We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Review Highlights
Beautiful

The SERC is a public space where scientists from many different specialties conduct research... read more

Reviewed July 2, 2019
DCnanny
,
Lewes, DE
A quiet place to hike some trails

We discovered this location from an article in a magazine, never knew it existed. We showed up... read more

Reviewed September 8, 2018
Marcia P
,
Silver Spring
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
16
5
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
16
5
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails open to the public chesapeake bay serc scientists rhode land nature river hike woods trees fall visitors order property site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 24 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We discovered this location from an article in a magazine, never knew it existed. We showed up early and hiked a couple of the trails. One runs alongside the Rhode River, so quiet, we went during the week and did not pass anyone else on the trails. came back to the visitors center and talked to a volunteer about the animals he cares for in the aquariums. A small terrapin loves people and will follow you as you walk back and forth, adorable. They cannot set him free as he returns to the center every time they set him out in the yard. Lovely place to walk, can't wait to go back in the fall/winter.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

I went here recently as part of a garden tour. It is a large piece of unapproved waterfront property on the Rhode River. There is very limited access to this property. Look for days and hours they are open to the public.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank lovetotravel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We go to their lectures that are pretty much year round. Their scientists are generally the speakers and the topics range from climate change to oysters of the Chesapeake Bay. It is a beautiful property and I often take my camera and just walk through the center.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Jabjeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

We enjoy hiking in places with opportunities to observe and photograph wildlife in natural settings. This was our first visit to SERC and it did not disappoint! We saw a large diversity of woodland bird species, particularly woodpeckers of several varieties, and many butterflies. What a great find!

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank TopCat390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Interesting to see untouched environment. Also good to see scientists working to protect the Chesapeake's natural beauty. Might come back when autumn leaves are at peak.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews