We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel + Good Times”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Easton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Attended a weekend wedding and spent two nights there. Great setup and easy to find. Both the wedding and reception were held onsite and were beautiful. Had two complaints. Literally 1 outlet in the room. Had to unplug the lamp to charge a phone. The other was that the bedspread was covered in pet hair. We didn't realize this until late at night and threw it on the floor. They quickly fixed it the next day. On a positive note, after a little too much wine at the wedding, we needed a snack. There were no cabs, so one of the hotel employees gave me a quick ride to WaWa around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 456 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went to a wedding in Easton and stayed at this older hotel in the center of town. Enjoyed the amenities, free parking, reading room, outdoor seating for drinks and conversation, iced water laced with fruit in the lobby and a very pleasant staff who were always eager to please. Without question, would return.

Room Tip: Although its convenient to be near the elevator, ask to be located further away as some guest may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent a great weekend in this Easton hotel, great location in the center of town. Two very comfortable queen beds in a large room with 2 very small bathrooms. The size of the bathrooms was not a surprise as we prefer the "historic" hotels and this is what one usually finds...small bathrooms. The friendly staff, beautiful restoration, cleanliness and location more than made up for the small baths. We had no air conditioning problems and it was a HOT weekend.

Room Tip: If bathroom size is a major issue, ask if a larger one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEGhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We look forward to your return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

To cut to the chase:

Pros:
Excellent central location in charming Easton. Close to St. Michaels.
Charming old hotel that is clean and doesn't smell like an old location. Has clearly been updated.
Extremely comfortable beds.
Free parking.
Free Wifi.
Delicious fresh water in the lobby with oranges or melons in it.
Fresh apples in the lobby.

Cons:
The biggest is the tiny tiny bathrooms. No counter to put down toiletries. Have to close door to get to shower. I can't see spending over 200 a night after taxes and having such a small, inconvenient bathroom. We had a king suite and it had 2 of these tiny bathrooms. The toilet seat, when up, touches the face towel hanging on the wall.
A small quibble, the maidstaff didn't give me a fresh shampoo bottle after the first night in case my wife and I had used up most of the shampoo the first night. You always have to put a fresh little shampoo container in the room once the first is left in the shower.

No pool.
No fitness center
No free breakfast.
One of two rooms rented had a banging noise from the HVAC. They quickly switched our room....

Ultimately, the experience was ruined by the small bathrooms.

Room Tip: ask if there is any room with a bathroom big enough for a counter. Maybe there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radman2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback on your recent stay with us. As a historic property, we face challenges with bathrooms that are on the smaller side, but we constantly look for ways to improve their functionality. We do have some rooms with larger bathrooms, so make sure to check with our front desk agent for details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautifully restored historic hotel, friendly service, great location but as the management themselves will freely admit, the bathrooms are very small and not upscale, the walls are thin and the HVAC can be challenged. We had a large suite with three rooms and count them, three bathrooms, all identical and matching what I said before. But our memorable time was sitting on the long porch enjoying a drink and coffee, depending upon the time of day, enjoying the various comfortable and charming nooks and seating areas inside the inn. And Easton has many good restaurants, art galleries and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay at the Tidewater Inn was outstanding! It was our son's wedding weekend. We had the rehearsal dinner there in the crystal room. Every person from the bellhop, reservations, front desk, and banquet events were wonderful. Everyone was so helpful and all went above and beyond to make our stay and our event so very special. Melanie Bennett, our event manager, was so sweet and helpful. She was very attentive and conscientious. There was no stone left unturned. Our rehearsal dinner and the personnel service was outstanding. The food was delicious and hot and they served 80 people for dinner! I just cannot say enough about this hotel. The restaurant in the hotel is also excellent. The town of Easton is so quaint and the shopping is wonderful, all within walking distance of the hotel. We would whole heartedly recommend the Tidewater Inn in every respect!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for the feedback on your Tidewater Inn experience. It was our pleasure to host your rehearsal dinner as well as your guests who stayed with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

There is not one table to use for writing or to do makeup. The bathrooms are inadequate. They are tiny, antiquated with absolutely no place to even set a toothbrush. The electric outlet situation is absolutely Terrible! Don't go there without bringing several extension cords.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank WVSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. As a historic property, we face challenges with smaller bathrooms but try to maximize the baths by having shelving to store personal items and including other space-saving features. Many of our rooms and suites have both desks and tables,and we accommodate requests for rooms with those features. I note that we anticipated your need for additional outlets (from your comments during a previous stay) and provided an extra powerstrip for your use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
8.0 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
7.2 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
489 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#2 of 9 in Easton
525 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Easton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 101 E Dover St, Easton, MD 21601-3001
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Easton
Price Range: $151 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidewater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater Inn is a charming and elegant hotel located on the Eastern Shore with roots that trace back to 1712. A romantic hideaway nestled in historic downtown Easton, Maryland, surrounded by boutiques, art galleries, gourmet restaurants and the famed Avalon Theatre. The Inn features 95 well-appointed boutique guest rooms, a tavern style restaurant and banquet rooms. A luxurious retreat just outside of Baltimore, Washington, DC and Wilmington, the Tidewater Inn is appointed with modern comforts, state-of-the-art conference space and exquisite banquet rooms ideal for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel Easton
Historic Tidewater Hotel
Historic Tidewater Resort
Tidewater Inn Easton Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing