We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Thai Cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of M Thai Kitchen

M Thai Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 66 Restaurants in Edgewater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Thai food restaurant
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

He is the head waiter and she the cook; apparently the new waitress is the grandmother. We returned to see if this was as good as we reported on our last visit. It was! The steamed wontons, containing minced shrimp and chicken, were outstanding and piping hot. They are made on site like most of the food served there. However, the steamed dumplings, which were pretty ordinary, apparently were not made at the restaurant although they were freshly steamed.

Our entrees were both excellent. The chicken in green curry was a delight with bamboo shoots and basil accents with a lovely blend of flavors in which the coconut flavor highlighted but did not overwhelm the other flavors; she made the spiciness just the way my spouse asked for it. The day's lunch special was chicken jungle curry, without coconut milk. It contained many varieties of vegetables and when I asked about the wonderful blend of spices, the answer was to point to the picture of Thai spices while saying almost all of those!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    26
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Don't Miss It.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Doubt I would have stopped there had it not been for friends that knew of it's excellent food and location. We'd been out sailing on Chesapeake Bay for the day and this place was suggested. No disappointment at all. We all had a good appetite so several different dishes were ordered and each one I tried was very well done. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lothian, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love M Thai Kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This little restaurant is tucked away in South River Colony Main Street. Many people don't even know it is there, and it is definitely their loss. My husband and I have been going for several years and we love it. We always recommend it. They have the best Thai food in our area. The owners (husband is the greeter/waiter and his wife the chef) are so gracious. It's always a pleasure to dine there. The Panang curries are delicious. We love the Drunken Noodles and Pad Thai. Their chicken/shrimp coconut, lemon grass soup is made to order and fabulous. I read one review that said the appetizers were probably microwaved. That is ridiculous. The restaurant is so small you can hear the spring rolls and other appetizers hit the fryer! As others have said, the decor is not the best, but the food is so good it doesn't' really matter. It is definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“thai food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We love Thai food but have been unable to locate a really good restaurant in the Baltimore-Washington area. They serve authentic Thai not an Americanized fusion menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I was not impressed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Food is nothing to write home about. Most of the appetizer options are microwaveable and dont taste fresh. I've been to this place a few times but probably won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Thai Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to M Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing