We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coils come thru sofa bed, full breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Coils come thru sofa bed, full breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights w/2 adults, 2 children. Room had 2 queen beds plus sofa bed, which was AWFUL. The coils of the mattress poked thru and you could not sleep on it or sit on it as a bed. Made squeaking noises every time you moved. When we arrived the pool was closed for maintenance, and the room had 2 large smashed strawberry stains on the carpet, and mold in the shower. Mgr and housekeeping came and looked and fixed the problem right away, mold reappeared after 2 days,, but was taken care of w/note to housekeeping left on the bed.
Room had 2 seperate bathrooms, one w/shower and sink and the other w/sink and toilet. This was very convenient w/4 people in the a.m.
Breakfast was great!! Scrambled eggs, breads, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit cups and fresh fruit. Donuts and 4 kinds of cereal plus make yourself waffles and a different meat everyday. We had sausage links and patties, ham and bacon and a southwest egg scramble. 4 different flavors of juice and coffee. Kids loved the breakfast.
We used the senior rate which was less expensive than the AAA rate by almost $50.

Room Tip: We were on first floor and had no noise, and it was very convenient to breakfast area and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 667ate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    76
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
48
28
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is in a good location in Columbia, Maryland. You are able to have access to shopping malls and places to eat! The hotel is very clean and has good service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheshe2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I recently stayed here for one night after a power outage. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby is very nice and recently renovated (I believe). There is a bistro in the lobby and business center. I believe they have Starbucks coffee there. The lobby is pretty typical of some of the Courtyards I have stayed at in the past. The hotel is a little old looking. the hallway carpet looked like it could be replaced. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. There was a small sofa in the room. Noise was not a factor. The hotel was pretty well sold out due to the power outage. It is centrally located in Columbia and close to many places to eat (most are reasonable priced) and shopping. It is a short drive to the mall. Parking was adequate. If you are not familar with area, it may be a slight change finding it since it is at the end of a side road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inthewind2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The lobby area is really nice along with a friendly front desk staff. My family had to stay here like many others because of the power outage. I wish they would have had a free breakfast - that would've been huge. We were already spending money that could've been put to better use, but at least it wasn't 95 degrees inside.

Speaking of temperature - I'd recommend the hotel look into updating the room air conditioner. It seemed there was too much dampness in the air. I'm also glad that the price was fair since some places I called were price gouging. It's pretty sad how people love to take advantage of another's misfortunes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

When me and my hubby arrived, there was no one at the desk so we waited until a young man arrived. We were able to book a suite for the night thankfully. I wanted to check out some of the local restaurants and I must say, columbia is a very crowded yet beautiful city. Our room was lovely and when we went to the pool it was late and we were the only ones in there. The service however wasn't that great because the front desk staff seemed to be having a bad day. I would recommend if you plan to stay for a day or two..

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights in a standard room at a rate of $99 per night.

The hotel: The Hotel was hidden off a side road so was not the easiest to find. Parking was ample and safe. The hallway carpet was dingy and could use some updating to match the sleek lobby area.

Lobby/bar: The lobby was clean and modern--we loved the seating (TVs in the booths). We ordered a pizza from a less than friendly individual (young, dark haired kid who didn't acknowledge us for five minutes). The pizza tasted like it was frozen then thrown in the microwave; overpriced $21 dinner.

Pool: The pool is indoors and of fairly good size; plenty of towels. We went to the pool/hot tub area but left immediately after it was full of noisy children.

The room: Clean but very small. AC is older but works very well. Their amenities were nice and the room has coffee makers. The lady who cleaned our room didn't speak english so we had to call the front desk to communicate we wanted a room cleaning. She cleaned it fairly quickly.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the elevator--the hotel is U shaped so if you end up on the far side, you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhdcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We would never stay at one of these, but were with our daughter and grandson. She says they always stay at Courtyard Marriott because of the suite so they can stay up after he goes to sleep. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. When I saw a maintenance man in the morning, I asked if he could turn off our bathroom fan because it was horribly loud - and he did. However, when we got back to the hotel about 3:30 our room had not been cleaned. The evening we arrived I went to the bar and ordered a Clos du Bois chardonnay. The woman could not understand me so I showed her on the wall menu what it was. She nodded and poured me something red.
You need a GPS to find it, but the parking lot is safe.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Curnutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia

Property: Courtyard Columbia
Address: 8910 Stanford Boulevard, Columbia, MD 21045
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing