We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sushi in Exurban Maryland?”

Sushi Q Bar and Grill
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Elkridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: Opened recently and are building their web site, should be done by end of May. 410-579-2453, open 7 days. Best sushi restaurant with renowned chef, must be reviewed!
Restaurant details
Description: Opened recently and are building their web site, should be done by end of May. 410-579-2453, open 7 days. Best sushi restaurant with renowned chef, must be reviewed!
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Sushi in Exurban Maryland?”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Well, yes. I visited Sushi Q twice during a recent stay in the area. The restaurant's location -- in an exurban Maryland strip mall -- does not inspire confidence, but the sushi was well above average and the service was attentive. My two standard test nigiri -- unagi and hamachi -- were both well prepared, with a good fish:rice ratio (high, which is appropriate for these delicately flavored fishies) and fresh hamachi. The rice itself was just average -- it could've been a little more sticky, moist and warm, with larger grains.

I had to try the scorpion roll, which combines a soft-shelled crab (it is Maryland, after all) and a tempura-shrimp-and-unagi-based roll. The quartered and lightly battered crab was delicious!

One downside: No nigori (unfiltered) sake. Oh, well. Caveat: I stuck to the sushi, so I can't comment on any of the cooked items. The restaurant does offer the standard range of teriyaki, etc. in addition to sushi, even though those items don't appear on the restaurant's wonky website.

Overall, heartily recommended to satisfy any sushi craving that may hit you in Elkridge and environs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPF2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Went here a couple of times during a business trip. The first time I had excellent and attentive service. They give you a free appetizer and desert which was nice. The fish was good. It's not the best I've had but it was good for some sushi by myself. The second time I went the service wasn't great. The girl happily gave the table next to me the free app but didn't bother to give it to me. Also, this second time some of the fish didn't taste that good, like it had been frozen, something was just off. The place was empty-ish both times I went.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonetravellin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
270 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good quality Sushi”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a good sushi restaurant. I have no complaints whatsoever, but I am a food fanatic and after having World Sushi in Nanuet NY, nothing else really lives up to that. As far as Sushi Q goes, the staff is attentive and friendly, the food is delicious and the prices are reasonable. I will visit again when I'm in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Escano777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halethorpe, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi in Elkridge at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stumbled across this hidden gem last Friday night. It is in a strip mall, but don't let that stop you. The decor inside is beautiful and the staff is kind and attentive. The sushi is high-quality, and the prices are very reasonable. They have a wide selection and each roll sounds more delicious than the last. We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieD06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sushi in Elkridge”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Although in a strip shopping center, once inside the clean and tastefully decorated dining room it doesn't feel like a strip shopping center. The staff is very attentive and eager to please. The food is always delicious and there is a nice variety.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Q Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Q Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing