We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodging”
Review of Inn at 202 Dover

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at 202 Dover
Ranked #2 of 5 Easton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The lodging was outstanding, as was the food. We primarily interacted with the host, Ron, who was a gentleman. He offered many helpful tips, and was very understanding and accommodating of my wife's significant dietary restrictions. He shared a great deal about the goings-on in the area as well as the history of the area. One of the employees at the Inn, Melissa, was simply delightful -- so very kind and gracious. She cared for our rooms and us. She even offered to press my wife's dress in advance of our dinner that evening.This is a B&B, so we had breakfast, which was delightful, and we also had dinner one night, at the Inn's Peacock restaurant, which was wonderful. Our server, Irina, was a sweetheart.

I saw one of the reviewers was not pleased -- look, this is by no means an inexpensive place to stay, but you do get what you pay for. The service, amenities, lodging, decor are all top notch. I should mention that we took advantage of some kind of package offered on the Internet -- I believe we stayed two nights for the price of one. Bottom Line: Staying here was a treat. These folks take care of you, and they have covered all the bases. Also, it is in a great location. We heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taxidevoume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife made the reservation for my birthday and it was an excellent present indeed. While the temperature outside was over 100 the entire weekend the inn owners, Ron and Shelby, did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as could be. We stayed in the Safari Suite and it was beautiful. Everything was top notch. The room was clean, large and comfortable and the Jacuzzi was a perfect way to unwind after a busy work week.

We ate dinner at the Inn on Friday night and everything was absolutely delicious and the wait staff was friendly and helpful. The filet of beef literally melted in my mouth. Ron cooked the breakfasts and they were probably the best omelette and stuffed french toast I ever had.

My wife and I look forward to visiting again when the temperature is more moderate so we can enjoy ourselves outside as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

In an area with many good but not exquisite restaurants this one fills the bill. Medium portions of exquisitely prepared and constructed food in a beautifully remodeled small Inn. Husband and wife proprietors on site to make sure all stays well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank sunsfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I had the first part of our honeymoon stay at the Inn at 202 Dover. We arrived late after the wedding and the drive, but were politely accomodated. We stayed in the Safari room with its wonderful high quality furniture and uniquely themed artwork. The room has high ceilings in the sitting room and was spacious. We enjoyed the orange marmalade french toast croissants for the first morning breakfast and the poached eggs on the second day. The lamb dinner was very good. The cholocate chip cookies, romantic books and rose petals sent to our room were nice finishing touches. We felt very at home by our hosts and appreciate their kindness and professionalism. We look forward to returning to the Inn to celebrate our first anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I received a gift certificate for bedandbreakfast.com, and were trying to find a chance to use it. We needed to go to a wedding in Oxford and found the Inn at 202 Dover, which was across the street. They accepted our gidt certificate. Perfect!

We arrived a bit late and were rushing to get ready. The innkeeper quickly checked us in and offered to help us prepare. She even had someone take care of my husband's accidentally wrinkled shirt.

We stayed in the Victorian room which was on the small side for the price, and it smelled like smoke. However, it was well decorated and lovely. The bathroom had a huge whirlpool tub and a rainfall shower.

Breakfast was good and they were patient with us even though we were late risers.

It was a good trip and we would like to return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Inn at 202 Dover is a magnificently restored Victorian masterpiece! My husband and I have stayed in many inns, but none were as warmly elegant and inviting as this “bejeweled oasis” just steps away from art galleries, antique shops, and live theater. When we weren’t perusing the amenities of the Chesapeake region, it was heavenly just to sink ourselves into the luxurious surroundings with a good book. Ron and Shelby were the perfect hosts, welcoming and knowledgeable, always making us feel comfortable and special. Ron’s gourmet breakfasts were sumptuous yet light and refreshing. Our dinner at the Peacock Restaurant and Lounge was one of the best we have had anywhere. Like the Inn itself, the meal was beautifully presented and delicious. We are still talking about our wonderful three-day stay and trying to plan when we can go back again.

Room Tip: The Inn has four suites and one bedroom. We stayed in the Victorian Room which was meticulously deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mollymature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I've read reviews that called the inn "the Buckingham Palace of Inns". Well I have never stayed at Buckingham Palace but it could not possibly be this nice. What a beautiful place, the decor of the entire inn has such a personal touch. We stayed in the Safari Suite and absolutely loved it. The suite was quite large, extremely well maintained and the bed was a dream to sleep in. Innkeepers Ron and Shelby made us feel like family. We enjoyed meeting both of them and sharing stories. We loved Ron's breakfast and were never disappointed. Did a vodka tasting and Ron was a fantastic teacher. Ron and Shelby were very informative about local history and things to do. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joemash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
8.1 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
7.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
504 reviews
8.2 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Bartlett Pear Inn
Bartlett Pear Inn
#1 of 5 in Easton
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at 202 Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at 202 Dover

Address: 202 E Dover St, Easton, MD 21601-3004
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Easton
Price Range: $274 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at 202 Dover 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicated to providing personalized service found in a traditional Bed and Breakfast, The Inn at 202 Dover is a historic mansion built in 1874 and an integral part of the historic fabric of Easton, Maryland. Providing luxurious travel accommodations just a short block from downtown shopping, art galleries and theatre, the Inn has been referred to as Easton's "Inn of Distinction." There are many reasons for this, not the least of which is the grace and dominance of the building itself. Each of the five accommodations at our Maryland Historic Inn is unique. All of the guestrooms are furnished with a combination of antique and authentic antique reproduction furniture, gorgeous fabrics, European pillow top mattresses and luxurious linens. Everything has been done to provide you with a memorable experience. In restoring the Inn we have also included all modern conveniences including air jet tubs and steam showers. Cable TV, high-speed Internet access with wifi, and telephones are provided in each accommodation. Let us pamper you during your stay with services and amenities galore. When you enter your suite, you will find sherry awaiting you to take the edge off your day. Housekeeping is provided twice daily. Each evening, when you return to your room, you will find clean towels, your bed turned down, fruit, home baked cookies, and chocolates to help lull you to sleep. If you wish, visit the coffee room where you'll find a coffee maker (or tea), with soft drinks and ice in the fridge. You can always enjoy a bottle of wine, champagne or cocktail from our restaurant. And, we will provide room service during the hours our restaurant is open. Our on-location restaurant, the Peacock Restaurant & Lounge is Easton's latest culinary hotspot. With our renowned chef, we have created a menu that represents the best of what our country has to offer in classical and contemporary cuisine. Enjoy a truffle cheese board, grilled wild boar, elk, or fresh lobster complemented by a hand-made cocktail. Call us today for accommodation questions. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn at 202 Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At 202 Dover Hotel Easton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing