We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Great Night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Elkridge
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Great Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was a quick overnight stay, but would like to come back and yes I would stay here again. The staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good. The room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1956deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    73
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
40
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

While staying at this hotel for 2 months as I got adjusted to my new job and relocation, I was absolutely delighted by this hotel. It is 100% the best choice hotel in the neighborhood. I had a few unfortunate circumstances with other choice hotels in the area and couldn't get back to this one fast enough. I was always created with a smiling face and most of the staff went above and beyond my needs. While the majority of the staff was usually in good spirits and happy to help, Brian at the front desk went out of his way to make sure I had everything I needed. When I would return after leaving for a few days he remembered me by name and greeted me with a warm smile every time. It was nice to feel at home, especially being so new to the area. I will stay at this hotel anytime I need a place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkc511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for one night in October, and were very happy with the stay. The hotel itself was great, and the pool and breakfast were wonderful. The room was great, and comfortable. The only thing keeping the hotel from getting five stars is getting to the hotel. There is construction on a townhome/condo community going on, and it makes it difficult to get to. My OnStar actually led me to a closed road, and had to switch to Google Maps on my phone. Overall, the hotel is one of the best Choice Hotels I have stayed in, just things out of their control are causing an issue at the moment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FSUMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Getting to the hotel IS a little awkward. I like that it's not directly on the main road though. The hotel interior is very nice and well-maintained. They even keep the hallways smelling good. We checked in at 4am after a long trip and didn't have to wait for someone to come to the desk. The man was very nice and helpful, as were all of the front desk personnel during our 8 day stay. I love the rooms, they're everything we hope for in a hotel room. There's 2 flat screens, a sofa, desk, comfortable bed, fridge, micro, etc. Cons- no hot tub. Not a huge deal, but would be nice. As someone else noted, the breakfast attendant really is "too helpful." Prepare to be treated like you're 5, and yes, you will be scolded if you do anything "wrong." The breakfast itself is decent though. Housekeeping walked into the room multiple times during our stay without knocking,which wasn't cool. Keep your door locked even if your 'Do not Disturb' sign is up. Encountered one woman who spoke hardly any English, which made asking for anything difficult. Waited 6 hours on one occasion just to get fresh towels and toilet paper brought to my room. Guess it would've been quicker to have them service the entire room. I could've called the front desk and they would've probably handled it quickly, just didn't want to bug them.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minerva1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was referred to this hotel as the recommended place to stay for a Maryland wedding. The front desk personnel was friendly and accommodating.

The room was exceptional for the nightly rate. The rooms were spacious and clean suites with a refrigerator and microwave included. This however was kind of necessary since there is no restaurant in building and made it ideal for warming up leftovers from nearby restaurants.

There is a great continental at breakfast bar every morning, managed by a very efficient and personable wait staff lady that makes sure that the serving area is clean and everything is constantly stocked.

While the hotel is not in the most popular area, there are a couple of area shopping plazas where you could get a coffee or a quick bite to eat.

The hotel is also right off the highway.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dweekes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice suite rooms, and maintained very clean. The staff was very attentive, particularly the breakfast hostess, Kim. The pumpkin spice waffles were also quite nice. Good location for visiting the Maryland Renaissance festival.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Once again a nice find in the Comfort Suites chain. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. I would recommend staying here for sure. It is a little outside the Baltimore area so be aware of tolls if you are traveling back and forth but other than that there are plenty of shops and good restaurants close to the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tyerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkridge
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia East - Elkridge
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Hotel / Arundel Mills
12.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Downtown Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Columbia Gateway
2.7 mi away
The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia Jessup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway

Property: Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway
Address: 7146 Old Waterloo Rd, Elkridge, MD 21075-6532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Elkridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Elkridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway Hotel Elkridge
Comfort Suites Elkridge
Elkridge Comfort Suites
Columbia Gateway Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing