We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmm... Beer”

Ruddy Duck Brewery & Grill
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Dowell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $40
Cuisines: American, Argentinean, Pizza, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Ruddy Duck is a vibrant space that pairs artisan crafted food and beer delivered with passion
Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mmmmm... Beer”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Ruddy Duck is a micro brewery with lots of tasty beers as well imports and other brands. The food is very good-your typical sammiches/burgers/salads. All are always very fresh and nicely presented. Definitely a fun place to stop for a beer & a bite!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Twinkles18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    109
    37
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasentness.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

When I booked my room at the adjacent Hilton Garden Inn for a weekend workshop, I had no idea that this restaurant was right across the parking lot. having spent a good deal of my life in the food and beverage business, let me tell you this place does it right. Great layout with an open kitchen,nice selection on the menu and very good service. As I have seen others here say, the place does get extremely busy(at least the 2 nights I was there) but I did not see and "Attitude" with the staff and I know from experience, that busy night are not always conducive to pleasant staff. I did have an opportunity to talk with the owner,whose name I think was Carlos, and told him that I thought he had a great operation. Don't let negative reviews keep you away from this place if you are in the area. My wife and I are planning a weekend trip this summer, so she can enjoy the Ruddy Duck also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lefatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Over Priced SUB-PAR food with a SERVICE ATTITUDE!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

6 of us had dinner there just before Christmas. Place was busy so we knew we would wait for service. Upon arrival of your waiter it was clear he had an "ATTITUDE". Rather than greet us he immediately told us how busy he was. ( A smart person would have been happy with that). We ordered drinks which took about 15 minutes. Food took about 30 minutes (expected, after all they were busy.) Food was fair at best and NOT CHEAP. $12.00 for a burger and 13.00 for a mini-pizza. Pizza sauce was not homemade (definitely from a can). Micro Beer was NOT GOOD. FLAT. We ate didn't complain got our bill for Mr. Grumpy, paid, didn't complain and left. Second but LAST time going there. To many other places close by with much better menu/service/pricing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deliman1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice time, decent beer”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Decent brewpub, good value and service. I have had/made better beer, but certainly better than the macro stuff at sports bars or anywhere else in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“local favorite”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

we live nearby and eat here regularly. the pizza is excellent, the crabcakes are rated at the top of the list locally. Beers are top notch and service is great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jadedtravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruddy Duck Brewery & Grill also viewed

 
Solomons, Calvert County
Solomons, Calvert County
 

Been to Ruddy Duck Brewery & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing