We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice campground” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Gap State Park

Rocky Gap State Park
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park that offers swimming beaches, campsites and boat rentals.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very nice campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a very nice campground, that can be a little noisy. When we stayed there was a very noisy family next to us, but the campground was clean, and had plenty of amenities.

To be fair, I gave it 4 stars, when really for us, it was a 3 star experience because of our noisy neighbors.

The Beach:
The beach attached to the campground was nice, but was also really busy.

The trails.
We took the trail that led to the casino/resort which was a very nice quiet walk along the lake.

The Campground:
The campground is very large, with multiple camping loops. The thing that took something away from our stay was the extremely noisy family next to us, with the dad that liked to yell across the street to his kids at the bathroom.

The Woods:
This is a mature piece of woods, with large trees keeping you under a complete canopy with little undergrowth. Because of the lack of undergrowth, the camping spots seem less secluded.

The Lake:
This is a very large, pretty lake with two very crowded beaches.

The Casino:
Very nice, modern and small casino

The video review is below
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGkLx5JlpMg

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank markcas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    58
    8
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lakeside Retreat, close to home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Rocky Gap State Park provides the family with many activities. There are 3 clean, sandy beaches, on a peaceful, calm lake. Many hiking trails are provided, but one can also go canoeing for a very scenic view of the lake. They have a playground for Children and free showers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shehar39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rocky Gap rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We always enjoy our stays at the Rocky Gap hotel and casino. The hotel staff are always courteous, helpful and friendly while the rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained by the housekeeping staff. The lake side suites are our favorite rooms to stay in and they have great views of the Park. The casino is is new and is always an entertaining place to try your luck. A++++

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pjzepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Did NOT Like the Campground”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were looking forward to a relaxing weekend camping at Rocky Gap and hoped to enjoy the lake and all of the park's activities. We had not stayed in a Maryland Park before and soon learned that the pads set up by the parks can make it very challenging to set up the campsite. We had to leave our dining canopy in the car because it would not fit with our tent. Since we ended up staying only one night, though, it was probably a good thing. We left after only one night for two main reasons. First, an unofficial trail leads straight into the campsite we reserved, and we had people nearly run into us several times in the 18 hours we were there. Second, the restrooms and bath house were disgustingly dirty. Another camper and I were in the bathroom at the same time, both trying to figure out which shower/toilet stall was least objectionable. Unfortunately, we never got to enjoy the lake or other activities in the park because we left the next morning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvtravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty Abounds at Rocky Gap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Rocky Gap is the perfect weekend getaway spot. Not too far a drive for a spectacular natural setting. If you plan to camp out, make your reservation in advance as certain areas book up quickly during peak weekends. The campsites are spaced nicely so you have some privacy. The bathhouse is nothing special. The campsites with electric hook-ups do not have individual water taps so plan to bring your own bottles. There is a camp store in a pinch. Great hiking trails, retal kayaks on the lake, and a cool little aviary with owls, eagles, hawks, and more. Get away from it all at Rocky Gap. You'll be glad you did! Oh, there's a casino resort nearby on the lake but who needs that anyway?!?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ALONG_THE_RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Gap State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing