We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bruce House Inn, Cumberland, MD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruce House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumberland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruce House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Cumberland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Bruce House Inn, Cumberland, MD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed two days/nights at The Bruce House Inn, Cumberland, MD
The Inn is wonderful; clean as a whistle, attractively decorated top to bottom and the two breakfasts were wonderful. Pam Reynolds, Owner and Hostess was charming.
Wine and Cheese and biscotti in the dining area every day added to our experience of out-and-about (see and explore the bike trail, shopping and dining)...be sure to go to the Queenary Ice Crème Parlor...good lunch (I had the Reuben) and chocolate custard....yummy!
Only a 2 hour drive from Pgh, PA plan another visit soon and giving a wedding gift to a friend for a night in the Fall. All-in-all another memory made!

Room Tip: We chose the first floor room The Columbian Room and glad we did...easy in and out and no stairs for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliciaandjerry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I thought I had responded earlier to this lovely review...my apologies if it did not post! It was wonderful to meet you and I feel like I have made new friends...the best part of an innkeeper's job. I am very much looking forward to your next visit, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
89
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in this lovely B&B in the neat little community of Cumberland, Maryland. We stayed in the La Salle Des Freres room which is on the top floor. We found Pam, the Innkeeper, to be friendly and engaging and we enjoyed a nice conversation with her over a glass of wine.(she provided the wine) We had a quiet comfortable night of sleep and Pam fixed us a delicious and filling breakfast. The location of the home is very convenient at the top of a hill on a corner lot. We had no trouble parking. We felt the room rates were reasonable and it was a very good value. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We do have a lovely little town here. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very lovely home with exceptional service. Pam is an excellent host who does a great job. We stayed for a long weekend and found the location to be a great home base to explore from. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts were delicious and artistic. It's a beautiful neighborhood to walk and explore galleries and historic sites. Cumberland is very friendly with good restaurants and great outdoor areas as well as a quaint downtown (restored) district. Lots of interesting architecture. I arrived by Amtrak from DC which is a great way to travel. Highly recommend the Bruce House Inn and Cumberland for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor if you want to be in a quieter part of the home. Choose the first floor for co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WmWoods1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you here and I hope you have great memories of your visit to Cumberland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We traveled to Cumberland to enjoy the accessible bike trails, but the highlight was our B&B - Pam, the owner and host, does a great job. Her breakfasts were not only delicious but artistic in presentation. She had a "happy hour" which was definitely an added bonus and added to our relaxation after our busy days. The room was comfortable and clean. We would like to stay again and enjoy hiking in the nearby state parks. The beauty of the blossoming trees all over town was breathtaking as well.

Room Tip: Our first floor room had a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue16037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks Sue! It was a fun visit and we really missed you when you left. It's so pleasant when our guests strike up friendships with each other. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I, our two children (aged 7 and 10) and my MIL, stopped overnight in Cumberland MD during a recent trip and stayed at the Bruce House Inn. My only complaint is that we needed to leave early the next morning to continue our trip and therefore did not get enough time to enjoy this beautiful inn. From the moment we arrived Pam was welcoming and thoughtful. The rooms were beautiful, with a great view from our window. The breakfast was delicious and she was kind enough to vary the meal to accommodate our kids requirements. I would recommend this inn to any people looking for a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntheaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for the lovely feedback! I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay, and hope your mother-in-law enjoyed her first trip to the states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We loved this inn!!! I want to come back!!! The inn is a lovely old building from 1840 built on the top of a hill in the town of Cumberland. It is beautifully decorated throughout. I loved the high ceilings and long winding staircases. I like to think about the people who lived here in earlier decades and what life was like back then. Our room was the "Crow's Nest" on the third floor. It had very comfortable beds and a wonderful bathroom with a claw-legged tub. Pam, the owner, graciously allowed us to check in early and gave us advice on places to eat in the area. She also cooked us a wonderful breakfast with muffins, waffles, and fruit (we are vegetarians so we don't eat meat). We loved listening to records with music from the 30s and 40s in the breakfast room. There is a nice fireplace there too. The inn is in walking distance to many attractions in town; particularly to the old Victorian mansions on Washington Street and the downtown mall area. We recommend this inn to anyone who comes to Cumberland! You will love this place!

Room Tip: It was nice to have the option of twin beds since I was traveling with my mother and we sleep better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IkeEtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I'm so glad you and your mom enjoyed your visit. It was a pleasure to have you as guests, and I too like to think of those who passed through here over the centuries and how they lived!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Bruce House was a great place to stay. We went with 2 other couples and all of us loved our accomodations. The Monk's room was beautiful with views of the city lights at night. Pam the Innkeeper was great and helped us find things to do and attractions to see. We will definately return when the railroad is open again in the spring. We would highly recommend going to Cumberland and enjoying the history there, and the great restaurants. If you go, stay at the Bruce House! You will love it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Judy, sorry it's taken me so long to thank you for your comments...as you know we headed off to South Korea shortly after your visit and came back with a gold medal in the giant downhill slalom! Big celebration here in Cumberland! Your group was so much fun. Thanks for choosing the Bruce House and we hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
0.5 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce House Inn

Property: Bruce House Inn
Address: 201 Fayette St, Cumberland, MD 21502-2832
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the romance of the past, with the conveniences of the present. The Bruce House is an 1840 Federal home located in the beautiful historic district. Beautifully furnished rooms all have private baths. Enjoy our famous gourmet breakfast, or savor a glass of wine by the fireplace. Free wi-fi, secure bike parking, walking distance to all major attractions. Find out why the New York Post called us 'a chic B&B that is a find!' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing