We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”

Elkridge Furnace Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Elkridge Furnace Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 60 Restaurants in Elkridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Historic mansion ca.1744 hosting an a la carte restaurant with seasonally changing menus, private functions including intimate parties to large receptions, monthly special events from Afternoon Teas to Wine Tastings, and off-site catering to the entire state of Maryland.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is set inside a house and has a quiet, romantic, upscale feel. Waiters and service were top notch. Food was good but not great. B+ with A+ prices. I would return but I'm not raving.

Helpful?
Thank NuttyCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    51
    18
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Company Party 2007”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We didn't pay, but I am pretty sure it was a very expensive meal. The mixed drinks were perfectly mixed and every course of the meal were warm and cooked well. The service was on time! Still waiting to go there again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darinbrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a French restaurant and the menu reflects French entrees. The food was good and the portions were large. I ordered some some meat plate appetizer and wasn't too sure what kind of meat was on the plate. Was a liltle afraid to ask the waiter as he seemed to be overwhelmed and a little unapproachable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skeeterflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Wine List, Stuffy Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Elkridge Furnace Inn is a historic venue from the late 1700s that has been converted into both an inn and a restaurant. The dining area consists of both an upstairs and downstairs with gas fireplaces, stereotypical French restaurant decor, and 5-6 tables per room. The atmosphere is dressy and very quiet (we felt that speaking much above a whisper was too loud in the dining room), though there is enough space between tables that you can have a conversation without truly talking over your neighbors. The menu and wine list are both extensive. The wine list was professionally done and stocked bins from the local regions (Maryland and Virginia) and known favorites from Napa/Sonoma, France, Argentina, Australia, Italy, and Spain. Save one or two places in the Baltimore area, it was one of the best priced wine lists as well (half bottles from around $18, full bottles from $28, and house cocktails from $7.50). The vegetables on the menu almost entirely came from their organic greenhouse on the Inn property and the meat was locally acquired from farms around the Baltimore area. In terms of content, the food was classically French and was served in larger-than-normal portions for a high-end restaurant. We started with the homemade charcuterie plate (I would recommend against this; it consisted with meats that had been grounded up and reshaped with added nuts and raisins) then had the veal scallopini and lamb three ways, which were both wonderful. The lamb, cooked medium, was flavorful and served pipping hot. The cost of the entrées were around the $30 mark and the appetizers/soups/salads around the $10-15 mark. Overall, the food, wine, and service were wonderful. The atmosphere was a little too quiet for us, but the quality of the cuisine more than made up for the ambiance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homedale, Idaho
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Thanksgiving Dinner”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This resturant is in a historic building. They also do Weddings and other private parties. Eventhough I live in a flyover area of the USA I was able to make reservations for Thanksgiving dinner. I chose the Rock Fish for my main entree. It was perfectly cooked served over spinach risotto. The fixed price menu that is offered makes ordering easy and exciting because you can order everything you want to eat. The service was also excellent and friendly. I will definitely visit when I travel to Maryland again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elkridge Furnace Inn also viewed

 

Been to Elkridge Furnace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing