We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“On Top of the World!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Jaws At Sattal

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Front of property
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Indian Food Spread
Mixed Meat Platter
Entrance
Fire Pit/Desi BarBQue..
Decorative Details
Decorative Details
Roast Chicken Florentine Pasta
Valley view from the Cottage
Main Sattal Lake
Valley View from the Cottage with Bhimtal in the foreground
One more stunning view of the Valley from the Cottage
One more view of Panna Tal
Paragliding at Ghorakal
PannaTal/GarudTal
Fishing at Sattal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sattal, Nainital District, Uttarakhand

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
J3Z2ie
Mumbai, India
1 review
“On Top of the World!”
Reviewed September 6, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This was my first Solo trip to the Northern part of India to usher in another year of my life. And it proved to be among the top 5 best birthdays, ever!

The perfect ambience (it’s monsoon, after all!), with clouds knocking at your windows, make your eyes mist over. You feel you belong and, for the stay, become as one with nature. This participative nature clearly defines the hosts - Jaws and Aruna - who made me feel at once, at home, and at ease. I know I’m going back there for another visit soon!

Jaws, at Jaws@Sattal creates magic in the spotless, but tastefully put-together kitchen. I was fortunate to meet Aruna, who dropped in over the weekend, and she regaled me with stories and anecdotes about their road travel adventures all over the country, over the years.

I couldn’t’ve ever asked for a better birthday than at Jaws’ place. They also run a Gazebo called the Kumaon Farm Café, where they cater to groups of 6 and more. The views, from both properties, are catch-your-breathtakingly beautiful!!! (-:

A must-visit; a repeat-visit; a re-repeat visit.

PS: I have a few great pics, but the poor network prevents me from posting them.

Cheers, Jaws & Aruna!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2018
Hello J,
It was a real pleasure hosting you and the fact that we could make your special day even more special!!!
Would love to host you over and over and hoping you will make that promised re-visit soon.
Cheers!!!
Jaws
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8418rl
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST HOMESTAY EVER!”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Best home stay ever! Super friendly host and a great atmosphere. Facilities were amazing. The rooms are impeccably clean and beautiful. The view from the room is breathtaking. Jaws, the owner is a wonderful host, he knows the area like the back of his hand and will enhance your stay in every way. Jaws is incredibly helpful (he helped us with the train tickets and getting a cab to pick us up from the station) and generous with his time and advice. The best part about this home stay is a 24-hour kitchen. You will be served whenever you are hungry!!!! Every dish here was delicious - a true treat for our taste buds. The evenings here are all about good vibes, meeting new people, good conversations and of course mouthwatering food!
It was a marvelous experience. I wouldn't stay any place else when I return to Sattal. (Do visit his Gazebo if you get a chance.)

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2018
Thanks Riya and Nikhil for your wonderful words of appreciation. It was great connecting with you guys and i had a super time with you both. Will look forward to your visit soon.
Cheers
Jaws
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamChopra
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Home away from home"”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our stay at Jaws @ Sattal was extremely enjoyable. Everything from the ambience to the hospitality made for a great getaway from the busy life of the city. The area that the stay is located in has a great view and close to some good birding areas. There are some really nice eating joints in that area like "i heart cafe" & "cafe by the lake", which are a must try.

Jaws is an amazing host and we thoroughly enjoyed the 4 days spent with him.
The food, which he cooked himself, was finger licking good and we ended up overeating every time. Jaws & his staff were very helpful and rest assured that they will leave no stone unturned to ensure that your stay is as comfortable as you can imagine.

The property is very well maintained and there is nothing that you will not like about the place. Rooms are nice and clean. Hope to come back soon!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2018
It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your wonderful family Sam. And thank you so much for your wonderful words of appreciation. I'm hoping to see you guys soon for a repeat performance of this visit.
Cheers
Jaws
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debangshu...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A place for immersion in food , fun , love ,bon homie and nature. A must in every body’s bucket list-but most importantantly one must not forget to work up an appetite before being engulfed in the warmth & hospitality of Jaws.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2018
Doc !!!!! You are awesome !!! The time we spent together was nothing short of Adbhut !!!!
Cheers and awaiting your next visit for more such awesomeness !!!
Stay Blessed always.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nandita A
vadodara, india
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treat for 5 senses!”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I didn't actually stay at Jaws At Sattal but my few hours there were a treat for all 5 senses. Jaws is a host par excellence indeed and the Kumaoni meal he and his wonderful cook served at lunch was deliciously excellent including the Creme Caramel.
The rooms are are impeccable; elegant in their simplicity and thoughtfully well appointed and decorated. One of the room's has a pantry and a boon for early risers and birders used to a cuppa as soon as they are up.
All the public spaces are quiet and lovely with stunning views of Bhimtal across the valley.
A super homestay just to chill, go birding, jog, run, amble, take slow, long walks and merge with nature. And of course Jaws' wonderful hospitality and sense of humour and stories only add to this charming place and lest I forget so does Dabu Singh the elderly Bhutia woggy! Go for it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2018
Nandita, what a beautiful review you have left for us at JawsAtSattal !!!! Thank you so much for your words of appreciation. I am hoping you will come back soon and this time not to just visit but for an extended stay. We have lots more to chat and do "gyaan vardan" on !!!
Cheers and thanks again !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnandiniP...
1 review
“Serene, toddler friendly, tummy friendly, pet friendly nothing more one can ask for !”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We went there for our anniversary with our one year old. I had heard so much about this place that my expectations were sky high. Must say they were met and how. As mom would know the baby's comfort is of utmost importance and this place is extremely kid friendly. They cooked special meals for the bub and the kiddo enjoyed the fresh air and greenery.

The food is so awesome that you will remember it for years to come. Jaws (the innkeeper As he calls himself) is a fantastic cook who makes the most delicious food. We came back 2 kgs heavier!

Finally the place, the cottage itself was neat,clean and and had well stocked pantry. the views from it were beautiful. Made me call in love with the place.

Please go for the views, the food, hidden lakes, beautiful mountains, the traditional kumaoni thali (courtesy the innkeeper who makes the experience of visiting kumaoni unforgettable) and the man himself and his stories by the campfire!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2018
It was a what a fantastic 3 days i spent with you guys. And especially that toddler of yours !!! She was such a doll.....nazzar na lag jaaye !!!!
Thanks so much Priyanka and AP for visiting. And many thanks for your appreciation. Would love to have you guys more often.
Cheers and God bless !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apal s
Sattal, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not had such good food in pahar”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I was introduced to 'Jaws' through a friend. And I shall be ever so thankful to him.On two different occasions I had meals cooked by Jaws; and got blown away with it.
just to say "it was Excellent food" would be a huge understatement.

His biryani and rayita was cooked in his Manglorian style. It just melted when it went in the mouth. His next meal Salad... It was delightful !! Western style cheese with local veggies, was for sure another Jaw's 'work of art'.
What impressed me most was he enjoyed talking about food as much as he enjoys cooking. Jaw's food made me happy !!
Thank you

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Hey Apal,
I'm overwhelmed by your "tareef" !!!
I just do what i love to do.....COOK !!!!
But thanks. This is such an ego booster. And you are always welcome to come over and over again.
Cheers !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing