We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at 202 Dover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at 202 Dover
Ranked #2 of 5 Easton B&B and Inns
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
267 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“lovely and welcoming”
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed at Inn at 202 Dover on a Friday night to celebrate our anniversary. We were impressed with the elegant and lovely building, public areas, and rooms (all except ours are suites). We were in the Victorian room, which is nice enough but fairly small (though the bathroom is big)--unlike the huge and beautiful suites that we saw, the Victorian was not a room we would want to spend a lot of time in other than for sleeping. I think the price of the room--$279 plus tax--is a little high, but the suite prices were much higher so the Victorian seemed like a relative bargain. If we were going to stay more than one night I would definitely want to stay in a suite.

The bathroom had an air jet tub (which my husband tried and liked) and rain shower combination. There was good water pressure, and thick towels and robes were provided. One thing that would have been nice to have is a nightlight in the bathroom, because I didn't like having to turn on the bright light in the middle of the night.

One of the thoughtful amenities of the inn is a communal drinks and snack area with water and soda in the fridge and all kinds of hot drinks to make with the machine (a Tassimo, I think), as well as granola bars, chips, etc. Water bottles are in your room, and they put chocolate cookies in the room while we were out.

The innkeepers, Ron and Shelby, are welcoming, helpful, and interesting to talk to.

It was a delight eating breakfast in the sunny enclosed porch /dining room, and Ron made a delicious hot cocoa for me (I had mentioned my preference for cocoa or tea when we reserved the room). There is also a beautiful Victorian conservatory next to the dining room. They serve dinner at the inn also but we did not eat there. The night we were there they were hosting a rehearsal dinner, which was pretty loud, but they left between 10 and 11 and it was quiet after that except for a couple of people slamming room doors when they came in later and also when they went out early Saturday morning.

All in all this is an excellent choice for a romantic or other special getaway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFMMaryland, Owner at Inn at 202 Dover, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
A regular guest of ours informed us of this review and after reading it, we were a bit dismayed. If you look at prior reviews we have received nothing but top honors from all of our guests, including those who have regularly stayed in the Victorian Bedroom which is our most regularly requested room because of the price/value. The guest comments centered on the sleep, value and pricing. For the past few years we have been ranked number 1 in Easton and this review clearly knocked us out of the box. Actually, the review was ok but the grading is where we do have serious concerns. We are the only inn that has turn-down service nightly, providing clean towels and snacks for the evening. Our beds are the most expensive available and as all prior guests have commented, the best they've slept on. In the final analysis, we would greatly appreciate eliminating the review and relying upon all of the past reviews thereby placing us back on top where we certainly belong. I would be happy to discuss this in person with you if you would like.
Thank you for your consideration,
Ronald Mitchell
Owner & Innkeeper
Inn at 202 Dover a Select Registry Property
Voted Top 10 Romantic Inn in America 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
115
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

My husband & I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary at the Inn at 202 Dover. In every way imaginable, the Inn not only met but also exceeded our expectations. We spent the weekend in a state of absolute contentment - a testament to the Inn's elegance, charm, and more than accommodating, lovely owners. Our suite was spacious, beautifully decorated, and boasted a luxurious steam shower in its bathroom. Also, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Peacock Restaurant located at the Inn. Needless to say, we intend to return for another weekend of relaxation and have already encouraged our parents to do the same!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55phelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The Inn at 202 Dover was beautiful. The suites were large and well done. Elegant without being pretentious and totally up to date. We loved the whirlpool and the steam shower. The Inn itself is magnificent and was a pleasure to just be there - even if it was to just enjoy doing nothing special. Having good shopping, dining, and entertainment within walking distance added to our stay. The complimentary breakfasts and restaurant were not to be missed. Most important, our hosts were all you'd hope hosts to be - warm, attentive, gracious, and responsive to our every need. We'll certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We received a warm welcome and a great introduction to our room. Ron and Shelby, the owners of the Inn, are great people who have a great deal of local knowledge and took the time to give us directions when needed and provide us with information and history on the area. Easton is very close to Annapolis and St. Michael's, great fishing spots both on and around the Chesepeake Bay, and an outlet mall for those who like shopping - so the Inn at 202 Dover is a great centre point. Our room was very tastefully decorated and very clean. Drinks and treats were always available to us on the same floor as our room. It had everything we needed or expected from a B&B. Dinner at the Peacock Restaurant within the Inn was delicious. We will definately come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-Monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The Inn at 202 Dover was more elegant than I expected. I accidentally and luckily found the Inn at 202 Dover online while looking at another Inn that was close by. I was very pleased by the pictures that are posted on the website; it is hard to believe the actual Inn was more beautiful in person. The service we received was unmatched by any place I have stayed before. My husband and I dined at the Peacock Restaurant and loved our meals and coming from my husband, the foodie, that is saying a lot! Breakfast the following morning was also just as scrumptious.

We stayed in the English suite which was very lovely, clean, and the bed was so comfortable. We also were lucky to get a tour of some of the other unoccupied rooms (we stayed on a Sunday night). One was more beautiful than the next. It will be a hard to decide what room we will stay in next. I guess that is more reason to come back at least a handful of times! We felt very relaxed during our stay and our looking forward to spending more time at the Inn in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCiotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We discovered the Inn at 202 Dover by accident. It was a Friday evening and we were looking to go someplace different to eat dinner. We ended up in Easton, MD about an hour drive from our house. We found this restaurant called the Peacock lounge on our I phone. We decided to check it out and we were very pleased we did. Dinner was absolutely delicious! A very relaxing dinner, wonderful atmosphere. The Peacock Lounge is located in the Inn at 202 Dover. After dinner, we spoke to the Inn keeper, Ron and decided to make a reservation to stay at the inn,for the first weekend they had available.

Our stay was sooooo relaxing. Our bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows and blankets. Our bathroom was great also, everything you would need down to lavender bath salts for the tub. Our bed was turned down and cookies left on the nightstand. We enjoyed our stay and definetely, enjoyed the Sunday brunch. Eggs benedict, outstanding. A great brunch menu complete with Bloody Marys, Mimosas, wine or your drink of choice. The sunday brunch also had a gentlman playing the piano, which added another nice touch. Ron and Shelby were very hospitable and were available to answer any questions. We can't wait to stay at the Inn at 202 Dover again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This charming B&B has everything going for it - and I mean EVERYTHING. It has fabulous food, an impressive wine list, gorgeous gardens, attentive staff, luxurious accommodations, and a terrific location for exploring Easton and its environs. Owners Ron and Shelby Mitchell offer the kind of gracious hospitality we find so lacking at most other hotels and inns. The only negative? We had to go home!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkfranklin6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
8.1 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
995 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#2 of 9 in Easton
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
431 reviews
8.0 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
14.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at 202 Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 202 Dover

Property: Inn at 202 Dover
Address: 202 E Dover St, Easton, MD 21601-3004
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at 202 Dover 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicated to providing personalized service found in a traditional Bed and Breakfast, The Inn at 202 Dover is a historic mansion built in 1874 and an integral part of the historic fabric of Easton, Maryland. Providing luxurious travel accommodations just a short block from downtown shopping, art galleries and theatre, the Inn has been referred to as Easton's "Inn of Distinction." There are many reasons for this, not the least of which is the grace and dominance of the building itself. Each of the five accommodations at our Maryland Historic Inn is unique. All of the guestrooms are furnished with a combination of antique and authentic antique reproduction furniture, gorgeous fabrics, European pillow top mattresses and luxurious linens. Everything has been done to provide you with a memorable experience. In restoring the Inn we have also included all modern conveniences including air jet tubs and steam showers. Cable TV, high-speed Internet access with wifi, and telephones are provided in each accommodation. Let us pamper you during your stay with services and amenities galore. When you enter your suite, you will find sherry awaiting you to take the edge off your day. Housekeeping is provided twice daily. Each evening, when you return to your room, you will find clean towels, your bed turned down, fruit, home baked cookies, and chocolates to help lull you to sleep. If you wish, visit the coffee room where you'll find a coffee maker (or tea), with soft drinks and ice in the fridge. You can always enjoy a bottle of wine, champagne or cocktail from our restaurant. And, we will provide room service during the hours our restaurant is open. Our on-location restaurant, the Peacock Restaurant & Lounge is Easton's latest culinary hotspot. With our renowned chef, we have created a menu that represents the best of what our country has to offer in classical and contemporary cuisine. Enjoy a truffle cheese board, grilled wild boar, elk, or fresh lobster complemented by a hand-made cocktail. Call us today for accommodation questions. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at 202 Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At 202 Dover Hotel Easton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing