We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Mid-October Ride”

Great Allegheny Passage
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Great Allegheny Passage soars over valleys, snakes around mountains, and skirts alongside three rolling rivers on its nearly level path from Cumberland, Md. to Pittsburgh. Cyclists pass through the Cumberland Narrows, cross the Mason-Dixon Line, top the Eastern Continental Divide, wind their way through Pennsylvania’s breathtaking Laurel Highlands, journey through the region’s coke, coal, mining, and steel-making corridor, and end at Pittsburgh’s majestic Point State Park. Stunning views of waterfalls, gorges, river valleys, and farmland are everywhere, especially from outside the Big Savage Tunnel, from the sweeping Salisbury Viaduct, at both ends of the Pinkerton Tunnel, and via the Ohiopyle High and Low Bridges. Riders overlook the joining of rivers at Confluence, McKeesport, and Pittsburgh, and can explore adjoining peninsulas, state parks, hollows, wildflower stands, and forests on foot at many places along the trail.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

A friend and I did the Great Allegheny Passage in 4 days, starting Monday, October 16, 2017.

The trail is extremely well maintained. We chose to break up the trip as recommended in the guide book: Day 1: start in Pittsburgh end in West Newton, Day 2: start in West Newton and end the day in Ohiopyle, Day 3: start in Ohiopyle and end in Myersdale, Day 4: start in Meyersdale and end in Cumberland, MD. Going from Pittsburgh to Cumberland is a slight up-hill ride for about 125 miles, you enjoy a glorious ~25 mile down hill to Cumberland on your last day.

A little bit about us: we were a 41 year old 5'4" 220 lb woman who works out 4-5 days a week (running, spinning & personal trainer with weekends hiking & biking) and a 66 year old 5'6" 120 lb woman who spends April - October hiking (this year did the 3 days hiking AMC lodges, did Presidential Traverse in White Mts along AT, and several days in the Dolomites)... we are active and enjoyed the trip. Day 3 was the hardest; it's the third day going up hill AND it's the steepest portion. Both of us trained for the trip and we were glad we did. We did not use a shuttle service for our belongings, we had panniers with our clothes & snacks. The 41 year old's panniers weighed in at about 30 pounds (bigger person with same amount of clothes, more fabric = more weight) & the 66 year old's weighed in at about 25 pounds. The 41 year old had a 2017 FX 3 Trek and the 66 year old had a 1989 mountain bike, which was HEAVY.

Weather in October was perfect, we had no rain. We wore layers: Pearl Izumi sleeves & leg warmers were perfect to easily remove after the morning chill.

I reviewed each place we stayed and ate separately.

Train for it & just do it.

Thank HappyHikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P, Manager at Great Allegheny Passage, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Way to go, and thanks for the trip report! We're glad you enjoyed your thru-ride on the Great Allegheny Passage! Especially on that 1989 MTB! Hope you'll come back for another spin this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"eastern continental divide"
in 24 reviews
"big savage tunnel"
in 15 reviews
"the gap"
in 49 reviews
"crushed limestone"
in 10 reviews
"mason dixon line"
in 14 reviews
"rail trail"
in 8 reviews
"west newton"
in 8 reviews
"nice trail"
in 7 reviews
"b bs"
in 5 reviews
"washington dc"
in 9 reviews
"small towns along the way"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 12 reviews
"bike ride"
in 11 reviews
"great ride"
in 9 reviews
"point state park"
in 3 reviews
"great town"
in 3 reviews
"bright morning"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 207 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2018

We recently finished a 5 day ride on the trail from Pittsburgh to Cumberland. We traveled from Oregon to experience the GAP. What an incredible adventure. The trail surface is an easy one to ride an is perfect for a hybrid or touring bike. We were impressed by how clean the trail was. We saw, and disposed of, 3 pieces of trash in the entire 150 miles. We appreciated the local riders who took the time to stop and offer recommendations and trail history. I am very impressed by the volunteer network in place for trail maintenance. This truly is a unique experience. Where else can you ride through a 3/4 mile long tunnel, cross a viaduct 100 feet off the ground, and cross the Mason-Dixon line (history lesson included). Did I mention the rivers, the waterfalls, the birds, the rabbits, the deer. My hat is off to all who worked so hard to make this trail happen and to those who continue to work to maintain and promote it. Thank you.

Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P, Manager at Great Allegheny Passage, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you, Donna, for your kind words and trip report! We're delighted that you enjoyed your thru-ride, and I'll share your kudos to our volunteer trail groups who work hard to maintain the GAP. Any suggestions for other prospective riders?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

This is our favorite bike trail! My husband and I have biked almost every section of this trail. We are extremely lucky that we live close and have access to many of the trailheads. The trail surface is composed of crushed limestone, which is usually smooth and enjoyable to ride on. We love the peacefulness of the trail and stop frequently to take pictures of wildlife and the beautiful scenery. While biking we get to spend time together, while improving our physical fitness. We have seen Bald eagles soaring above and love counting the trains that still travel the tracks along the Yough and Cassleman rivers.
Over the last 7 years, we have seen changes along the trail (Opening of the Pinkerton tunnel, new monuments at the Mason-Dixon Line, and new mile markers along the trail). We always pack lunch and like to stop along the way at a nearby ice cream stand for a treat. We have heard that there is now an outfitter offering shuttle service near Cumberland. I'd like to try them out, since we always have to save up enough energy for the return trip back to the car. We have only one more sections to ride (McKeesport to Pittsburgh). Hopefully this will be the year we complete it!

Thank Darcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan P, General Manager at Great Allegheny Passage, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thanks, Darcy, for your review, and your description of riding the Great Allegheny Passage. The McKeesport to Pittsburgh section crosses four cool bridges and hugs the Monongahela River. The last bit within downtown Pittsburgh is on-road or on sidewalk; be careful and enjoy getting to the western terminus marker at Point State Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

We did the Frostburg to Cumberland part of the trail, riding back down from our train ride up. The trail is fantastic. They need some more signs in Frostburg for the trail and the mileage markers seem sparse and random at times, but it is great nonetheless. We had great views in early November. There is a great bike rental shop in Cumberland right off the trail.

2  Thank Kaitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Great scenic trail with a wonderfully maintained trail surface. Rode the full length both east and west. Both directions are great and have pros and cons. Westbound - you have a 24 mile climbing then a gentle descent for 126 miles. Eastbound - the opposite. Beautiful trail any time of the year but I did it in October in 2016 and 2017 and the colors were wonderful.

1  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Allegheny Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing