We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for winter traveling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for winter traveling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I like to visit Cumberland a couple times a year to get out of the metropolitan area for a weekend. Usually we enjoy camping, but in the winter Fairfield Inn is my go-to. My friends and I are railfans and this is the perfect place to watch trains pulling in and out of the station. The indoor pool and hottub are great for unwinding and we enjoy walking to a few of the resturants and bars, just next door. The staff is very friendly and experienced, which is a standard for Marriot run properties, as is the comfortable lobby and complimentary continental breakfast. For these reasons, if we're not camping, the Fairfield Inn is the only place I'll stay in Cumberland.

Room Tip: We like the 3rd and 4th floors, because they have the best view. Ask for a room facing the train tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
SeanDonovan,
We appreciate you selecting Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland as your go-to hotel in the area. We're glad our friendly service and value added amenities are perfectly suited for your winter weekend getaways. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your continued patronage.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    159
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
121
137
33
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saxonburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location was great with restaurants and shops within walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable. The general temperature in the hotel halls/dining area/exercise facility was so HOT. 80 degrees at breakfast. We considered going back to our room or outside to eat our meal. This was most likely an isolated incident but whatever caused it made our stay uncomfortable. Also, we read previous reviews regarding the pool being dirty. Surely it would not still be a problem. It was still a problem with clumps of hair floating on the surface of the water and the bottom of the pool visibly dirty. You could see where someone had walked on the pool floor. Our cleanliness rating of 2 has nothing to do with the room.
We may return because of the location next to the bike trail but we really hope someone takes the pool issue seriously. It is a big turn-off.

Room Tip: Read other reviews suggesting "odd" numbered rooms which are on the back side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
S B,
We appreciate you writing and bringing these concerns to our attention. I'm sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. I sincerely apologize for any discomfort and inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve with family as we celebrated at the nearby Rocky Gap Casino (about 10 mins. away). The hotel was easy to find, thanks to the signs from the highway to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and even with a large crowd, the breakfast staff kept the food well stocked. The only negative we saw was that the room was a little dusty, but overall this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtwned24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
jtwned24,
We're happy to have been a part of your New Year's Eve celebrations, and thank you for choosing Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. It's fantastic to hear that our friendly staff and complimentary breakfast made for an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stay at this property for business when I am in the area. It is a new property. It is modern and clean. Good breakfast in the am. Friendly and accommodating staff. I have yet to be disappointed. I always feel safe. The staff make me feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AugusteTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
AugusteTravel,
Thank you for choosing Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland while traveling on business. We appreciate you writing a review and sharing feedback on our friendly staff and clean accommodations. We're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were only in Cumberland for a night on our way to Fallingwater. The Fairfield was conveniently located just off the highway, and walking distance to the shops and restaurants. We were able to enjoy a walk to dinner along the Christmas lit pedestrian walkway. It was beautiful. The Fairfield met all my expectations. Breakfast included lots of choice and the food was good. The seating area was quite crowded, however we went to breakfast at a peak time. The front desk staff was helpful with dinner recommendations and directions. There were no issues with the room, but unfortunately there was a baby in the room next door who woke up at 3:30am and we could hear her through the walls. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wloo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
wloo11,
Thank you for writing a review from your visit to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. It's great to hear our location, amenities, and service all met your expectations. I apologize for the noise disturbances you encountered during your visit. We're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time staying there. I could not imagine staying anywhere else. I stayed at what was the Holiday inn I guess now is Ramada. Can I say unclean, not friendly.... The free breakfast was good too.
Thanks again for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meanita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
meanita55,
Thank you for your review and return visit with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. We're glad you enjoyed another pleasant stay, as well as our complimentary breakfast selection. Please continue to make us your number one choice hotel in Cumberland. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I was on my way to Cincinnati and got stranded in a snowstorm in Cumberland, Maryland. I was looking for a Holiday Inn but found the Fairfield Inn and Suites first. I walked in without a reservation and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the rate. I know Marriott runs a great chain but was worried about the cost. The rooms are immaculate. Modern and well laid out. The hallways and lobby are spotless. The property is located off the highway and is quiet. The fitness room is small but is well equipped and well maintained. Treadmills with built in televisions, free weights, towels, and cold water. The pool and whirlpool looked clean and well maintained. The front office staff kept us up to date on road conditions. Breakfast is included and is amazing. Eggs, sausage, oatmeal, yogurt, waffles, cereal, and juices. It was delicious, clean, and well maintained. The breakfast eating area had a gas fireplace which was really nice. Was impressed by the friendly staff, the hotel, and was pleased with the rate. I highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: A great hotel for business and pleasure. A very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Stewart703,
Thank you for your review and high recommendations of Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. We're pleased to hear that our friendly staff, clean accommodations, and value added amenities exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while waiting on the snow storm to pass, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Please plan to visit us the next time you travel through the area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland
0.3 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Address: 21 North Wineow Street, Cumberland, MD 21502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland Hotel Cumberland
Fairfield Inn And Suites Cumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing