We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Delmar
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was one of the best hotel stays I've had in a long time. The hotel exceeded my expectations and the staff was great. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmore134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annewwebster, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Bmore134,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Delmar, MD. Next time you come to the area, check out the specials that we offer on our website. We offer packages for mulitple night stays and dining discounts. Don't forget about the Priority Club rewards program. You have an opportunity to earn points with each stay. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    36
    12
    29
See reviews for
51
35
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

There is not much to chose from in the Laurel, DE area so I went down to Delmar. Over $300 for a 2 night stay? It's just a bed for cripes sake! The staff was nice the room itself was clean and came with the standard issue air conditioner that was constantly on.

On a gross note, I checked in on a Sat night. After using the little gym for a bit, I went to use the bathroom there by the pool. I've seen cleaner truck stop bathrooms. Monday, I went in after using the gym and it was still the same issue and stunk even worse.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annewwebster, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Smurf52,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Delmar, MD. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. However, I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations with the public restoom. I can assure you that this has been addressed with our team. Our goal is for our guests to enjoy a clean and comfortable stay. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed one night on business. No issues with the hotel. Rooms were nice and clean. I'd recommend this to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THUNDARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annewwebster, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Thundarr,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Delmar, MD. We appreciate your kind words about your stay. We hope to see you when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here at the end of June and it was just perfect. The rooms are very large and spotless. The bathroom has plenty of space with great water pressure. The linens are thick and clean. The beds are comfortable and there are two firm and two soft pillows on each bed. The cable selection was terrific. Breakfast was great with waffles, sausage, bagels, cereal, fresh fruit, etc. The location is on a main highway but the hotel sits back and you don't even hear the traffic. We were in Salisbury to go to the zoo and attend a minor league game and the hotel is convenient to both. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autismadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annewwebster, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear AutismAdvocate,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. I agree that the pillows are very comfortable. It is nice to have the option of a firm or soft pillow(s). It definitely makes sleeping away from home so much easier. Please let us know if you are in need of any future accommodations. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjohnstone
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Holiday Inn Express is usually a safe choice....I had a miserable few hours at this Delmar MD HIE. The lady at check in ignored me for over 5 minutes on arrival. Evidently sending a fax was more important than checking in a customer. I found her reception rude. The room was noisy with a cheap fridge cycling on and off. The bed felt cheap and has some sort of noisy moisture cover below the sheets. After only 3 hours intermittent sleep I was woken up by a persistent itchiness all over and some small bug bites. I complained to the front desk to no avail and checked out at 2am and simply hit the road. It took me most of the next day to get the manager on the phone. She claims to have had the room and bed inspected and has given it a clean bill of health. My bug bites suggest otherwise. The manager was focused on her no-refund policy and clearly did not care about her guests. I would suggest travelers avoid this HIE. The attitude there is terrible and it is no fun to wake up with bug bites.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annewwebster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Mr PeterJohnstone:

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Delmar, MD. I appreciated you speaking with me about your concerns on the phone the day you checked out. I apologze for the inconviences you had during check-in and have shared your concerns with the front desk staff. One of our many amenities are business services such as making copies and sending faxes. However, we try to assist every guest in a timely manner. Our hotel takes pride in the Holiday Inn Express & Suites name. When a guest makes a claim of a problem, we act immediately to ensure that there is not a larger problem at hand and then contact the guest of the fact findings. Due to the seriousness of your claim, we had to inquire with an outside party to do a thorough investigation. Upon their investigation they found that there was not any evidence of bugs in the room. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Delmar, MD

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Delmar hotels

Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night and chose this hotel. Check-in was quick, staff was pleasant and our room was on the 1st floor.
Room was clean..there was a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. Nice flat screen tv with lots of channels. Bathroom was clean and water pressure was good in the shower.
Bed was a little hard...could have used a little padding.
Free breakfast was good...good choices (even a pancake maker!) and had enough seating in the breakfast room.
I did think the room rate was a little high for this location (128. w/taxes it was 143)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annewwebster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear IamNancy,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Delmar, MD. I too love the pancake machine. It makes the pancakes to order so they are fresh 100% of the time. I hope that you will be able to return when we have other events in the area such as the Autumn Wine Festival or Pork in the Park. You will be able to experience the wonderful hospitality in Wicomico County.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

In all fairness, we were there for a birthday party and only spent a maximum of 13 hours (most of them sleeping) but we were unimpressed. This is a fairly new hotel and as such I expected it to be better kept.
The service was just ok, the property was fairly clean but needs some TLC. The elevator doors were dirty and sticky, there was chipped plaster on the outside of the third floor elevator, the laundry room only had a drier and where the washer should have been was a tangle of wires (how safe is that for little ones?). The breakfast was average (the only fruit was unripened bananas) altho the server was very pleasant.
There was no one at the counter when we checked out - there was someone standing in the hallway eating who looked like he may have been the a hotel employee, but he ignored us so we left our keys on the desk.

The worst part of this hotel was the UGLY chartreuse/green walls in the hall of the first floor and in the bedrooms on the third floor. This green blended with absolutely nothing - way too bright for a bedroom and honestly I have never seen such an ugly color in a hotel.

If you need a place to sleep for the night it will do just fine, but just don't expect anything more than average.

Room Tip: The third floor was quiet for the most part as long as you don't hate the worlds ugliest green w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Phillybella,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations and service received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delmar
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salisbury
Hampton Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
753 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#1 of 14 in Salisbury
433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Salisbury
Courtyard Salisbury
#4 of 14 in Salisbury
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury
3.9 mi away
Best Western Salisbury Plaza
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar

Property: Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar
Address: 30232 Lighthouse Dr, Delmar, MD 21875-2484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Delmar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Delmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Salisbury-Delmar, MD. Located on Rt 13. Business, you will find this location to fit both Leisure and Business needs. Our property has amenities that are sure to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. We offer each of our guests complimentary HSIA, Fitness center, 24-hour coffee, seasonal outdoor pool and great service. All rooms are 100% non-smoking and feature a microwave and fridge. You will find that our location is convenient to all Salisbury, MD attractions; 3 mi. Henry S. Parker Sports Complex, 6.5 mi from Salisbury University, 7 mi. Arthur W. Perdue Shorebirds Stadium, 6 mi. Perdue Corporate Headquarters, 35 mi. Ocean City, MD., 6 mi. Wicomico Youth & Civic Center, 1.5 mi to the Old Mill Crab House and 4 mi from the RT 13 Dragway in Laurel, DE. When staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salisbury-Delmar are sure to have fun and relax while visiting the Salisbury, MD area. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salisbury-Delmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Salisbur - Delmar Hotel Delmar
Holiday Inn Express Delmar
Holiday Inn Delmar
Delmar Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing