We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience during the blizzard!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic experience during the blizzard!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

During a recent snow storm I lost power in my nearby home. I made a reservation at this hotel and then hiked 2 miles thru drifts to get there. When I arrived, the front desk could not have been more helpful and accomodating, understanding what I just went thru to get there. The hotel put up their staff in rooms during the storm for the weekend so their customers could be taken care of. Not only are the hotel amenities A+ , but the service was great ,and staff went out of their way to assist not only myself, but the business travellers who were stranded there as well as numerous locals who quickly filled up the bar/restaurant area. Of particular note was "Christine" who works in the bar/restaurant area.Christine was not only friendly and professional, but went way out of her way to take care of a growing crowd as the night went on. Thank you Christine for making an otherwise miserable day great thru your professionalism and concern for your guests.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbiares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlubinski, Marketing Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased we could take care of you during the storm. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    181
    66
    41
    18
See reviews for
174
122
48
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

We were stranded at this Hilton during the Blizzard of 2009. The staff went out of their way to provide us with excellent service. The Dining staff were WONDERFUL- kind and smiling and welcoming! We were very pleased with our stay- unexpectedly lengthy though it was- and would certainly visit them again!

We are disappointed that we weren't offered a special rate but the usual rate was pretty reasonable. The Christmas decorations were very sparse but the pool and spa were clean. The food in the restaurant was good (especially the Crab Benedict!!).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank determinedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

If you saw this on Yelp, I am the owner of that review and am posting this on TripAdvisor. This Hilton is pretty nice. It's got a free business center, a great workout room (w/ free mini-bottle waters) and a pool & hot tub. A nice, affordable restaurant is located next to the lobby and it's huge atrium, which is about 4/5 floors high (some of the rooms look into the atrium, which was surprisingly not bothersome at all); the breakfast buffet at the restaurant was delicious. The fitness center (workout room) had the equipment with those little flat screen TVs attached to the machine itself (which I really liked!). This hotel was probably built in the early 90s, but the rooms and lobby, restrooms and restaurant have definently seen some modernization, although I was a little disappointed by the stuffiness, no background music, and overall lonely and old-looking locker rooms that adjoined the indoor pool area (but I didn't have any problems with the pool or hot tub, which were very clean). Free, close parking and the quiet location were nice (it's sort of nestled in the back of a forest-village type of residential neighborhood, but in a safe location) and were definently a plus! As Michele D. said, it's not within walking distance of anything. We were here for a wedding, and I think that this was a very nice, modest & conveniently-located hotel. I think that the 90's atrium, plant and flower feeling complimented the modern touches very well and would very much stay at this hotel again! Thanks, Hilton. :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovewashingtondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

I stay here one day every month. When I check in they know me by name, They call me later in the evening (after I check in) to make sure alI my needs are met and to check to see if i need a wake up call. They have a friendly bar and restaurant and there is a full breakfast menu to order from. If you are looking for a place to stay that is an extension of home this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kensam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban D.C.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

We frequent the Hilton Columbia ( Maryland ) because the people, the rooms, the facilities, and the food are outstanding. Our first visit was in November 1994 when our daughter and son-in-law were honored at a so-called "rehearsal dinner"--though no one needed to rehearse for the superior food, setting, and service.

Over the years, we have stayed in sparkling, spacious, and quiet rooms whenever special occasions have brought us to Columbia, Maryland. We host our grown son and our out-of-town guests at Morgan's Restaurant for marvelous and ample Sunday brunches. Earlier this Autumn, we were part of a birthday dinner for twenty people. The Executive Chef (David) and Head Line Cook (Samuel) emerged from the kitchen to assess our happiness--which was at the maximum level. Patrick, the Restaurant Manager, is often patroling his territory to be certain that the highest standards are maintained.

We have met the hotel management, headed by Adam Novotny, and we have found everyone to be professional, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Bravo to the Hilton Columbia (near the BWI - Marshall Airport ) !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marclstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

From the time I called the Hilton in Columbia to look for a place to host our wedding, I knew this was the perfect place!! Everyone I came in contact with during the planning stages were reponsive, attentive and friendly. Nothing was impossible and didn't cost me an arm and a leg! All of the planning was done in 6 months!
When we finally got to the big day, it was incredible. We had the rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception in one place and had about 20 rooms reserved for out of town guests. As soon as I walked in, everyone knew me by name and anticipated every need. Our wedding planner attended our rehearsal and organized my very large wedding party with ease and professionalism. The rehearsal dinner was delicious. Our servers were attentive. The bartender, Astor, actually poured by drinks even before I asked for them And I wasn't the only one.
After the rehearsal, I went to my room which was wonderful. It was immaculate, spacious, and they made sure to place me in a room where I could look out and see the ceremony preparations without having to go down there. Very Thoughtful!! Room service was always right on time and the order was perfect, not to mention the food was delicious.
On the day of the wedding, I watched as all of their staff prepare for our wedding. Every detail was attended to and perfect. They didn't miss one little detail.
The reception was better than I could have asked. The same attention to detail and anticipated every need we could have had. The food was delicious and not the same old chicken and beef at other wedding receptions.
Their service, creativity, and professionalism made our day one we or any of our friends and family will ever forget.
I credit the Hilton Columbia for making our wedding day unique, fantasic and UNFORGETTABLE. I will recommend this hotel to any person needing a hotel for any reason, but especially a bride looking for the perfect place. You have found it in the Hilton Columbia.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sillyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

The service I experienced at the hotel was outstanding. I generally stay at Marriott's, but was booked to stay at this Hilton for this particular business trip. I was pleasantly suprised by the comfortable surroundings, the super nice hotel staff, the large excercise room (which I used) and the really cool pool area.

This hotel may be mature, but certainly an original, which I really loved. As a travelling business person, as are many of the people staying at the hotel, the bar/restaurant area is oustanding. The bar area somewhat reminded me of Cheers, with its ambiance and friendlinesss. Within a half hour of my sitting down at the bar, the bartender had everyone talking to each other. Definitely helped pass the time with pleasure.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Columbia on Business or Leisure. Great pool for the kids!!! I will be staying here when I travel to Columbia.

I will also ask my AA to check Hilton Hotels as an option for my travels because of my experience here with the kind staff.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DNF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
#9 of 12 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Hilton Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing