We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Bruce House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumberland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruce House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Cumberland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Excellent in every way - large bedtoom and bathroom, all fresh and new and a nice breakfast at the time you want it. A large lounge area and internet access too. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Virginian18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
89
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2008

This is an excellent option for where to stay in Cumberland. Pam has put a tremendous amount of effort into making your stay at the Inn a memorable experience. The Inn is immaculately decorated, with incredible attention to detail. We very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — no fridge available
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TRSTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2008

I recently stayed at the The Bruce House Inn while on a business trip. It is an oasis in Cumberland. The house is elegant and comfortable. Everything is done with such taste. The bathrooms even have a towel warmer and are HUGE! The innkeeper, Pam, is very accomodating. Because we needed to leave at 7:30 each morning, she had a warm muffin and fruit in a paper bag for us to take along (she would have gladly made us her famous breakfasts had we asked!). Coffee was hot and delicious. Her recommendations for dinner were wonderful. Wine was served each evening--a treat after a long day of business-oriented activities.

I highly recommend the Bruce Inn for business or personal travel.

  • Liked — Elegance of the inn
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kazw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, MD
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We came across The Bruce House Inn on a last minute anniversary trip. We were going to stay at the Rocky Gap but decided to keep going and look in town were we could eat dinner and see a show. It is a delightful find. The owner/inn keeper is very nice. Beautifully decorated and the breakfast is awesome. Highly recommend a stay.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank MuckLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore of Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We went to Western Maryland to ride the WMSR steam train and bike the C&O Canal from Cumberland. We found the Bruce House Inn had just opened this year and looked very inviting. We stayed on the top floor in the Monk's Room, La Salle des Freres. Incredible bed and bedding. All natural fibers and comfy! The bathtub was very comfortable and a nice retreat. The innkeeper Pam, was a perfect mix of welcoming and independence. Plus she serves a three course delicious breakfast. Located conveniently in Cumberland, we were able to walk to dinner. I would recommend this B&B to just about anyone!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelmarvaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
0.5 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.5 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce House Inn

Property: Bruce House Inn
Address: 201 Fayette St, Cumberland, MD 21502-2832
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the romance of the past, with the conveniences of the present. The Bruce House is an 1840 Federal home located in the beautiful historic district. Beautifully furnished rooms all have private baths. Enjoy our famous gourmet breakfast, or savor a glass of wine by the fireplace. Free wi-fi, secure bike parking, walking distance to all major attractions. Find out why the New York Post called us 'a chic B&B that is a find!' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing