We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate, creative dining”
Review of Bartlett Pear Inn - CLOSED

Bartlett Pear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dover and Harrison
Description: Join us at the Bartlett Pear Inn! Now serving delicious breakfast, lunch and brunch 7 days a week.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Intimate, creative dining”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

In November, 2011 and again this November we at the Bartlett Pear. On both occasions, the experience was wonderful. The owner/chef is not only an accomplished and creative cook, but also friendly and very accommodating. One of us is allergic to garlic, and, on our most recent visit, James made a special, delicious, and garlic-free halibut dish for us. The restaurant is small and cozy. We like dining in the bar by the window and fireplace.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank courcierwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    45
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had dinner here and are still enjoying the meal! Outstanding menu with creative presentation and excellent flavors. Excellent wine list and delightful dessert choices. Service was top notch, including the chef/owner presenting the appetizers and checking on us again later in the evening. Suggest you go and often.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CabooseCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Classy”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were spending the night on Oxford and were looking for a high end place for Friday night dinner. We made reservations (online) at the Bartlett Pear without difficulty and were glad we did. The restaurant was busy, but we were immediately seated. Throughout the dinner, the wait staff was extremely attentive and professional. Someone had taken considerable time to train them in their duties. The dinner was superb. Everything was very well prepared, well presented, and just right for a pleasant evening. Looking around, we thought that everyone there was enjoying themselves, their meals, and the restaurant – couples, families and friends. Hats off to the Bartlett Pear and their staff. A very classy place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

With so many good restaurants in the area, it has taken us awhile to try the Bartlett Pear Inn. Unfortunately it was very disappointing! To start, I find it annoying that I can't pick up my phone to make a reservation. Instead, the answering machine said that to make a reservation, I needed to go online. Once there, I thought the dinning room was too bright. There were little candles on the table but with the dinning room being so bright, they had no effect at all. Our server gave excellent service but she was very cold and unfriendly. Knowing that the chef was the owner, we were so looking forward to our meals. The portions were very small, very salty and the sauces were too buttery and rich. The very small piece of stripped bass that I had, had a thick dark piece in the middle which was inedible. The scallop entree had 4 scallops.....more like an appetizer. The clincher was the chocolate soufflé for dessert which was so undercooked, it was like eating soup.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stewardess79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friday Night Getaway”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We first stumbled across the Bartlet Pear Inn last year. We had such a nice time that we came back with year when the same event came up. And this year was just as nice. Our room was cozy and Alice was super friendly. Breakfast was my favorite French Toast. We were not able to stop in for a drink this year and I was sad because last year they had some great mixed drinks. We hope to make it back again next year. The town was quite lovely and beautiful to walk around.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Monilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartlett Pear Inn also viewed

Easton, Talbot County
Easton, Talbot County
 
Easton, Talbot County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing