We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel in a great town!”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Easton
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid hotel in a great town!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Tidewater Inn was a great place to stay in Easton, which is a town definitely worth checking out if you are in the DC or Baltimore area. The Tidewater Inn was a well-kept hotel from a time gone by. The hotel and rooms were well kept and featured interesting and very pleasant common areas including a sitting area with plush sofas and a courtyard with patio furniture. The hotel is in a great location for accessing the main downtown of Easton. There were many restaurants, shops, and cafes within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We strive in the personal touches for our guests and appreciate your feedback that I will happily share with the hotel staff. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you again for your feedback. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    140
    66
    47
    22
See reviews for
91
183
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The food quality is extremely wonderful. The service is totally trained for fine dining. Rockfish was delicious, salad was tossed lightly, and veggies were cooked perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We strive in the personal touches for our guests and appreciate your feedback that I will happily share with the hotel staff. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you again for your feedback. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I was at this Inn for a conference and I think the Inn had taken on more than they should have, having been completely or nearly completely full immediately prior to our conference and totally slammed immediately after our conference by the annual Waterfowl Festival (when the entire area fills up). Many of the rooms were not available until well after 4 p.m., and the staff did not seem to have the ability to get rooms ready for people who were waiting rather than what seemed to be randomly. The next day the Inn wanted everyone out very quickly in the morning, and one couple, one of which had severe health problems and asked for additional time, was told no. Given that all the rooms were vacating on time or early, surely housekeeping would have been busy enough that one room could have remained occupied for an additional hour. The Inn does not have sufficient parking for all guests if they fill up and additional parking in town was hard to find and usually quite a walk. I was surprised that there was no hair dryer in the room, and it would have been nice to have a small coffee pot in the room or coffee in the lobby for guests, but neither was available. The room was comfortable but I would have liked to have been able to turn the heat off and could not. Staff was courteous and as helpful as they could have been, given the impossible schedule they had.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at the Tidewater Inn, as well as offering constructive feedback on your experience. Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered. Waterfowl is always a busy and challenging weekend for us as you can imagine. We are constantly working on improving our hotel rooms and recently implemented a new hot water and heating system. I have forwarded your comments on to our maintenance staff with regards to the heat problem you experienced in your room as well as housekeeping department. In addition, our suites do have coffee pots, along with refrigerators and we do offer complimentary coffee in the lobby starting at 6:30am every morning. I apologize that there was none available for you during your stay. Should your travels bring you back to Easton, I hope that you might give us a second chance, so that we may offer you the kind of experience that you would expect from the Tidewater Inn. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The beauty and warmth of the Inn starts when you cross the threshold. The rooms are older with character and charm, the beds are comfy, the facility is immaculate, the food and drink right your feet, literally, and the staff are professional and very attentive to your needs. You are made to feel like family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We strive in the personal touches for our guests and appreciate your feedback that I will happily share with the hotel staff. Happy Holidays! Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

An amazing place for a mini destination wedding. Great experience with every staff member at the Inn, from the front desk to the general manager. Great ambiance in this wonderful historic hotel. Both families were extremely pleased with the quaintness of town, wonderful restaurants (especially Masons for the rehearsal dinner), terrific inn service, and charm of the Inn. As someone else mentioned in a review, our kids wedding was a red carpet event for all who attended and will be remembered by us for many years to come. Thanks to the management and staff of the Tidewater Inn for an unforgetable weekend experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maadiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We strive in the personal touches for our guests and appreciate your feedback that I will happily share with the hotel staff. We are so delighted you had a pleasant stay and a great time while in Easton. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Happy Holidays! Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Great central location for historic Easton and surrounding areas such as Oxford and St. Michaels. Good restaurants in the immediate area (1-2 blocks). Limited WiFI, only available in the library on first floor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review and comments! We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and your trip to Easton, MD. We do offer hard-wired internet connections in our rooms and are working towards having WiFi availability in our rooms in the future.

We do hope you will return soon for a visit. Happy Holidays!

Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I came to Tidewater for a getaway with my fiancé and we really enjoyed our stay. The historic but modern feel of the hotel was really romantic and charming. All of the staff was really nice which only added to how pleasant our stay was. We will definitely be back and are even looking at it as our wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are considering the Inn for your wedding venue. If there is anything I can do for you or my staff regarding your wedding plans or your next stay with us, please don't hesitate to give me a call. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
8.0 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
7.2 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#2 of 9 in Easton
484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Easton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Property: Tidewater Inn
Address: 101 E Dover St, Easton, MD 21601-3001
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidewater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater Inn is a charming and elegant hotel located on the Eastern Shore with roots that trace back to 1712. A romantic hideaway nestled in historic downtown Easton, Maryland, surrounded by boutiques, art galleries, gourmet restaurants and the famed Avalon Theatre. The Inn features 95 well-appointed boutique guest rooms, a tavern style restaurant and banquet rooms. A luxurious retreat just outside of Baltimore, Washington, DC and Wilmington, the Tidewater Inn is appointed with modern comforts, state-of-the-art conference space and exquisite banquet rooms ideal for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel Easton
Historic Tidewater Hotel
Historic Tidewater Resort
Tidewater Inn Easton Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing