We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ride the gap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

right on the trail at mile 0.Clean rooms,Good breakfast,good location.It was a little pricey but it served our purpose for a rest day while riding the gap.While there eat a uncle jacks that is were the locals eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windowrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

windowrun,
Thank you for your review. We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Janine Pitner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 498 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We travel a lot , domestic and internationally. What we hate most is a hotel room declared "non-smoking" and stinking of old cigarette butts. It is a relief that Fairfield Inn & Suites is a non-smoking hotel and they stay true to this. At a reasonable price - Senior rate - we had a splendid room: large (2 queen beds),clean, great bedding, excellent decorum, refrigerator, microwave, well working A/C. The location of the hotel was great too. We walked in the city of Cumberalnd, which by itself is a treasure to explore. The bonus for me were also the pool and the jacuzzi. Rather small, but well taken care of, clean, in a nice setting, good place to be after walking around all day long. Ample free breakfast.
Free parking on premises. Due to this hotel, which we picked-up based on Trip Advisor reviews, when planning a travel, we look first what Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott are around and most of the time we choose them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Maria N,
Thank you so much for your review – we couldn’t be more thrilled to have such a nice recommendation. I am glad that you had an enjoyable experience. I will be sure to pass along all of your comments to our staff.

Thanks again,
Janine Pitner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is right on the C&O towpath trail as well as the Great Allegheny Passage so it is ideal for cyclists, walkers, and anyone planning to take the Western Maryland Scenic Railroad to Frostburg. You can easily walk to downtown Cumberland and several restaurants - we parked our car at the hotel on our first day and didn't get back in again until it was time to head home. They are very friendly to cyclists and let you keep your bikes in your room. The elevators were large enough to accommodate our bikes.

The room was clean and pleasant. Our room was a bit noisy because we faced the front of the hotel, but it wasn't too bothersome, especially with the air conditioning on. We did have a room by the elevator but we didn't notice any noise from it.

The breakfast was very good, one of the better breakfasts we've had at a chain hotel. The staff did a great job of keeping everything stocked, especially the hot breakfast items. This was contrary to what we read in some earlier reviews so perhaps they have made some adjustments so they don't run out of food. The scrambled eggs were surprisingly fluffy and flavorful. The oatmeal was good, too, and it was nice to have a healthy option.

The staff was excellent: very welcoming and helpful. We accidentally left a few things behind in our room and when we called about them, the staff not only had them but they said they would send them to us at home. We are grateful that they were so helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal if you are sensitive to noise since the front of the hotel faces bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamhdisgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

teamhdisgo,
Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Your business is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
Janine Pitner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Got to the hotel late & checked in to room 409 which is a 2 queen room with a canal view(I called a week prior as someone suggested & requested the view)but the young lady at check-in seemed bothered by our late arrival. They did have Marriott Platinum recognition with a drink & snack. The room was spacious & clean. Beds were too soft for our tastes but the bedding was clean & fresh. The bathroom was clean with a tub/shower combo but the shower curtain liner was mildewed-eww(hence the 4 stars). Otherwise the room was pretty standard for a Fairfield-we used Marriott points so not sure what the rate was. Wish we had had more time to explore because Cumberland looked like a neat little place, but we arrived late & left early. Oh, about to forget that the breakfast was pretty good. They had some hot & cold items, waffles, etc., but they use styrofoam plates & plastic utensils unfortunately.

Room Tip: Room 409 has 2 queens, is spacious & has a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stinkytoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

stinkytoes10,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations. I’ll be certain to address these items with our team in order to make improvements for a more positive experience. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to return for another visit with us and acquaint yourself with all that Cumberland has to offer. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was situated nicely, near enough to walking paths and shops. We didn't see much of Cumberland b/c we were just passing through, but it looked very cute, and our experience at the hotel was very pleasant!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

sunnysherri,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you had a pleasant experience with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to return for another stay and acquaint yourself with everything our wonderful area has to offer. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed at this Marriott numerous times & we must say that it is always a pleasure. This trip was for a Class Reunion & they were very helpful in accomodating everyone in our group. The rooms were comfortable, clean & quiet. The King bed was xtra comfortable too! The front desk was ready to help w/any questions, concerns, directions, forgotten essentials, etc.
The pool & hot tub have consistently been clean w/lots of towels as well. I found the front & back patios an added plus as
I was able to take a book & relax in spare time. The location can't be beat as almost everything is in walking distance.
The breakfast is always a variety of "everything" you might want and is just awesome. Of course coffee/tea is offered all day too. We were very happy w/our stay! We will most definitely be back when in Cumberland

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

sharon n,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland for your class reunion. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our location ideal for your travels. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Fairfield Inn & Suites for a family wedding. It's a great location, right next to Canal Place and the paths. We had a king bed room but it seemed pretty small to me. The towels and washcloths seemed quite thin to me - they didn't look old but they felt cheap. The tub looked like it needed to be re-caulked and there was a little bit of what appeared to be black mildew in spots around the tub. It wasn't up to the quality level I have come to expect from a Marriott property. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Eric M,
Thank you for writing. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide the exceptional level of quality that you’ve come to expect from us. I’ll be certain to share your valuable comments with our team and we will make improvements for a more positive experience. We value you as our guest, and we hope to have an opportunity to extend our hospitality to you in the near future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Janine Pitner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland
0.3 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
661 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
4.4 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland

Address: 21 N Wineow St, Cumberland, MD 21502-3547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cumberland
Price Range: $140 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Cumberland
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland Hotel Cumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing