We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable Courtyard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Comfortable Courtyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Overall, this was a good deal. Received a comfortable room offering the classic Courtyard experience at a reasonable price. That is, as of April 2013, the hotel has not been fully upgraded to latest incarnation of the Courtyard experience. That probably explains the great price. Although it’s near the highway, it’s kind of buried behind an office park. Signage is helpful but need to keep a lookout for it. One of the advantages is that the hotel is close to Wegman’s, the amazing super market that also serves hot meals. Get your meals here. Overall, would easily recommend as a place to stay while in the Baltimore-Washington area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAC-from-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
SAC, Thanks for staying with us and sharing your feedback! We do consider ourselves very fortunate with our close location to major roads while nestled in a quiet business park. The best of both worlds! Wegmans just up the road is a nice asset to the community and I'm glad you had the opportunity to experience it as well. Next time you are in the area, we have our very own Bistro with food & beverage options along with many other restaurants with-in walking distance. You can try something new each time you're here! Hope to serve you again in the near future...

warm regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    82
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
55
30
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
186 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The rooms are a bit on the small side but it all works pretty well. Our room was very clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable. Internet was free and the connection was strong. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Stanford Grill is right up the stairs outside the door for great dining. Other than the fact that it is a little off the beaten track it is a great place to stay. I got a very good rate and was completely satisfied with our stay. I would stay here again without hesitation.

We did not eat at the hotel or use the pool or health club.

Room Tip: It is a very quiet location so noise will not be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the review Zabelle! We like to think of our selves as ahidden gem tucked away in this quiet business park. Happy to hear everything went well with your stay and that you even had an opportunity to enjoy Stanford Grill right out the front door. Another excellent establishment. Keep in mind we have our own Bistro conveniently on property as well which is open for breakfast, Dinner, Starbucks all day and offers full bar service in the evenings! Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a work meeting nearby. The hotel was cleaner than expected. The service was excellent from the front desk and the cafe. Overall it is a standard courtyard hotel. The room set up and couch was nice. The furniture was a bit awkward with the closet blocking the TV, but the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8greta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to review our property! We are very happy to hear of your experience with our staffs service and cleanliness. Key ingredients to a Great stay! If back at our hotel in the future the TV is on a sliding tray and this can be pulled out for improved viewing... Hope this helps. We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently spent two nights at this property and really did not like it. It has been updated, but my room had several stains on the wallpaper and several stains on the carpet. Stains make me worry about how dirty a hotel room can be and ruins the stay. The bed was not very appealing either. A few sheets and a thin bedspread was pretty much it. The TV remote was "sticky". The whole room just made me very uneasy. The breakfast at the little cafe near the lobby was good, but again, tables were not very clean and there were greasy finger prints left on the dividers between the tables. For the price charged, I was expecting a lot more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share your feedback. We take a lot of pride in the service and product we offer to our guests and clearly we did not deliver as expected. For this I am very sorry. I have reviewed this information with the team to ensure we are taking appropriate action to improve and identify if any of these are trends. Please feel free to contact me directly if ever back in the area as we would love another opportunity to serve you and show how a typical experience is at the Courtyard Columbia MD.

At Your Service,
Len Goodman
General Manager
410/290-0002
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We needed to book three nights in a hotel with a good rate, close to family in Columbia for a summer get-together. Location was excellent, and our room was comfortable, quiet, and extremely clean. I often plug stuff into outlets behind nightstands, and even the area back there was completely dust-free! Wow. Front desk staff was helpful, and parking area was close by and well lit. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reiseNgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review our property! So happy to hear things went well... Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The room was fine. But, I was told there would be a refrigerator in the room. I called ahead of time and was told there was a refrigerator. I asked at the front desk when I checked in and was assured there was a refrigerator. There wasn't. I called the desk at 5 pm and made them aware of the situation. They said housekeeping would get me a refrigerator. I went out to dinner - checking in with the front desk first. Yes, yes, there would be a refrigerator. When I returned to my room at 8:00 -- no refrigerator! Not a huge deal if that's not on the list of things you need, but after being assured four times that there would be a refrigerator and there is none, it is a big deal. I had a choice of hotels to stay at ... next time I will make a different choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divecat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback Divecat13. I am truly sorry the experience you described on your recent stay. As you can imagine, we are also greatly dissapointed that a simple request to provide a refridegerator was not handled properly by our team. The staff here at the Columbia Courtyard takes great pride in service and clearly there was a break in the process and some miscommunication surrounding this task. We will evaluate the procedures utilized and refresh all on appropriate handling to ensure guest satisfaction moving forward. At a time convenient to you, please contact me directly so I may get a few more details on this sitution to further assist in preventing for future guests. Thanks again for taking time to share feedback and I hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We needed a hotel close to the Howard County Fair Grounds and, although 19 miles away, our needs were well met. Although apparently almost 20 years old, the hotel doesn't show it's age. The room was quiet and comfy with a king and sofa bed. The bathroom served it's purpose. We did not have breakfast but they do have a very nice patio for evening drinks. We love Marriott products and this one fits the bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for taking time to share feed back on your recent stay Rbandron! We are very proud of our brand and hotel, happy to hear this was the right fit for you as well. The annual Sheep and Wool festival in this area is one of the best, hope to see you again next year! Thanks again for staying with us and sharing your feedback.
Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
2.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia

Property: Courtyard Columbia
Address: 8910 Stanford Blvd, Columbia, MD 21045-5805
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing