We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jewel Nearby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comus Inn at Sugarloaf

Comus Inn at Sugarloaf
Reserve with OpenTable
Comus Inn at Sugarloaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dickerson
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jewel Nearby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

How many restaurants in the DC area have a beautiful setting? Very few! And the Comus Inn has one of the best. My wife and I live in the Gaithersburg area. Going out typically involves traffic and the noise of the big city. But the drive out to the Comus Inn is relaxing and the destination is delightful. The service is excellent and the food is very good. Though some entres are a bit pricy, others are quite moderate. If you stick with the moderately priced dishes, the value is certainly above average.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    14
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wash dc
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This may be the first restaurant that I have rated as a "5" Its a fairly long drive from Bethesda. Traffic on 270 was creeping but the trip was worth the effort. We made reservations which were not needed mid-week. Staff was most friendly. The menu was varied, Service was friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Food was absolutely delicious. Noise level was low. All this plus the Sugarloaf profile and setting sun contributed a perfect outing to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a view. Enjoyed our lunch there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Really a nice place off the beaten path in a gorgeous area of Maryland. Have been there on a few Saturdays for lunch, most recently March 2012 on an exceptionally nice day. The folks are friendly, service excellent. Menu was, however, limited, although we had no complaints about the food. And don't miss the French onion soup - it was truly the highlight. We split a creme brulee for dessert, and while tasty, it was right out of the fridge. All in all, we'll be back, especially for that French onion soup.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank faygokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting - Disappointing Dining”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Beautiful setting and wonderful renovations. Unfortunely, the wines were extremely overpriced and the food was mediocre to poorly cooked (e.g., wrong spices for certain dishes; overcooked meats). Also, the service was slow and poor. Do not expect to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Doronova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Sunday brunch in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

After our group of 8 finished a morning hike on Sugarloaf Mountain we met here for brunch. It couldn't have been more perfect. From the maitre'd to our servers, everyone was warm, friendly but always professional. We sat on the porch looking out toward the mountain on a beautiful afternoon. The table was set with crisp linen and the silverware and glasses were spotless and perfectly placed. The food also was delicious. First, warm bisquits and blueberry muffins with soft honey butter -- enough for two for each of us (and then more were brought). Brunch was a good selection of different choices. I had the eggs Benedict -- thick Canadian ham and full size English muffins and eggs.
The shrimp, andouille sausage and grits seemed to have been a hit -- the first meal finished (and I caught my friend taking a final lick with his finger). Fried chicken was crisp with no sign of grease and mac/cheese was generous. Salmon salad looked good. Water glasses continually filled and mimosas were generous with the champagne. I'd highly recommend the drive in the country for a delightful meal at a very affordable price.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comus Inn at Sugarloaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing