We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Elkridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Getting to the hotel IS a little awkward. I like that it's not directly on the main road though. The hotel interior is very nice and well-maintained. They even keep the hallways smelling good. We checked in at 4am after a long trip and didn't have to wait for someone to come to the desk. The man was very nice and helpful, as were all of the front desk personnel during our 8 day stay. I love the rooms, they're everything we hope for in a hotel room. There's 2 flat screens, a sofa, desk, comfortable bed, fridge, micro, etc. Cons- no hot tub. Not a huge deal, but would be nice. As someone else noted, the breakfast attendant really is "too helpful." Prepare to be treated like you're 5, and yes, you will be scolded if you do anything "wrong." The breakfast itself is decent though. Housekeeping walked into the room multiple times during our stay without knocking,which wasn't cool. Keep your door locked even if your 'Do not Disturb' sign is up. Encountered one woman who spoke hardly any English, which made asking for anything difficult. Waited 6 hours on one occasion just to get fresh towels and toilet paper brought to my room. Guess it would've been quicker to have them service the entire room. I could've called the front desk and they would've probably handled it quickly, just didn't want to bug them.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minerva1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 216 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was referred to this hotel as the recommended place to stay for a Maryland wedding. The front desk personnel was friendly and accommodating.

The room was exceptional for the nightly rate. The rooms were spacious and clean suites with a refrigerator and microwave included. This however was kind of necessary since there is no restaurant in building and made it ideal for warming up leftovers from nearby restaurants.

There is a great continental at breakfast bar every morning, managed by a very efficient and personable wait staff lady that makes sure that the serving area is clean and everything is constantly stocked.

While the hotel is not in the most popular area, there are a couple of area shopping plazas where you could get a coffee or a quick bite to eat.

The hotel is also right off the highway.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dweekes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice suite rooms, and maintained very clean. The staff was very attentive, particularly the breakfast hostess, Kim. The pumpkin spice waffles were also quite nice. Good location for visiting the Maryland Renaissance festival.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Once again a nice find in the Comfort Suites chain. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. I would recommend staying here for sure. It is a little outside the Baltimore area so be aware of tolls if you are traveling back and forth but other than that there are plenty of shops and good restaurants close to the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tyerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very Nice Suite Hotel. A Great Value. Very attentive staff. A littile tough to get to, but for the quality of the stay, I can let that slide. Free Breakfast is excellent, and there are several restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwright50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

love the location ,just off Rt.95.Nice newer hotel ,clean excellent rooms with excellent sleep quality.Nice staff,great breakfast.If you are in the Edgewood area or looking for a great hotel north of Baltimore ,this is a wonderful.choice.

Room Tip: Second or third floor with higher room# (back rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in September: we were in town for a wedding and chose this hotel due to the suites (there were three of us) and because the room rate included a hot breakfast.

The room was very spacious and overall pretty comfortable. My 13 year old did complain about feeling the springs on the pull out bed, but that can happen anywhere. It would've been nice to have a door between the living room and the bedroom door privacy, but not a deal-breaker. The bed was a bit hard for my taste and the pillows were ridiculous.

The daily hot breakfast include eggs, make your own waffles (from pre made batter), breakfast meats, and fruit. The eggs were awful! Overly salted and they looked like army field rations. The waffles were edible, but the strawberry tasted fake. The coffee was terrible: weak and no flavor. We ate the hotel breakfast one time out of our five night stay, choosing to spend time and money going elsewhere.

There is a pool, but no hot tub. It appears it had been recently removed. Not a big deal, but would've been nice to sit in after a swim or workout.

We booked an ada room, which to my surprise came with a shower bench. That was so incredibly helpful as during my stay I was on crutches.

Not sure we would stay there again. It definitely had pros and cons, but overall is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raizelapone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkridge
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus BWI Airport Hotel - Arundel Mills
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbia East - Elkridge
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia Jessup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Columbia Gateway
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway

Address: 7146 Old Waterloo Rd, Elkridge, MD 21075-6532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Elkridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Elkridge
Price Range: $99 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway Hotel Elkridge
Comfort Suites Elkridge
Elkridge Comfort Suites
Columbia Gateway Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing