We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Queen City Creamery
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Welcome back to the Queen City Creamery! You will find some old favorites and some new additions that will quickly become favorites! Our family is excited and honored to continue the extraordinary business that was created by Terry and Rick Michels. We will strive to ensure that every visit to the Creamery is a pleasurable one! Our hope is that our customer service, exceptional products, and distinct environment will have you returning again and again!
Saxonburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Real people and real food! Stopped by for coffee and went back for lunch and dessert. A great experience!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    95
    18
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favorite Pit Stop”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have several years of pleasant memories of stopping here as we have passed thru the area on our many trips to the East Coast. Not being fans of the usual interstate / highway rest area food offerings, we like to stop in the small towns and cities along the way and take our chances for something more interesting, which is how we found the "Creamery" about 10 years ago. It is very convenient and fast 'on and off' of interstate 68, with access to good on street metered parking convenient to both the Creamery and the downtown shopping area. You can check out the history of the place on line - so I won't list here.
We always enjoy the ample sandwiches - made to order from a wide selections of Boar's Head deli meats on acceptable bread - which would be better if it were home made. Lunch includes a generous sample cone of either the flavor of the day or standard vanilla, and the featured flavors have never disappointed. The custard type ice cream in itself is worth the stop, and has won several awards. If the weather is good, a stroll around the cute area shops makes for a pleasant stop to stretch the legs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry M, Owner at Queen City Creamery, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We like to walk around Cumberland and this is one of our stops along the way. We enjoy the soups and the coffee bar. We are looking forward to stopping in once the weather gets better so we can enjoy their custard.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barrettshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry M, Owner at Queen City Creamery, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to you stopping by again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Frozen Custard”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Whenever I am in Cumberland I try to stop here for their custard and/or their chicken salad sandwich. They have a special frozen custard flavor each day and a mini cone comes complimentary with any meal. I usually end up ordering a full size bowl of the stuff because it's absolutely amazing. The frozen custard shakes are delicious, too - super thick!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jzamostny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry M, Owner at Queen City Creamery, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks! We are glad you enjoy our custard. We are looking forward to you stopping by again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going down hill fast”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I ordered baked potato's with sour cream from Queen City Creamery, to go. when i got to work and opened them up they were the size of baby's fists, and the sour cream was everywhere but on the potato. I had paid almost 6 dollars for the potato's...... needless to say, I was less then pleased. I had gone to QCC last year almost every week while they had their baked potato's and I loved them. This year they are tiny and over done. Greatly disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinniciole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry M, Owner at Queen City Creamery, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I am very sorry you were unhappy with the potatoes. I was unaware that the potatoes were smaller than usual. I will certainly check into this myself, and would be happy to replace the potatoes for you on your next visit. Again, my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen City Creamery also viewed

 
Cumberland, MD
 

Been to Queen City Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing