We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Trip!”

Western Maryland Scenic Railroad
Ranked #5 of 36 things to do in Cumberland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Western Maryland Scenic Railroad offers a variety of scenic, dining, and specialty excursions throughout the year. Individual and group rates are available for the Mountain Limited, our scenic excursion, as well as Evening Paradise Dinner Trains on Saturday evenings. Also available throughout the year are various specialty and holiday excursions.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Trip!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Took the train ride from Cumberland to Frostburg. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the beautiful scenery. Took my 4-year-old great nephew, and he had a ball. The conductor let him wear his hat, and all the rest of the staff were equally personable. I would highly recommend this excursion. Well worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sashalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    136
    59
    25
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely Trip Through Historic Western Maryland”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We don't get out to western Maryland much, so this was a great way to do a little exploring on that side of the state. The station is conveniently located off I-68 in downtown Cumberland.

There are several other scenic railroads operating in the area (WV, PA, etc.), but this was on of the few that we found ran until very late in the year. There are several types of rides they offer: the standard early morning/late afternoon tour on Fridays and weekends; an evening murder mystery ride; and, later in the year, a Polar Express. There are also a caboose you can rent for parties. And, you can also special request to ride with the conductors (which is cool because you can sit behind them as they turn the engine on the giant turntable).

This is a great experience if you have never been on a steam train, or never just took a train in general for any long distance. We took the 3 1/2 hour morning/afternoon tour in late November. The weather was pleasant enough and with the exception of being out in the open cars, we had no problem with the cold weather during the ride.

Guides point out sites along the way, and give you some history about the towns you pass through. There is an hour and a half layover in historic Frostburg,

First Class tickets will get you a full course meal served in the dining car, but riding in coach is just as pleasant. There's a snack bar on board if you get hungry or just want coffee or something, and of course, Frostburg has a load of great places to stop in for a bite.

While this may be a great adventure for kids, there was a good number of older couples and families on board during the trip (for anyone worried about lots of screaming and crying children on board the train). We had a great time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JSinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First Class Ride”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Train pulled into Cumberland station about 20 minutes prior to boarding time, so there was time to take some pictures of the steam engine. The wait staff in the dining car did a good job of serving lunch. Watched the WMSR crew turn the engine on the turntable in Frostburg from the stairs, and still had enough time to walk around town.Great scenery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank F13fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Was ok, leaves were brown, scenery ok”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Train is neat, ride is fun, snacks ok if you don't eat in dining car. BUt, scenery was dull, brown, and views of backyards and trash.
Best was tunnel, bone cave, maple syrup trees, bike path on C and O canal trail and rock formations. Walked up the street from the depot in Frostburg to City Coffee (like a Starbucks) had sandwich and cafe mocha, cute, warm and clean. Walked down the 83 steps to the train for the ride back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank baybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Train Ride”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We took the WMSR train from Cumberland to Frostburg and rode our bikes back to Cumberland. The one-way trip on the train was enjoyable. The train got in to the station an hour before departure time and boarding started in plenty of time to get everyone on in time to leave. The scenery on the way to Frostburg was nice and the narration by the tour guide was interesting. Once at Frostburg, we collected our bikes and headed back down the hill. We had to pay the full ticket price even though we were only going one-way (I can kind of understand that) but the one complaint I have is that we had to pay an additional $5 for each bike. Really, after we paid $33 per person for a ticket, do you have to charge $5 to haul my bike in the open-air car that would be on the train anyhow?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tgussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Western Maryland Scenic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing