We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find on our way through Cumberland”

Ristorante Ottaviani
Ranked #1 of 105 Restaurants in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family owned Italian, Kid Friendly, Offer Gluten Free Entrees and Desserts, Live Music, Outdoor Seating, Catering, Can Accomdate Large Parties
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find on our way through Cumberland”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I thought I submitted this review after eating here several weeks ago but apparently it didn't get published. We stopped at this Ottaviani on our way to western Maryland. The food was excellent. I ordered a bolognese dish that was one of the best bolognese pastas that I have had. My wife also had pasta that was superb. Dylan, our waiter, couldn't have been friendlier and attentive. We will definitely be going back there on our frequent trips out to western Maryland.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdp441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    64
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very tasty meal”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great service and the food was very good. One of the best salad's we've ever eaten, anywhere. The weather was great and we ate outside. Very nice, relaxing and tasty evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a great dinner with friends we met on the GAP trail. Outstanding service. We had the civitella which was excellent... unique. The cucumber salad was good, but would have preferred yogurt to the sour cream in the dill dressing. The salad capresse was tasty, and the added watermelon was a refreshing addition...surprisingly good flavor combination...really.

Helpful?
Thank SamiSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unexpected quality and highly recommended”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very pleasant dinner at the Ottaviani on a Saturday night in June, 2014. We started with a delicious salad Caprese, creatively done with chunks of watermelon. I ordered pasta Bolognese, which was amazingly delicious, and a glass of house Chianti; my wife ordered chicken abruzzo -- according to the waiter, the restaurant's signature dish because the family is from that region -- and it was perfect... the chicken wasn't overcooked and the flavor was out of this world. Portions were generous, service was attentive and personable, and the cost was very reasonable. Please note that I live in Charlottesville, Virginia, a university town that is full of incredibly expensive (overpriced!) restaurants run by egotistical chefs, and I can tell you this -- the Ottaviani beats all of them, hands down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank U-VaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clemson south carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a place to love”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

we didnt not dislike anything ... it was like the bistro reincarnited - of you recall it in cumberland long ago

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank acolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Ottaviani also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Ottaviani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing