We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different to the norm”
Review of Warner's German Restaurant - CLOSED

Warner's German Restaurant
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Different to the norm”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was hoping that they would have more authentic German food on the menu and not the Americanized version of German food which is mostly what's on the menu. I asked the waitress if they sell eisbein as it wasn't on the menu and is a German dish. She had no clue what it was. We ordered the chicken schnitzel. I was disappointed with the dish. I have been making chicken schnitzel (from scratch) for years now and have mastered the art...I was expecting better from a German restaurant. I loved the kraut and our desert was also good. The decor was something unusual and most certainly different. I have been to Germany several times (and have German family members) and would not call the food at Warner's authentic German food but close enough with a few dishes left on the menu that resemble their German counter parts.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marge410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    8
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic German Food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have family in the area and every time I am in town, we eat there. It may not be as excellent as it was when Fred Warner ran the place years ago, but I was very pleased with the meal we had. If you like authentic german food, this is the place. The decor is very good, great atmosphere, and you do feel like you are in an old time german restaurant. They do have American food on the menu if someone in your party is not into the German food. The deserts are fantastic. Apple Strudel is very good. Pricing is very reasonable. Most meals are under $10. If you are looking for something different with great food and atomosphere, this is the place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine German restaurant”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent German cuisine along with some American favorites. Should have reservations!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spa-Enthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I recently celebrated our 26th Anniversary. We decided to try Warner's for the first time. The food was outstanding. My husband had a perfect steak and I had the Prague stuffed chicken. Everything was wonderful, especially the beesting cake. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service is hit or miss”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've only eaten at Warners at lunch time and I've eaten there about 5 times. The portions are large, the food is good and the lunch time prices are reasonable. My husband and I typically split a sandwich and a side. My only complaint is that service is hit or miss.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warner's German Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing