We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Even Lance Legweak can ride

My wife and I first rode to this trail from Michigan. We started in Pittsburgh, and went east... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Gary F
,
Bay City, Michigan
The Best Long Distance Bicycle Path in the Nation

WE took 4 days riding from Cumberland to Pittsburgh. The trail was in great shape, the people we... read more

Reviewed October 27, 2018
nwelch54
Read all 216 reviews
  
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
192
22
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
22
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eastern continental divide big savage tunnel the gap crushed limestone mason dixon line three days rail trail west newton nice trail b bs beautiful scenery washington dc great ride the levi deal mansion small towns along the way in great condition falling water
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 216 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2018

The surface is good hardback dirt and there are increasing number of facilities and bike shop along the route. Make sure to manage your water usage to have enough and be prepared for 10-12 mph speeds from Pittsburgh to the Eastern Divide due to the constant rise.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank MikeBarry657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P, Manager at Great Allegheny Passage, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Thanks for the review, Mike. Hope you had a good journey. The rise from Pittsburgh to the Eastern Continental Divide averages 0.25%, so while nearly imperceptible, you will be pedaling, not coasting, for sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

Train is in good condition. However, the trip we took was through a woods, very little as far as dramatic views. Lumbered along slowly and we were so bored looking at the green woods flashing by. Saw a squirrel, dramatic views are non existent. We were so happy to get off and go into town.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P, Manager at Great Allegheny Passage, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Sorry you were bored, Joseph! There are great views hundreds of feet over the Youghiogheny River in Ohiopyle, over the Casselman River from the Salisbury Viaduct, and into four states outside the Big Savage overlook. In Pittsburgh, you can take in the cityscape from the Hot Metal Bridge, or spy on the coasters outside Kennywood. Those are just a few of the places where you're out of the woods. Plus, the GAP features four tunnels where you can't see any trees at all. Hope you'll come back for another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

A friend and I did the Great Allegheny Passage in 4 days, starting Monday, October 16, 2017.

The trail is extremely well maintained. We chose to break up the trip as recommended in the guide book: Day 1: start in Pittsburgh end in West Newton, Day 2: start in West Newton and end the day in Ohiopyle, Day 3: start in Ohiopyle and end in Myersdale, Day 4: start in Meyersdale and end in Cumberland, MD. Going from Pittsburgh to Cumberland is a slight up-hill ride for about 125 miles, you enjoy a glorious ~25 mile down hill to Cumberland on your last day.

A little bit about us: we were a 41 year old 5'4" 220 lb woman who works out 4-5 days a week (running, spinning & personal trainer with weekends hiking & biking) and a 66 year old 5'6" 120 lb woman who spends April - October hiking (this year did the 3 days hiking AMC lodges, did Presidential Traverse in White Mts along AT, and several days in the Dolomites)... we are active and enjoyed the trip. Day 3 was the hardest; it's the third day going up hill AND it's the steepest portion. Both of us trained for the trip and we were glad we did. We did not use a shuttle service for our belongings, we had panniers with our clothes & snacks. The 41 year old's panniers weighed in at about 30 pounds (bigger person with same amount of clothes, more fabric = more weight) & the 66 year old's weighed in at about 25 pounds. The 41 year old had a 2017 FX 3 Trek and the 66 year old had a 1989 mountain bike, which was HEAVY.

Weather in October was perfect, we had no rain. We wore layers: Pearl Izumi sleeves & leg warmers were perfect to easily remove after the morning chill.

I reviewed each place we stayed and ate separately.

Train for it & just do it.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank HappyHikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P, Manager at Great Allegheny Passage, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Way to go, and thanks for the trip report! We're glad you enjoyed your thru-ride on the Great Allegheny Passage! Especially on that 1989 MTB! Hope you'll come back for another spin this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

We recently finished a 5 day ride on the trail from Pittsburgh to Cumberland. We traveled from Oregon to experience the GAP. What an incredible adventure. The trail surface is an easy one to ride an is perfect for a hybrid or touring bike. We were impressed by how clean the trail was. We saw, and disposed of, 3 pieces of trash in the entire 150 miles. We appreciated the local riders who took the time to stop and offer recommendations and trail history. I am very impressed by the volunteer network in place for trail maintenance. This truly is a unique experience. Where else can you ride through a 3/4 mile long tunnel, cross a viaduct 100 feet off the ground, and cross the Mason-Dixon line (history lesson included). Did I mention the rivers, the waterfalls, the birds, the rabbits, the deer. My hat is off to all who worked so hard to make this trail happen and to those who continue to work to maintain and promote it. Thank you.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P, Manager at Great Allegheny Passage, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you, Donna, for your kind words and trip report! We're delighted that you enjoyed your thru-ride, and I'll share your kudos to our volunteer trail groups who work hard to maintain the GAP. Any suggestions for other prospective riders?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

This is our favorite bike trail! My husband and I have biked almost every section of this trail. We are extremely lucky that we live close and have access to many of the trailheads. The trail surface is composed of crushed limestone, which is usually smooth and enjoyable to ride on. We love the peacefulness of the trail and stop frequently to take pictures of wildlife and the beautiful scenery. While biking we get to spend time together, while improving our physical fitness. We have seen Bald eagles soaring above and love counting the trains that still travel the tracks along the Yough and Cassleman rivers.
Over the last 7 years, we have seen changes along the trail (Opening of the Pinkerton tunnel, new monuments at the Mason-Dixon Line, and new mile markers along the trail). We always pack lunch and like to stop along the way at a nearby ice cream stand for a treat. We have heard that there is now an outfitter offering shuttle service near Cumberland. I'd like to try them out, since we always have to save up enough energy for the return trip back to the car. We have only one more sections to ride (McKeesport to Pittsburgh). Hopefully this will be the year we complete it!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Darcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P, General Manager at Great Allegheny Passage, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thanks, Darcy, for your review, and your description of riding the Great Allegheny Passage. The McKeesport to Pittsburgh section crosses four cool bridges and hugs the Monongahela River. The last bit within downtown Pittsburgh is on-road or on sidewalk; be careful and enjoy getting to the western terminus marker at Point State Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews