We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuesday Night Crabs”

Skippers Pier Restaurant & Dock Bar
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Deale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Owings, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Tuesday Night Crabs”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Was a little worried after reading some of the recent reviews since the new owner’s took over, but had a great meal on Tuesday night for $2 crabs and $2 beers. Went early (4PM), had no wait and had a good table on the dock with no wait. The Crabs were all great, Med to Large Males with plenty of meat and a great taste. Had the fried shrimp platter, which was also very good. Service was fast, wait time was short, overall a very good meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    65
    33
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lothian, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New ownership a disaster”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Positives: location on water, great dock bar/bartenders.

Negatives: service, the waitress was inexperienced and looked lost, I hope it was her first week. Inside bartender was rude, I only ordered a bud lt bottle...?
It was a weekend night, we came by boat, ordered crabs. They took 25 minutes to arrive (and the place wasn't all that busy). The problem was they were on the smaller side, and they were just warm. Not hot, warm. Like they were reheated, which is common practice and doesn't bother me, but at least get them hot! Others at the table had burgers, totally missed temperature (med rare) after strongly requesting they not come out overdone, rare would be fine..... So a manager comes over to ask about the meal, we mention we loved the place last summer and wanted to try it under new ownership, she is the owner. Young. She doesn't seem interested in fixing the issues, but defends the food. Claims the burgers are juicy, because that's medium rare?? Claims the crabs are normal for the area. Claims its getting late and the kitchen boys must be screwing off, and to try the restaurant in the week (all exact quotes). She has not ran a restaurant before, there's no way. Many local people are choosing not to go anymore, and I'm one of them now.

But hey, just one man's opinion. Actually many's opinion. Consider yourself warned. Cheers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkinsandOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
439 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Closed for renovation”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We drove there today and it's closed; it looks like they are adding a building. There were construction workers and plywood everywhere. Decent location, but the surroundings aren't lovely. Maybe we'll go back but this looks like the only thing to do in this very local town.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GypsyTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deale, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our neighborhood dock bar!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great dock bar, great food, and live music on Saturday and Sunday afternoons! Come by car or by boat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca61166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
331 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A vacation in a meal”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great location, menu, service, draft beer, etc.

Park in the overflow parking and enjoy the walk to the restaurant and save yourself a hassle.

The softshell crabs were a disappointment, but the other items made up for them.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skippers Pier Restaurant & Dock Bar also viewed

 
Chesapeake Beach, Calvert County
 

Been to Skippers Pier Restaurant & Dock Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing