We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Home away from home"”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Jaws At Sattal

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Front of property
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Indian Food Spread
Mixed Meat Platter
Entrance
Fire Pit/Desi BarBQue..
Decorative Details
Decorative Details
Roast Chicken Florentine Pasta
Valley view from the Cottage
Main Sattal Lake
Valley View from the Cottage with Bhimtal in the foreground
One more stunning view of the Valley from the Cottage
One more view of Panna Tal
Paragliding at Ghorakal
PannaTal/GarudTal
Fishing at Sattal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sattal, Nainital District, Uttarakhand

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
SamChopra
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Home away from home"”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our stay at Jaws @ Sattal was extremely enjoyable. Everything from the ambience to the hospitality made for a great getaway from the busy life of the city. The area that the stay is located in has a great view and close to some good birding areas. There are some really nice eating joints in that area like "i heart cafe" & "cafe by the lake", which are a must try.

Jaws is an amazing host and we thoroughly enjoyed the 4 days spent with him.
The food, which he cooked himself, was finger licking good and we ended up overeating every time. Jaws & his staff were very helpful and rest assured that they will leave no stone unturned to ensure that your stay is as comfortable as you can imagine.

The property is very well maintained and there is nothing that you will not like about the place. Rooms are nice and clean. Hope to come back soon!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2018
It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your wonderful family Sam. And thank you so much for your wonderful words of appreciation. I'm hoping to see you guys soon for a repeat performance of this visit.
Cheers
Jaws
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debangshu...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A place for immersion in food , fun , love ,bon homie and nature. A must in every body’s bucket list-but most importantantly one must not forget to work up an appetite before being engulfed in the warmth & hospitality of Jaws.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2018
Doc !!!!! You are awesome !!! The time we spent together was nothing short of Adbhut !!!!
Cheers and awaiting your next visit for more such awesomeness !!!
Stay Blessed always.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nandita A
vadodara, india
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A treat for 5 senses!”
Reviewed March 31, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I didn't actually stay at Jaws At Sattal but my few hours there were a treat for all 5 senses. Jaws is a host par excellence indeed and the Kumaoni meal he and his wonderful cook served at lunch was deliciously excellent including the Creme Caramel.
The rooms are are impeccable; elegant in their simplicity and thoughtfully well appointed and decorated. One of the room's has a pantry and a boon for early risers and birders used to a cuppa as soon as they are up.
All the public spaces are quiet and lovely with stunning views of Bhimtal across the valley.
A super homestay just to chill, go birding, jog, run, amble, take slow, long walks and merge with nature. And of course Jaws' wonderful hospitality and sense of humour and stories only add to this charming place and lest I forget so does Dabu Singh the elderly Bhutia woggy! Go for it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2018
Nandita, what a beautiful review you have left for us at JawsAtSattal !!!! Thank you so much for your words of appreciation. I am hoping you will come back soon and this time not to just visit but for an extended stay. We have lots more to chat and do "gyaan vardan" on !!!
Cheers and thanks again !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anandini...
1 review
“Serene, toddler friendly, tummy friendly, pet friendly nothing more one can ask for !”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We went there for our anniversary with our one year old. I had heard so much about this place that my expectations were sky high. Must say they were met and how. As mom would know the baby's comfort is of utmost importance and this place is extremely kid friendly. They cooked special meals for the bub and the kiddo enjoyed the fresh air and greenery.

The food is so awesome that you will remember it for years to come. Jaws (the innkeeper As he calls himself) is a fantastic cook who makes the most delicious food. We came back 2 kgs heavier!

Finally the place, the cottage itself was neat,clean and and had well stocked pantry. the views from it were beautiful. Made me call in love with the place.

Please go for the views, the food, hidden lakes, beautiful mountains, the traditional kumaoni thali (courtesy the innkeeper who makes the experience of visiting kumaoni unforgettable) and the man himself and his stories by the campfire!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2018
It was a what a fantastic 3 days i spent with you guys. And especially that toddler of yours !!! She was such a doll.....nazzar na lag jaaye !!!!
Thanks so much Priyanka and AP for visiting. And many thanks for your appreciation. Would love to have you guys more often.
Cheers and God bless !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apal s
Sattal, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not had such good food in pahar”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I was introduced to 'Jaws' through a friend. And I shall be ever so thankful to him.On two different occasions I had meals cooked by Jaws; and got blown away with it.
just to say "it was Excellent food" would be a huge understatement.

His biryani and rayita was cooked in his Manglorian style. It just melted when it went in the mouth. His next meal Salad... It was delightful !! Western style cheese with local veggies, was for sure another Jaw's 'work of art'.
What impressed me most was he enjoyed talking about food as much as he enjoys cooking. Jaw's food made me happy !!
Thank you

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Hey Apal,
I'm overwhelmed by your "tareef" !!!
I just do what i love to do.....COOK !!!!
But thanks. This is such an ego booster. And you are always welcome to come over and over again.
Cheers !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samhita I
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Location + Food”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I came to JAWS along with my family this month, expecting a humble homestay that would provide decent food and a comfortable bed to sleep on.
Boy was I wrong.
From the moment we walked into JAWS we were greeted by the friendly and welcoming owner Mr Kaamath. My elderly grandparents, who were exhausted from the trip there, immediately took to the floral beauty of the place which complemented the breath-taking view of the Sattal valley. Although we had not asked for lunch in the itinerary, Mr Kaamath provided a wholesome meal within an hour on request.
The rooms were impeccably decorated, clean and every convenience was provided. Down to a mini-kitchen with a microwave and fridge, to toiletries and 24/7 hot water in the shower with good pressure.
And the food, oh the food. I would go back to this hidden treasure just for the food. Mr Kaamath is quite the versatile chef with expertise both in Indian and Continental cooking. He takes joy and pride into cooking for his guests.
I would be amiss if I did not give credit to his helper, Kamal, and the passionate gardener for making our stay so memorable.
For the price we paid, this homestay far exceeded our expectations. JAWS at Sattal brings the best of both worlds together- the convenience of a hotel room along with the warmth of a homestay, creating an experience that is a vacation by itself.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Dear Samhita
Your kind words of appreciation means a lot for us at JawsAtSattal. Also, your honest feedback encourages us to strive for bettering ourselves in all spheres.
It was wonderful having you and your family over at JawsAtSattal....and a special kudos to your ever year young Grandparents !
Looking forward to have your here more !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurabh T
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surreal Experience of not only a picturesque location but also the company of Jaws !”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just to clarify, "Jaws" has nothing to do with Sharks, whales or anything close to that. Its the nick name of this amazing guy who is the owner/host of the amazing property. The property is located within a gated villa community called Sunny Lake. The view from here is simply mesmerizing. The accommodation is quite spacious and well kept. It has a beautiful private lawn with some chic outdoor furniture. But more than any of the above, it is the grand hospitality and the company of Jaws that you would cherish. This guy is a rockstar in the true sense of the word. He has this amazing ability of entertaining his guests with highly engrossing conversations. Besides, he is passionate chef and comes up with some amazing dishes. If you're looking for something more than just a great accommodation and awesome food, just visit Jaws at Saattal and believe me you'll come back happier than you could imagine. Everyone takes home a lot to cherish for a lifetime from Jaws at Saattal ! Just a piece of warning though - keep a day or two spare as you are most likely going to extend your stay here ;)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Those are very kind words Saurabh......thanks a lot and it means a lot for us at JawsAtSattal !!!
Awaiting your next visit and hopefully should be a longer one.
Cheers !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing