulation to operate, our very first impression was "this room looks like someone's cheap apartment and not like a B&B at all". This space is full of some very obvious maintenance issues. It is not clean (dead bugs on the kitchen and bedroom window sills, the clothing left behind from the previous guests and cob webs around the picture at the foot of the stairs). Later we learned from the owner that it was an apartment and recently "converted" to be a B&B room. In our opinion, this room is not ready to be called a B&B accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zha-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkton
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Newark-University of Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
8.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa

Property: Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa
Address: 807 Elk Mills Road, Elkton, MD 21921
Location: United States > Maryland > Elkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Colonial Manor House with each room and suite individually decorated. Warm charm, relaxing setting, wonderful free breakfasts and a Day Spa on the property in case you would like a massage, facial or other spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Forge b&b Inn, Retreat And Day Hotel Elkton
Elk Forge Bed And Breakfast Inn, Retreat And Day Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing