We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect From Beginning to End” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miles River Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miles River Guest House
Ranked #5 of 5 Easton B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect From Beginning to End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family of four just returned from a fantastic & bucolic experience at the MRGH. We spent the first half of the week as a family (with two young children, ages 3 and 6 months) and shared the second half of our getaway with another family of friends who had one baby, 9 months. We couldn't stop raving about just how perfect our stay was.

Even before we arrived Will's service exceeded our expectations as he was extremely accommodating. He answered every question I had, both by email and phone. He confirmed our breakfast requests two weeks prior to our arrival and even inquired how I was making out on finding a boat rental. During our stay Will responded to all questions and requests within minutes. He quickly responded to our requests for fresh pool towels, more breakfast food, chicken necks & lines for crabbing and crab knives, to name a few. We couldn't have been more thrilled with the quality of service we received during our stay.

Upon arrival, we were thrilled to find our refrigerator and fruit bowl fully stocked with gorgeous strawberries, blueberries, bananas, blackberries, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs & bacon. Will even provided our specifically requested whole wheat bread, pastries and my husband's favorite granola. He quickly gave us the "grand tour" and then left us to explore.

The MRGH consists of three bedrooms, perfect for a family with older children or two families with younger ones. Our friends found the first floor accommodations (one room with a King, another next door with a Queen and a very large bathroom with tub) very comfortable. Both bedrooms looked out onto the Miles River. My family stayed in the master suite with en suite bathroom on the second floor which was spacious and also very comfortable. There was no shortage of towels and Will even provided some toiletries. All of the rooms met my cleanliness standards which is not an easy task.

The open concept living area is also ideal - we spent much of our time chatting in the living room, enjoying a meal at the dining table which seated all of us comfortably or cooking in the kitchen which overlooks the living room. Our 3 year old loved the game machine & the juke box provided a great ambience for plenty of small dance parties. Huge floor to ceiling sliding glass doors provided a gorgeous view of the Miles River.

We spent the rest of our time at the MRGH splashing in the pool (the sunset swim we took on our first night there was unforgettable!), picking crabs on the expansive patio while watching the sunset, boating, fishing & catching crabs off the dock and strolling around the beautiful farm, complete with horses & ponies. St. Michaels is a mere 15 minute drive and we loved window shopping, getting ice cream and grabbing lunch there. There are a couple of strip malls nearby with stores such as Target & the Food Lion. As far as convenience goes, the MRGH has it all.

We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful location or better owners to work with. We left our vacation severely disappointed that we couldn't just stay for the rest of Summer but excited to plan a return visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hst601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
potomac, md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family and I just spend a fabulous weekend at the Miles River Guesthouse. The location is spectacular, with a beautiful view of the river, and incredible sunsets. The Guest House has all you need for a fantastic vacation. The owners provide all that is needed for a great breakfast. Will was an excellent host, always ready to cater to our needs, providing information on what to do, and even told us about the history of some of the nearby homes on the Miles River. I loved my morning kayak outing on the Miles, up to the historic Lombardy home. We all spent a lot of time playing games in the pool, which helped us deal with the unusually hot summer days. We grilled every night (they have excellent meat in the nearby amish market). My girls particularly enjoyed shopping in St. Michaels and downtown Easton, both very close to the property. We feel that we have found a great home away from home. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were treated like family and thoroughly enjoyed our hosts. It was very evident that Mr. Howard earnestly hoped that we enjoyed the guest house, Easton, and our vacation. He made lots of helpful suggestions regarding the area. Special attention was given to our 11 year old son. We especially appreciated this courtesy given that many guest houses and B & Bs don't even allow children. The pool area, backyard, and westward view of the Miles River were beautiful. We enjoyed the osprey, herons and resident mallards. We stayed four days at the Miles River Guest House and enjoyed each one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3peripatetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Tucked into a quaint corner of the Chesapeake Bay Water Basin is a gem of a guest house, My boyfriend and I took a long weekend to celebrate his birthday and it was perfect ! Within minutes of both Easton and St. Michaels MD, fhe Miles River Guest House welcomed us with open arms. It is a beautiful property surrounded by calm waters, waterfowl,and amazing sunsets. We dined on Cheseapeake Oysters, visited the Maritime Museum and had Smith Island Cake for dessert. WIll and Dorothy were gracious hosts and a source of information and genuine warmth. I can't say enough good things about this property especially if you are looking to unwind, unplug, and decompress. While we had a romantic getaway the property could easily accomodate a family. Definitely worth the trip !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecfiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our third, most needed, and most extended stay this year and can't wait to go back. We stayed for our second New Year's in a row and then President's Weekend which included a fabulous on site massage by a wonderful therapist. The massage melted my stress away and got our 3 day holiday a great start. Perks went on to include a thoughtful and delicious Smith island cake for my B-day as well as the usual fresh fruit, breakfast pastries, and heartier breakfast items. We were well taken care of as we always are.

While there my husband mentioned my upcoming knee and foot surgery and I wondered how I was going to manage our 3 level townhouse afterwards. It was suggested that this would be a good place to recover and use the new airy bedroom that they just put in on the main level with a bathroom located right next to it. So, we came back last week straight after the surgery. The hour and a half drive was well worth it. Honestly, I don't know how I would have coped at home. Even now its difficult navigating the townhouse. The owners graciously allowed us to extend our stay at the last minute for an extra night. We ended up staying 5 nights and every one was a much needed step, no pun intended, in my recuperation. I will never be able to thank the kind owners enough for all they did to accommodate us.

The new ground floor bedroom is a DREAM!! Its new king-size bed and crisp linens were VERY comfortable and the best part is that there is a new window directly across so you can lie in bed and get a great view of the Miles River and its gorgeous soothing sunsets. The new bedroom includes a flatscreen tv as well. The tasteful decor of beautiful photos and artwork had me floating by air and sea. Very relaxing and just the tonic I needed after the op. We feel honored to have christened the new bedroom. As I told friends, surgery isn't fun, but if you have to be ill or in pain, this is the place to recover. You couldn't ask for more considerate hosts, Will and Dorothy, who make sure you feel at home, more amenities (How many places have their own jukebox and bar?), or a more beautiful, peaceful location on Maryland's Eastern Shore, healing both mind and body.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank folger830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

What a lovely guest house this is! We were so comfortable and relaxed while we were there; the hosts, Will and Dorothy Howard, were gracious and did all they could to accomodate us. The house itself is nicely furnished (good beds!) with everything to make your vacation special; the owners added a vintage jukebox and arcade game (both free play!) which provided some extra entertainment for us. Additionally, there is a two person kayak and canoe for the guests to use; we absolutely loved taking the kayak out on the beautiful Miles River. The view is very special there on the point (sunsets are incredible) and are enjoyed from the pool area or from the bench at the end of the dock. The Howards made sure we had a fully stocked refrigerator for breakfasts and were happy to fill our special requests. Our hosts made several dinner reservations for us while we were there and made several recommendations that were spot on! Bottom line: we will most certainly be repeat guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlmgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

We spent a glorious relaxing weekend at the Miles River Guest house, which was incredibly warm and inviting. Our hosts were lovely, very engaging and quite interesting. You will be hard pressed to find a more spacious and comfortable get-a-way. We spend lots of time exploring, but couldn't wait to get back to the comfort of this B&B. I highly recommend this B&B, with the views of the Miles River, both from the 'house' and the pier. This one requires a re-do!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
6.0 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
5.8 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Inn at 202 Dover
Inn at 202 Dover
#2 of 5 in Easton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
6.1 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miles River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miles River Guest House

Property: Miles River Guest House
Address: 8862 Quailsar Rd, Easton, MD 21601-7482
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Easton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miles River Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Miles River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miles River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing