We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Train fun & more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
West Deptford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Train fun & more!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights on a trip through from GA. Route to Hotel was a bit hairy at night. Several miles of dark, back roads. Hotel worth it. We were able to park and walk our entire stay. The train excursion was awesome. Be sure to reserve tickets. It is a popular day trip. The fall foliage was beautiful. If you take the trip be sure to sit on the right side of the train to get the best views. You can take your bike on the train and ride it on the return trip, which is down hill. The hotel is bike friendly with a bike wash. Also, not far from the hotel you can rent bikes. The hotel offers a well-stocked breakfast. We were with the later crowd each morning and still was able to enjoy a good breakfast. Be sure to visit the Crabby Pig for a drink and a bite to eat. Leave room for dessert. You can get delicious items and interesting conversation at European Desserts. If time, do not forget a visit to Col. George Washington's Headquarters.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaineWestDeptford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
RaineWestDeptford,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland experience. We're happy to have been a part of trip, and we're glad our great location offered many conveniences and options for your travels. It's wonderful to hear you had an opportunity to explore the area, and we hope you'll return to reacquaint yourself even more with all that Cumberland has to offer. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    169
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
127
141
35
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights while exploring the Great Allegheny passage and the C and O trail. Despite the rainy weather we enjoyed our stay and made use of the bike hose down area and the on site laundry. My only suggestion is to prove the breakfast by offering some whole grain bread and yogurt without aspartame

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Trish M,
Thank you for writing a review and for choosing Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland while exploring the Great Allegheny passage and C&O trail. We're sorry to hear the weather didn't cooperate, but we're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise. We appreciate your feedback on areas of improvement as guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon and experience Cumberland in the sunshine. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Th Fairfield Inn is a newer property, therefore is very clean. It has a typical layout and better-than usual continental breakfast. It is a bit difficult to approach from the street. It is within walking distance of a new outlet mall and the remodeled train station. Many bicyclists using nearby trails seem to frequent this Inn.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lizingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Lizingrid,
We're happy to hear from you, and we appreciate you writing a review. We're glad your found Fairfield Inn & Suites to be the best hotel in Cumberland with our great location, clean accommodations, and wonderful amenities. Please continue to make our hotel your number one choice when visiting Cumberland. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Loved the Fairfield. Much nicer than the Holiday Inn across the way. Breakfast was good, internet was fast, parking was convenient, and the staff was incredibly helpful. Not many ways to make the stay much better, imho.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank X9555EDmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Mark H,
Thank you for your review and kind comments about our great hotel and helpful staff at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. We hope to extend our hospitality to you again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Va
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a group stay, or I should say, THREE group stays this month, and each was perfect. Easy check-in (we ask for the keys for all rooms and place luggage in the rooms before the rest of the guests arrive from biking on the GAP trail); great service to our staff (we ask for a first floor room to refresh coolers with ice and water); and Angel was amazingly helpful at breakfast time, to fill our caraffe with coffee for cyclists, allow us to get water from the "kitchen" sink, and to make sure that breakfast was plentiful during our group surge at 0700.

Groups can be hard on hotels, and we are no exception, but the Fairfield Inn is use to cycling groups, and they enjoy having them. We still love the hotel, and find it to be clean and "new" looking five full years after opening. The jacuzzi was working, giving us a relaxing option for refreshing tired legs. Check-out was fast and simple.

This stay, with the staff getting to know us very well, included a special treat. The hotel ordered a coffee caraffe for us (at our expense), and had it at check-in. We love the new caraffe, which keeps coffee hot a full 24 hours, and the thoughtfulness of the staff to help us improve our coffee breaks.

We threw the hotel a curve, when one of our paired rooms became two single rooms, due to a guest special request. Almost sold out, the hotel staff worked it out for us to add a room to our block at the last second. As a tour coordinator, this could have been a huge issue, but was smoothly tackled, one of the reasons we select Fairfield Inn for our stays in Cumberland.

Right on the C&O Canal trail, at its junction with the Great Allegheny Passage, you can't go wrong with the hotel, its pool amenities, and the quick, variety-filled breakfast. The bike wash outside is a bonus.

My one continuing area of challenge is parking in the lot with a trailer. We wish there was a circular route through the lot that exited at a different location, and/or some parking that included trailer options with a straight pull-out, as parking around the tight lot is tough. There is a gravel parking lot near the hotel that one can reportedly park in, but we simply disconnect the trailer(s) and park next to them.

Room Tip: Odd numbers face the scenic courtyard and C&O Canal. There is a replica canal boat in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetOutAndGoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
GetOutAndGoTours,
It's great to hear from you! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. I'm delighted to hear that our excellent service, great location, and value added amenities made for a perfect stay on each visit. Your feedback is important to us, and we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced with parking your trailer. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your group travels, and we hope to extend our hospitality to everyone again in the near future. Thank you once again for sharing your great review.

Kind regards,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

First impression was good and it only got better. Our king bedroom was not huge but very adequate for my husband and me. Clean and inviting. Breakfast was above average with lots of items - all that I'd found in similar situations but not all in the same place. Staff was friendly and helpful. Because I had read the hotel was near the C & O Bike Trail we took along our bikes. So glad we did. We rode 10 miles in the morning before having to check out at noon. Hotel is situated in an area still being developed but we were very pleased with the close proximity of various attractions. It evidently is a familiar stop over for long distance bikers as there were a lot of them at breakfast.
Only 2 negatives: my husband wasn't happy with the mattress, felt like he was "sleeping in a hole", and the TV controller didn't control the TV properly.
We used Marriott points for this night so it was 'free' so I can't address the value for the price but if I recall it was in the ballpark for other similiar hotels. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Janel D,
We're happy to receive reflections from your pleasant experience with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. Your praise regarding our clean accommodations and friendly staff highlights our core objective in providing an exceptional stay for each guest. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your satisfaction. I have addressed the issue remote control issue with our maintenance staff in order to make the necessary repairs and heighten our awareness of such issues. We're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
235 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Immediately upon entering the lobby you know you are in a special place. A genuinely warm welcome from the desk person. Although we arrived shortly after noon, we took a chance that maybe our room would be ready. The desk person cheerfully checked, and although it wasn't ready, she suggested we simply walk over to a neighboring restaurant, have lunch, and that she was sure our room would be ready upon return. It was, well in advance of the listed 3pm check in time.

The room itself was of a typical layout, however it was meticulously maintained. Very comfortable. The morning breakfast offered choice, and was freshly prepared. The coffee was among the best anywhere.

But despite the superiority of the physical plant, it's the staff that is most memorable, their sincerity, and their smiles.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjosker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
kjosker,
Thank you for writing a review about your visit to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. It's wonderful to receive your kind comments about our staff's warm hospitality and excellence in service. We work hard at offering exceptional customer service by having a team of genuine associates that are dedicated to engaging with our guests and providing a memorable stay. I look forward to sharing your complimentary feedback with our team, and appreciate you sharing your experience. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again.

Best regards,
Janine Pitner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland
0.3 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
577 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
4.4 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Address: 21 N Wineow St, Cumberland, MD 21502-3547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland Hotel Cumberland
Fairfield Inn And Suites Cumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing