We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good for the price I paid.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Marbury, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for the price I paid.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel. Clean but lots of trucks in the parking lot from contractors. Grab n go breakfast is a joke. Lots of food nearby. Location is quiet and clean. Staff was friendly and check in was fast and easy. Kitchen table as a bit sticky but otherwise clean. Only stayed one night and a good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
5
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The area was very nice, the hotel was clean and the staff was courteous. Room had a stove, refrigerator, sink. The problem was the a/c did not work, there were no cups, no shampoo, no hair dryer, residual odor from cooking lingered in room and permeated sheets and some lights did not work. The breakfast was continental with only a few choices.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevent3869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I recently booked this hotel when I had 2 visit Ellicott City for a funeral. It was already a somber occasion, but the friendly face of George at the front desk even at 1 in the morning on a Friday night after a long drive was refreshing. He was really kind and even hooked me up with a huge room that I didn't originally book. There was a large kitchen with a breakfast bar and two stools , 2 queen beds, a full living room, a huge bathroom, and a large entry area with a giant closet. Considering I only paid $90 a night I was really happy. The room was clean and there was plenty of space. And I got to see George again when I checked out and he was again in a great and friendly mood. I've stayed in everything from fancy five star hotels to crappy little roach motels, and for the price, the service, and room, this is definitely a great value. My only complaint was that they didn't have individual hair dryers in each room and you had to borrow it from the front desk. Not normally a big deal but I didn't realize this until after I had already showered and wasn't yet dressed. Thanks again George!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks you so much for taking the time to write us about your stay with us. We were pleased to see that our staff, especially George, provided you with superior service. We are glad that you had such a positive experience and that you enjoyed your spacious, clean room.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel during a snowstorm that day without issue. Room was clean, spacious kitchen and bathroom. Nonsmoking room; however smoking rooms are right next door and I could smell the smoke, which was very unpleasant. Since it was snowing, the plows were out late at night and early morning (5:00 am). With the noise of the plow and the noise of the fridge, so I didn't get much sleep, but good to have the sidewalks and paring lit plowed. The front desk staff was friendly and the bed was comfortable. The morning after 8:00 am was quiet. Glad to have shelter from the storm. Breakfast is instant oatmeal, muffins, coffee, apples, oranges, tea and breakfast bars.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Meretravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My experience at this Extended Stay America was good; excellent value for the price I paid. However, the representatives at the 800 number do not know which rooms have which features, so, if you want a room with a dishwasher and/or pull-out sofa, you must ask for a queen deluxe at minimum. When I made the reservation, I was told my room had a dishwasher and when I got there, I learned it did not. The rep on the phone also told me that this hotel had a 24-hour front desk clerk; but it does not. Keep this in mind if you plan on arriving after 11pm. It is still possible to get a room if you do, but the process is easier before 11pm. Since I work nights, and am up most nights I have off and therefore that is when I am doing laundry and going in and out to go to the store or whatnot, I would highly prefer to have a front desk clerk and access to quarters for the laundry 24-7. But again, excellent value for what I paid; and for the price, I probably have no right to complain about anything. The most important thing is the place is clean, the staff is friendly, and everything worked properly.

Room Tip: Queen deluxe rooms have a dishwasher. The lower-numbered rooms (on any floor) have better temperatur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Checked in was told the don't give extra pillows only had one blanket was told to go to the front desk to get another blanket he couldn't bring one to my room no ice bucket vending machines way way over priced and limited tv channels won't stay again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tmuller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. The issues you described are unacceptable and our team should is committed to satisfying our guest and making your stay a home away from home. Unfortunately, amenities do vary from site to site and at this present time we do not have an ice machine on property and I sincerely apologize . As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have taken action to ensure your experience is not repeated.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, at cgd@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here on business. The sign said it was now a non smoking hotel, but apparently the 3rd Floor use to be for smokers. However the entire 3rd floor still smells of cigarettes and it is completely overwhelming. The staff was very nice about changing my room to a different floor. The rooms are very big, however the ad states that all the rooms are recently renovated I am not sure if recent means within the last few years. Walls must be very thin because you can hear all the other people staying all around you. Hard to rest with all the noise going on all around your room. i was schedule to stay 5 days checked out after just 2 days. Sorry to say this but I don't think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 3rd floor! Smells like an big ashtray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LONEMOON79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
3.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Columbia Parkway
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
#9 of 12 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive

Property: Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive
Address: 6620 Eli Whitney Drive, Columbia, MD 21046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbia - Gateway Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing