We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time at Jane's Island”

Janes Island State Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Crisfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nearly surrounded by Chesapeake Bay and its inlets, this park offers campsites, hiking trails, flat water canoeing and kayaking along miles of isolated shoreline and marshland.
Pa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing time at Jane's Island”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We decided to go camping for the first time in a long time. Jane's Island was the best choice. We stayed in a site right a long the water which was amazing. The sunsets there are certainly something to see. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. There is nothing bad to say about Jane's Island...I will be back again.

Helpful?
4 Thank wkulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and beautiful”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I visited it on my way outta Crisfield; the map doesn't do it justice. Well manicured lots with gorgeous views of the canal system leading to Chesapeake Bay.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank beatlephantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at Jane's Island in late August at site #75 which was right on the water. At check-in, the staff was very friendly and the process was a breeze. Our site was clean and had a great view of the water. Unfortunately, we had to end our trip two days early due to a significant and growing problem with biting flies. As campers in our loop checked out, the flies got worse and worse at our site, to the point we had to either stay in the car or in the tent at all times. By day #3 of our trip, there were biting flies covering the picnic table, tent, and car despite the application of camp flogger insecticide to the area.

Other than the bugs, Jane's Island is a beautiful area with a lot of nice wildlife and affordable activities. We took a kayak out for $10/hour and motorboat rentals are also available for a very affordable price. The crabbing is great! We had a lot of fun doing that.

I don't think we will return to Jane's Island because of the bug problem, but overall we had a good time.

Helpful?
12 Thank JoshandEmilyPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“as eastern shore camping as you can get”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Right on the water. Lob lolly pines all around you. Nice convenience stations. A huge step up from that Pines Motel in town. That place is an innercity playground.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing visit.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

From Kayaking to the beach, to sitting under the pines in the breeze, we had another great visit to Janes Island. The staff is always friendly and knowledgable and the fishing and kayaking was great fun. No water or sewer hookups, but that is not a problem for us for an extended weekend stay.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BobtheBankerdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Janes Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Janes Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing