We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice staff and rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice staff and rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed here after going to a wedding out of town and was impressed overall. The staff was friendly and the rooms were fairly clean. I found one hair on my bedspread, but that can easily happen in the wash. The sheets were clean and there was even a post-it note that said the bedspread was washed upon arrival. The bed was super comfy.The only disappointment was the breakfast wasn't very tasty--warm food, not just cereal, but kind-of gross. But hey, can't complain about free food!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YourWorstStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    80
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
29
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Spent the night here this past weekend for a nearby friend's birthday party. The location is very convenient to lots of shopping and nearby restaurants. The room was large and clean, and the bathroom was also quite clean as well. Staff was friendly, which I appreciated after a long drive. Despite being so close to several busy highways, the noise from outside was almost impossible to hear, despite our room facing the highway. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I recently spent a single weekend night here and found it perfectly acceptable. Looks like there are plenty of options available, so that may account for what I found to be a terrific rate, around $71, probably AAA. It was quite near a main road, but I faced the inner courtyard of the hotel so I don’t know if there’s any noticeable noise nearby. Front desk staff were pleasant, very casual, including wearing a gray hooded sweatshirt, which I find unusual for a Marriott property. I guess I never really noticed but I woudl assume there's a uniform(?). I though the rooms were comfortable, a pretty exact replica of a courtyard I just stayed in thanksgiving week in another state. It also has an open lobby restaurant area which is apparently the new style for courtyards, with a little market to pick up snacks and sodas which I find convenient. The restaurant/bar appears to have limited hours, so I’d suggest asking about them. I didn’t try the breakfast, Courtyards don’t provide anything for golds. There is a grocery store (Wegmans) very close by and quite a few fast food options as well as tons of other dining around. Pool was closed – recommend checking on this if booking as I think it just happened to come up on conversation and for some that could be a deal breaker. Parking is free. I have no problem going back here or recommending it, I just don’t know that it’s the best in an area that appears to have a lot of lodging options.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms.Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Courtyard Marriott in Columbia Maryland is centrally located for doing business at any number of the business parks in the area. It is 20 minutes from the BWI Airport and is located at the end of short road and surrounded by trees providing a very quiet setting. The staff was friendly, check in seamless and the amenities adequate for a short stay. There are many restaurants withing five minutes of the facility or you can avail yourself to the Bistro in the lobby. The prices were competitive and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi ColonelBangkok! Thanks for taking time to share this feedback on your most recent stay. I was very happy to hear that not only was the location convenient for BWI and visiting restaurants, but that also our own Bistro and staff at the hotel enhanced the stay. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
533 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just moved our daughter to Columbia, and we will be going there to visit her. This time, we booked a room at the Courtyard by Marriott.

The hotel was in a good location, not a noisy highway situation. The room was large enough and very clean and seemed newly decorated. It had a microwave and small refrigerator. The bed was comforatable.

Staff was friendly, and the lobby seemed fine. The price for the room was fine. Yes, I know it doesn't include breakfast, but the other hotels that included breakfast were much more expensive, making that breakfast one heck of an expensive meal.

They were able to honor my request for a higher floor and some extra pillows.

So why do I think we probably will not book this hotel again when we visit our daughter? We were given a room on the third floor almost directly across from an incredibly loud ice machine and the elevator. We asked for a different room. Yes, it was a longer walk down the hall, but at least the ice machine wasn't so loud.

However, the air-conditioning unit in our room was so loud. It woke us both up in the middle of the night, and I had a hard time falling asleep again. I am not a light sleeper, nor is my husband, and we do not have this kind of problem in other motels/hotels. For both of us, that noisy a/c unit was pretty much of a deal-breaker in terms of coming back.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't put you by the ice-maker!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hi GreenUnicorn,
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to share this feedback. I was happy to hear your observations on the cleanliness of the hotel as this has always been a top focus. On the other hand it sounds like we have an aircondioning unit to evaluate. If you have an opportunity, please reach out to me directly to ensure we address the airconditioning unit if it hasnt already been handled. We just finished replacing all of the guest room airconditioners this year, so at this point they should be in Great condition. Thanks again for your feed back and feel free to reach out to me directly if back in the area...
Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wardell, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The service was perfect, staff was friendly, and the motel was very clean and accommodating. The court yard was very nice and relaxing. The rooms weren't small and were also very clean. The bed slept very comfortable. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Jackie S, Thanks for taking time to share this experience during your recent trip to Courtyard Columbia! Happy to hear you found time to relax in the wonderful coourtyard. The weather really gets nice this time of year and it will be a popular area. Hope to see you back again soon...
Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just didn't love this place. It's old and it shows. The room was very small. The slider to our room was ancient and difficult to open and close. The pool was gross. I think all hotels should have a complimentary continental breakfast, and this does not.

The woman who greeted us upon arrival was very very nice and personable. But I had to go to the front desk to ask for more toiletries because the ones in our room were used! A different person who was on at that time seemed put out by my request. She looked at me like she wanted to know what was wrong with what I had. I volunteered they were used.

The hotel is convenient to the airport, but it is tucked away in a confusing office park with poor signage.

We got a good rate but at the end of the day, it wasn't a good value. This isn't a place we would recommend or stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelersfromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello HappytravelrsfromMA, Thank you for taking time to share this experience. I am saddened that we did not execute to our expectations of how your stay should have gone. It sounded like there were a few opportunities we can work on and these will be shared with our team to ensure they do not repeat. If you have an opportunity, please reach out to me so I can ensure specific detail mentioned are tended to as well. This is not the norm for our guest experiences and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to show you a Great Stay!
All the Best,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia

Property: Courtyard Columbia
Address: 8910 Stanford Blvd, Columbia, MD 21045-5805
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing