We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there before it disappears”

Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Crisfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An island in the Chesapeake where residents live much as their ancestors did hundreds of years ago.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go there before it disappears”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Smith Island is actually a cluster of islands and accessible only by boat. It's one of the last locations in the Chesapeake Bay that maintains the traditional waterman's culture. Staying there for a few days began to give us a greater appreciation for a lifestyle that may disappear in the not too distant future. Rising water levels are inundating these low-lying islands and disappointing yields of crab and oyster catches in the Chesapeake Bay are causing island populations to dwindle.

Nevertheless, Smith Island still survives, and is a wonderful place to visit. We stayed at a charming B&B called the Inn of Silent Music in the small village of Tylerton. The B&B has three rooms available. The owners, Linda & Rob, made our stay a delightful experience, with a beautifully furnished room and delicious complimentary breakfasts. Kayaks and bicycles are available. Be sure to also make a reservation for Linda's seafood gourmet dinners at the B&B. It's very well worth it, especially when it's topped off with a slice of the famous Smith Island multi-layer cake!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
17 Thank AJacques1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    13
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Smith Island Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We decided to go there for our 28th wedding anniversary. A Bed and Breakfast is the way to go. We compared a few available and choose Michele's place. After seeing and hearing about the famous Smith Island cake, (and making my own from the You Tube directions) it made sense to visit the island. We went before "busy season" and Michele had to ensure the ferry boat was available. She made it happen. Great customer service. The Inn was beautiful, beds were comfy, and John and Pam the Inn keepers that week, were GREAT. I have been on the bay and crabbing for years for fun and wanted to see the slow life style of the island folk. We enjoyed soft shell crab for lunch and crab cakes for dinner at Rukes. We walked around, rode bikes, read books, and took John and Pam's Sunset cruise. We enjoyed a beverage and toasted the beautiful sunset from the bay. Not much else to do. But we knew there wouldn't be. Bird watching, canoes, walks...busy, busy, busy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Ted F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fantastic, quiet place.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Go there if you want a quiet, relaxing place to visit. Not much to do except read, play games, visit with friends and look at the water and watermen.
Perfect!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TheMoyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Smith Island isn't for everyone, but it's still pretty cool”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Growing up in Maryland, I'd always wanted to visit this remote island in the middle of the Chesapeake Bay. With the advent of global warming, this place likely will vanish in time because nothing is more than about 3 feet above the water line. There is regular, if expensive, boat service out to the island from Cristfield ($25/round trip). It is a place out of time, surrounded by lush marshes, making it one of the top places in the world for harvesting soft shell crabs. Everyone on the island is somehow related to crab fishing or harvesting oysters. For tourists, there isn't a lot to do here in the 2.5 hours between boats, but it is an interesting throwback to a simpler life based on the water. A walk from Ewell to Rhodes Point takes you past marshes, many homes in disrepair, fighting off the ravages of the tides and weather. That said, it is eerily quiet, with herons and white ibis fishing in the marshes. We ate at the only place in town, Rukes, and had excellent crab cakes and soft shell crab sandwiches. Having spent many years on islands along the Maine coast, this was an excellent compliment to the hardiness of the Mainers, both eeking out a living from the sea. This place isn't for everyone, but is pretty cool nonetheless.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the trip! Buy a cake!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great scenery, nice venue. You MUST eat at the family-style restuarant--super food! Nice Museum! Friendly people. Must ssee the Smith Isle Cake Factory & buy a unique 12 layer cake!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Island Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Smith Island Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing